We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin. Resonable hotel for a few nights stay in a lovely location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campione to your Saves list
Hotel Campione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin. Resonable hotel for a few nights stay in a lovely location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very friendly English speaking day staff at this 3* hotel in the lovely area of Campione and Lugano. Stayed here a couple of times on business and it does the job with no frills.

Breakfast is a good continental breakfast with plenty on offer. The restaurant serves very reasonable food in the evening and does a good 4 course MENU for only 46CHF. Me and my colleague have stayed in the basic single rooms which are adequate for the price in this region.

The hotel has a problem with a compressor in the basement which you can hear throughout the hotel as an annoying humm. Ask for it to be turned off for the night at 22.30 so you get a decent nights sleep. They turn it back on at 07.00 in time for breakfast. We were told it is due to be fixed soon.

Free WiFi internet in all rooms and reception.

If you are undecided about the area, don't be. Campione and Lugano are lovely with gorgeous views of the mountains and lakes.

We will be staying again but if the noise issue continues, we will look elsewhere. Otherwise, reasonable Hotel for the area, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
26
93
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our group of 52 stopped at this hotel for an overnight stay before we continued on our way. I was very much looking forward to our stay here as I had read about the nice facilities. Unfortunately, it was too cold to enjoy the pools, but that didn't stop us from spending time out on the terrace and enjoying the scenery!

Our group arrived and it was complete chaos getting our bags and luggage off the bus. They staff had us bring down our luggage and from lists that they were working with and the tags on our luggage, they were using chalk to write our room numbers on it. As there were so many of us, we were told to get back on the bus and take some free time and when we got back, our luggage would be in our room for us.

As expected, their lists or the numbering system was a bit off and a lot of people's luggages were in different rooms, etc. After getting that sorted out (which wasn't really a big deal to me) we were able to walk around and explore.

Dinner was held in the dining area with a wonderful view of Lugano and as it was already pre-selected for us, we were served and the food was delicious! Of course, the drinks were not included in our group meal plan, so my husband thought he would splurge and get a Coke. *LOL* The price for it was SO not worth it, but I guess that's Switzerland!

Overall, it was a nice overnight place to stay and a few people in our groups were able to go for walks outside in the evening and some even visited the casino, so it was nearby to things to do.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed here Two Nights in transit to the Campione Venice.Presumeably Was super stylish 40 years ago-now it just looks dated from the outside.There 's Not much on the Improvement inside.It' s all very old fashioned.Good sized clean room with a terrace with fabulous view of the lake and the town of Lugano.Unfortunately time it Rained the Whole "We Were There So We Could not use it.
The food in the restaurant was Swiss-Typical boring, stodgy and expensive.So Much So That On Our second night we opted for Thai food Prepared by a visiting Chef.It Was Much Better goal very expensive.
Hardly There Were Any Other guests Staying Which made for a Rather Dismal stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arminrast, Propriétaire at Hotel Campione, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear guest

we have read your comment regarding our Restaurant and first of all we thank you for your comment.
I'm very sorry you did not appreciate our "borring swiss food", the more I was glad that you visited our Restaurant all'Arco also the second night of your stay and you did like the Thai kitchen of our guest cook. It's nice to hear that guests have a positive view of the fact that a Top 3 star hotel has the courrage to invest time and money into the massive administrative process of getting a specific working permit such a for a guest cook coming from outside Europe. Thanks!
Regarding your comment: expensive....please do consider that a dish cleaner in Switzerland has to be paid Euros 2750.- per month by law! You can not compare swiss restaurant rates with the rest of Europe. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Hotel Campione is about 15 minutes from Lugano center. Its located in a territory of Switzerland and Italy. So people who live in this little town Campione have two addresses one for Switzerland and one for Italy. This is a geographic anomaly (:
We stayed in the hotel in 2006 and now again in 2010. We have been booking the same room which is 406 its a very nice room with large living room and bedroom, large bathroom and two balconies with a significant view that you don’t get from anywhere else. However not all the rooms are so nice some of them are outdated and don’t have view.
Stuff is outstanding and so friendly, housekeeping is so quite but doing the most perfect job I have seen. When we came back from the dinner it was before Easter we found a nice pleasant surprise basket with the Easter colored eggs and chocolate bunnies! It was really very thoughtful! Hotel itself is not a luxury hotel since it’s old and has very limited amenities. It has a very small lobby area, outside pool and restaurant. No wellness spa or massage room or gym. But they allow dogs and even have a treats for them (: Menu is limited but made well with a fresh ingredients.
Lugano is a beautiful hidden gem in Switzerland and we love coming here a lot. When in Lugano make sure drive to Morcote its 10 minutes from Campione. A beautiful place out of this world, so quite with breath taking view on the lake. Drive to check out Bellinzona's castles and stop to have a lunch in Osteria Grotto Malakoff for the best homemade food. In Lugano check out restaurant in hotel Colibri it has stunning view to the lake and Lugano and its so high in a mountains that helicopters are flying way below you.
If you like shopping check out Foxtown it as outlets of Gucci, Etro, Missone, Valentino, Dior and much more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed one night from our long trip back from Italy. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Diner and breakfast were tasty. There is a nice swimming pool with a splendid view on the lake of Lugano. Swissminiatur in Melide just nearby. Hotel Campione is absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Great location and great rooms. We had six people in our party and wanted to visit Lugano. This hotel is a little ways from downtown Lugano but you can take a bus right to town only 20 min. Bus stops right outside hotel. Across the lake but not far. Had room to park our car also. Rooms were large with very large bathrooms and air-conditioning. Very clean. Great ammenities. Has terrace and pool that over looks the Lake. Beautiful Pool and eating area. Very clean. Had breakfast each morning overlooking Lake Lugano and the town, amazing. Very relaxing. The small town where hotel Campione is located is great. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety. We ate dinner at the hotel one night it was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bissone
3.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)
2.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#3 of 3 in Bissone
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campione

Address: Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Bissone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campione 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Campione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.