We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree - a great find, highly recommended base for Cinque terre and Liguria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Al Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Al Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Al Convento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Regina Margherita 1 - Vezzano Basso, 19020 Vezzano Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsingborg
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Agree - a great find, highly recommended base for Cinque terre and Liguria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Found this hotel on the internet. It is located in a small village, on a mountain top, and can be seen for miles around. A Winding road leads uphill until you reach the village (and don't follow your GPS when it wants you to turn into the very narrow Mercato lane, continue on the main road to stay sane). The hotel now has added 8 parking spots, where you need a permit. Great!! The house is a former convent and is located behind the church (and Church bell tower) and contains a restaurant (good quality, separate review), a small spa and the hotel with close to 20 rooms and a terrace for coffee or breakfast. Breakfast is small, Italian style. Service is very efficient and friendly. All are very helpful in making reservations or giving information. Since we stayed for a full week, we got a Three beds room, which was perfect since we had a lot of luggage. Room is charming! Bathroom reasonably big and very clean, as all the premises. We ate several times in the village, and used the hotel as a base for our excursions around Liguria, all the way down to the northern part of Toscana, via Lerici, La Spezia, Portovenere, Riomaggiore/Cinque terre and Rapallo/Portofino and the surrounding Mountains. The uphill drive is a challenge the first time but once you get to know the road, it works fine. Village Life is peaceful and enchanting. The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and elegant at the same time. I would gladly go back another week!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear JanochBarbro,
thank you very much for your detailed review: it will be surely helpful to other people who like visiting our area! I am very happy you spent a pleasant stay here at Hotel Al Convento and I hope your journey around Italy was lovely. Thank you again for your kindness and friendliness.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    65
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
119
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a great place! We were a bit suspicious about the hotel when we booked because we thought the name was Hotel Albani (which we could not find on the internet). Had we have known the "real" name we would have seen all of the excellent reviews in TA. In any event, the hotel is located in the tiny village of Vezzano Ligure - way up in the hills. Yes, its a bit of a drive to La Spezia and Cinque Terre but it turned out to be no problem. We absolutely loved walking around the town. The hotel itself was very clean with large bedrooms. The bathrooms were good as well. We were lucky enough to have a door that opened to the back - overlooking the awesome mountains. The staff were all great. Very helpful. They even started breakfast for us at 7AM on the day we departed, instead of the usual 8 AM opening! There is no elevator at the hotel so there are certainly quite a few steps to walk up with heavy bags - but you'll get over it. Breakfast was great with lots of selections. Great coffee too. There is a nice balcony on the main floor that is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and meet the other guests before dinner. Speaking of dinner, you don't have to go far as the restaurant right next door is fantastic. Authentic local food (great pesto) is served each night. Great prices and quality! If you don't have a car, there is a local La Spezia bus that passes through the town on a regular basis that I'm sure would take you to the train station. We hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear TheOakvillian,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It’s fantastic to read how you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and the village of Vezzano Ligure. It has been very pleasant for us to have you as our guests: you are so nice! It would be amazing to have you here again in the future… Come back soon!
A hug from the whole staff :)
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chanced upon this hotel via TripAdvisor, and were very pleased. It's nestled in the heart of a very tiny hilltop village close to the Cinque Terre and made a great base for exploring the surrounding area. The hotel itself was lovely, great location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and helpful with all of our needs. I don't think there were many other hotels in this village which meant not many tourists, so the entire experience was wonderfully authentic. My only complaint was that the night manager stepped "outside" to smoke, and "outside" was a door right behind the reception desk, so the lobby always reeked of smoke. Other than that, it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear creolecruiser,
thank you very much for your review: we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel, the staff and the location. I’m sorry for the smoke, we will oblige the nigh porter to smoke somewhere else. We hope to have you as our welcome guests again if you come back to Italy!
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

for a relaxing weekend away from milan this is the ideal place to stay.
close to cinqueterre if you have a car yoy can easily drive to la spezia and enjoy in 10min by train the stunnin view from the little villages on the coast. ideal for a relaxing weekend. must have a car

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear James,
Thank you for your kind review. It’s a pleasure to know you loved your stay with us and you found Hotel Al Convento the ideal place to visit the Cinque Terre. We hope to see you the next time you come back to Italy.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castronno, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice location, wonderful view both of the village and the surroundings.
Staff welcoming and very kind.
Enjoyed also dinner at the dehors of the restaurant, typical food of this area. Pesto was great, wide choice of good wines as well.
Room was huge and well furnished, although a little bit hot at arrival

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel has a stunning location on top of the hill. Very nicely appointed and spacious rooms. But the best part was having a drink at the local bar and having a meal where the locals eat. So we knew it was all authentic. There also a great little grocery store nearby with friendly owners. It's out of the way, and not really close to Cinque Terra. But the views and the real country atmosphere made it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Difficult to find, but once you drive up the narrow winding road its worth it. We found the whole village charming and glad we stayed there on our way to Cinque Terre. The rooms we were given were nicely appointed , warm & comfortable with the only criticisms being the cramped shower recess & the long narrow flights of steps we could not avoid in carrying bags to reception and then to the rooms. Staff were friendly and accomodating while breakfast was fine. Managing your car, especially if a large one can be a challenge around this hotel and village but the views over a glass of wine at the local bar are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais Al Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Al Convento

Address: Piazza Regina Margherita 1 - Vezzano Basso, 19020 Vezzano Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Vezzano Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Al Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Al Convento is situated in the medieval village of Vezzano Ligure, on the hills at the back of the Cinque Terre, only few kilometres away from the wonderful maritime villages of Lerici, San Terenzo and Portovenere, pearls of the Gulf of the Poets. Before the accurate restoration the hotel was an ancient cloister dating back to the XVI century. Today it keeps unchanged the charm and the mysticism of its origins. It has 18 rooms where guests can spend unique and exclusive stays at only 8 km from the sea.It has a check-in area, a private garden, Wi-Fi connection in a common area and restaurant with large choice of Ligurian typical dishes from both land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Relais Al Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Al Convento Hotel
Hotel Relais Al Convento Vezzano Ligure, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Al Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.