We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop on the way to Sorrento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Rosenthal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Rosenthal to your Saves list
Palazzo Rosenthal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fossa della Monica, 9 | Trecase, 80040 Trecase, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trecase
Solihull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great overnight stop on the way to Sorrento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed one night on the way to and from Sorrento. The hotel is somewhat out of the way about 40 mins from Naples airport and particularly specialises in weddings/parties etc. That said, there was no noise that worried us from the parties and the staff were very helpful indeed. The room was a good size and clean. I didn't see any restaurants in the area we ate in the hotel; a lobster pasta dish which was 'off menu' and delicious. We had an early flight; the hotel provided fresh coffee & warm coissants as breakfast was yet to start which was a nice touch. It is a great location with Versuvius as its backdrop and an easy trip although a car is absolutely essential. Special thanks to the lady who tried to find the Wimbledon men's final on the TV!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Trecase is close to Pompei and not far from other sights like Vesuvius, Caserta, Hercoleum etc so it is very convenient. Bit flashy in styling maybe but rooms are decent sized, although the jr suite is not really a suite but a room with a balcony on two sides with lovelly views towards, Capri, Bay of Napoli and Vesuvius. Hotel was very quiet, most rooms were empty. Breakfast is vey basic for a 4 star hotel, toast, croisant and coffee. Restaurant has a very limited choice, we ate in one night but they did a good antipasta with vongoles which was nice. They had only few wines on the list but when i asked about different ones they came with a few other bottles from a special room. So in the end we had a better choice.
In the area there are very few restaurants.
Advantage of the hotel is the big pool which was lovelly on the hot days. The hotel is just out of town but it is still a bit noisy on the roads. At night you didn´t notice the noise in the room.

Room Tip: high floor has better views, jr suite has two sides balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Bellisimo! Everything about Palazzo Rosenthal is impressive. The beautiful and comfortable rooms, the architectural design, the fabulous meals (you will not find a better dining experience in restaurants in the region), and an entire staff whose warm and friendly attention to each guest truly makes each of us feel special. Bravo to Luciano, Ellina, Pietro, Antonio, and everyone else who made our stay one of the most memorable ever.

Room Tip: We stayed in and thoroughly enjoyed the Caruso room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

There aren't enough words in the English language to describe Palazzo Rosenthal well enough so I'll borrow from Italian: buonissimo, perfetto, bellissimo!!! I stayed here for four days and I truly did not want to leave. The staff is impeccable. Ellina, Pietro, and Luciano made all the difference in my stay! I ate dinner each night in the hotel restaurant which created personal dishes for me, catered to my peculiar preferences. Also, they never pressured us to leave the dining room, even after they clearly had stopped serving and no one else was left. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are really nice. Our room had a large wrap-around balcony looking at Mt. Vesuvio on one side and the city on the other. The location was great because we had a rental car to get to Naples, Vesuvio, Ercalano, etc. But public transportation is available through a nearby transit stop. I could go on all day explaining why Palazzo Rosenthal is the best place I've ever stayed because I truly felt like a part of the family there. However, the best evidence is that I will be back in the area in a few weeks and specifically canceled existing accommodations just to stay at Palazzo Rosenthal, regardless of its location outside the city center and my lack of a car this time around. This place is amazing, if you're on the fence about staying here, make your future self very, very happy and just book it :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and the staff was beyond helpful, driving us anywhere within a reasonable distance for free. Dinner and the breakfast were superb. The room was clean and the sight picture perfect. The area doesn't have much to offer beyond Vesuvius and Pompeii but that didn't matter with the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. Would not hesitate to go back and recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and picked it because we could book a triple room, the rates were reasonable and it seemed a good location to base ourselves for a few days exploring Pompeii, Versuvius etc. From the minute we walked in the door the staff did everything they could to make our stay memorable. They prepared lunch for us, even though the restaurant had closed, change rooms when we changed our minds about who was staying with who and provided complimentary coffee whilst we waited for our rooms. The staff were fantastic throughout our stay, the hotel was spotless and the pool grea. Our rooms were also of a very high standard, roomy, well equipped and really comfy beds! We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was lovely and the service, as always, superb. We also enjoyed the entertainment especially when the owner joined in! We were close to all the major sights (we had a rental car) and managed to fit loads in although 3 days at the end of holiday just wasn't enough for everything the area has to offer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Palazzo Rosenthal. Great accomodation at a great price in a great location! We look forward to going back and being welcome by Luciano, Antonio, Giovanna et al!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We wanted a hotel near Naples for a 3 night stay before travelling north to a rented villa. We couldn't have chosen a better place to start our Italian holiday... From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming but without ever being overbearing. Every request/query was treated with utmost importance, from help with Wifi connections to working the air-con in the room to restaurant recommendations. All the staff were keen to know that we were having a good time, and delighted to chat about where we had been or make suggestions about where we should go next. In particular, Antonio on the front desk helped us out a great deal, and Giovanni (i think) was a really great host, happy to chat, really helpful with choosing what to eat, brilliant with the kids - they both made us feel really valued guests.

