We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, Clean rooms and Exeptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campione to your Saves list
Hotel Campione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfy beds, Clean rooms and Exeptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great Hotel to stay at, as business traveller I visit and see allot of places but I don't remember all of them this Hotel however made a very good first impression in 2010 and it lasted, i've been coming back ever since.

In total i've stayed well over a month in this hotel since mid 2010 and over the course of 4 years this hotel has been very consistant it what it delivers the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, wifi is for free (and stable!!!) good food at their restaurant and personnel delivers exeptional service! (In my experience this is a very rare thing)

Even though the hotel does not have the luxery of 5 star hotel, it is well worth its price compared to other hotels in the area (Switserland is expensive) in the summer the pool and the service makes up for what it lacks in luxery!!!!

Whenever I am in the area for business this is my place to go to, I've got everything I need/want, hence the titel "Comfy beds, Clean rooms and Exeptional service" and on top of that Lugano within 15 min driving distance to kill my time in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
57
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lomazzo, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed there last night. The staff was very polite and professional.
When asked, they guided us to a very nice Pizzeria, close by and on the Lake.
Room 303 had a nice Terrace and great view of the Lake.
Decent sized rooms with great WiFi and the breakfast was also good.
Would surely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: 303 Was a nice Corner Room with a Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Traveling through Switzerland on the way to Cote d'Azur, we booked this hotel for one overnight. Immediately upon check-in, we were impressed with the hotel staff. They welcomed our two small dogs very warmly, and we were treated extremely well. We enjoyed the suite in Room 307. The balcony overlooks Lugano Lake and Lugano, and is accessible from both the bedroom and living room. TVs were in both rooms, with plenty of channels, including english. The room was very clean, and the furniture was in very good condition. The swimming pool was nice and clean, and the terrace above the pool was a nice place to spend the afternoon. We ordered two Sprizz which were delivered to the pool area. The hotel has its own restaurant and bar, and is not far from Campione d'Italia (a delightful Italian outpost that is completely surrounded by Switzerland, and has several restaurants and bars along the coastline of the lake.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for one of the Suites. You will not regret the extra expense. Room 307 has a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Coming from Australia, I have stayed in this hotel three times, over the years, due to business in Lugano.
It is very good value (Switzerland is generally expensive). The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel staff helpful and courteous. The hotel is on a different part of the lake from Lugano, but only 15 minutes away from that city by car. Whether you come from the north or south, it avoids major traffic. There is also a public bus service to Lugano that passes on the road below the hotel.

The swimming pool is great, suitable for fun or laps, positioned with views of the lake below.
I intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: See if you can upgrade to a more spacious or modernized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a triple room for 2 nights. The hotel is a little dated and worn, but the staff was very accomodating. We had a great view of the lake. The open air restaurant and pool area are very nice. Having breakfast on the terrace was a great start to the day. The buffet was good, the view was wonderful. Easy walk to the casino and restaurants along the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were a family of four adults and two children who were travelling to Tuscany from Switzerland [Zurich] . We hadn't prebooked a hotel room for our overnight stay and were pleasantly surprised that Hotel Campione were able to assist with a standard room which was divided into 2 rooms - the family of four being accommodated in the larger room and my spouse and me taking up the bed behind the wardrobe - small but adequate for an overnight stay.

The lake views from the restaurant and poolside area are incredible! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food served at dinner was delicious - the standard breakfast buffet was also of a high standard.

The only drawback for me was that I, unlike many of the other guests who have posted on this hotel, did not experience the so called peace and quiet - in fact, I never slept at all - was kept awake by the traffic all night long and then the service deliveries etc in the early hours of the morning - ended up sleeping in to try and catch up and headed for breakfast half an hour before it closed.

Room Tip: choose a room that doesn't overlook the street in front of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this hotel at Hotels.com and found it perfect for our demands. We decided to stay for three nights and had a fantastic stay. The staff and service where fantastic - Our room was super and with a lake view. The restaurant food was excellent and the breakfast buffet had normal standard. The weather was super, around 30 degrees (Celsius) all days so we spendthrift a lot of time in the pool area. The area around the hotel is very calm, if you want to have more exiting city life you can take the bus or boat (15 minutes) to Lugano. We were very satisfied with our stay at the hotel - try it!

Room Tip: A room with lake view makes a big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campione

Address: Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Bissone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campione 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.