The hotel restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced, with excellent breakfasts (included). The hotel patio was extremely well kept with excellent views of Vesuvius (looming dramatically), and the Bay. Eating outside at dusk as the mountain slowly descended into darkness was a great experience. The pool area was extremely clean and also very well looked after, so we were able to enjoy a lazy afternoon poolside when not out and about visiting the many incredible places within easy reach. Our room (Caruso) was spacious enough for all 4 of us to stay comfortably, and had a large balcony. Initially we were disappointed to end up with a balcony on the opposite side from Vesuvius, but by the first evening we had forgotten that as we gazed out over the lights of Castellammare, Sorrento and Capri in the Bay of Naples. Despite temperatures of 35C+, the room air-con made nights very comfortable.

The hotel is within easy reach of Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii, and the Amalfi Coast. There were excellent restaurants within walking distance - A Canzuncella, just up the road was great fun, with outstanding service.

We would highly recommend the Palazzo Rosenthal, especially for a family, and wish we had booked in for longer. We would like to thank Antonio and all the other staff for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Rosenthal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Rosenthal

Address: Via Fossa della Monica, 9 | Trecase, 80040 Trecase, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Trecase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trecase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Rosenthal 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Rosenthal , opened in 2007, is nestled on the green slopes of Vesuvius, just 6 km from the " Gran Cono " of the volcano. The motorway exit of the A3 motorway "Torre annunziata nord" is just over 1 km away. The property is also close to Pompeii which is only 6 km away. Vico Equense , gateway to the Amalfi Coast is at 15- km. The city of Naples is 16 Km away. the hotel which turns out to be a privileged location right in the heart of the tourist interest in the region. Immersed in the green and in the quiet of the surrounding places , Palazzo Rosenthal enjoys an ideal location for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Gardens and terrace offer a spectacular view of the Gulf of Naples , and the island of Capri, together with the close and majestic Vesuvius. Designed in the neoclassical style with elegant and refined, " Palazzo Rosenthal " provides all the services expected from a 4 star luxury : - Reception Desk Concierge H/24 with tourist information , tours and excursions ; - Luggage ; - Restaurant with excellent Mediterranean cuisine based on typical product of the Vesuvian area ; - Lounge Bar ; - Laundry Service with delivery within 24 hours; - Free parking; - Wi - Fi in the common spaces ; - Swimming pool with sun terrace and bar service from May to late September; - Panoramic terrace of 1,500 square meters ; - Rich buffet breakfast with fresh pastries in the house. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very spacious. All are characterized by fine parquet floor that provides a pleasant atmosphere of warmth and intimacy. All rooms also offe: balcony / window with a panoramic view , telephone, minibar , satellite TV, safe, Wi - fi unlimited . The bathrooms are all equipped with bath and shower. Complete and exclusive toiletries . Some superior rooms have a whirlpool bath . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Rosenthal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Rosenthal Naples
Palazzo Rosenthal Hotel Naples
Palazzo Rosenthal Italy/Trecase, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Rosenthal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.