We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campione

Save Saved
You added Hotel Campione to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Campione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bissone
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pool and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a triple room for 2 nights. The hotel is a little dated and worn, but the staff was very accomodating. We had a great view of the lake. The open air restaurant and pool area are very nice. Having breakfast on the terrace was a great start to the day. The buffet was good, the view was wonderful. Easy walk to the casino and restaurants along the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    32
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
39
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were a family of four adults and two children who were travelling to Tuscany from Switzerland [Zurich] . We hadn't prebooked a hotel room for our overnight stay and were pleasantly surprised that Hotel Campione were able to assist with a standard room which was divided into 2 rooms - the family of four being accommodated in the larger room and my spouse and me taking up the bed behind the wardrobe - small but adequate for an overnight stay.

The lake views from the restaurant and poolside area are incredible! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food served at dinner was delicious - the standard breakfast buffet was also of a high standard.

The only drawback for me was that I, unlike many of the other guests who have posted on this hotel, did not experience the so called peace and quiet - in fact, I never slept at all - was kept awake by the traffic all night long and then the service deliveries etc in the early hours of the morning - ended up sleeping in to try and catch up and headed for breakfast half an hour before it closed.

Room Tip: choose a room that doesn't overlook the street in front of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this hotel at Hotels.com and found it perfect for our demands. We decided to stay for three nights and had a fantastic stay. The staff and service where fantastic - Our room was super and with a lake view. The restaurant food was excellent and the breakfast buffet had normal standard. The weather was super, around 30 degrees (Celsius) all days so we spendthrift a lot of time in the pool area. The area around the hotel is very calm, if you want to have more exiting city life you can take the bus or boat (15 minutes) to Lugano. We were very satisfied with our stay at the hotel - try it!

Room Tip: A room with lake view makes a big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had my reservations when I was booked at this hotel for a medical conference to be held at Lugano. Located 10 k from the conference venue was not very exciting. And by taxi 55 CHF from Lugnao Train station does not come cheap. However, after a day I settled down well to like the place. It is quiet and you can go for a long walk by the lakeside. Another luxury is you can cross over from Switzerland to Italy in a minute, as the hotel is just at the broder. Front office staff was friendly and gave details of public transport. Hourly bus service to Lugano is 5 CHF one way. The standard rooms are pretty small, divided again into 2 parts by a wooden panel containing wardrobes on one side and light panel above head of the bed on the other. You can say it is cozy. I believe, family rooms are bigger. Bathroom was okay with a shower. I found out from front office that a few rooms have bathtubs as well. Restaurant on 2nd floor has a closed as well as open space. Breakfast has fewer options but for me it was sufficient. Had one dinner and the food was really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, not hill view one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deddington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am working in Lugano and after a very long day found myself relaxing with the great staff. Not far from Lugano but with views you will pay a fortune for in the city. The hotel offers everything including lovely pool, mountain walks, views and I had a big room with separate living space. Ideal to catch with work after a busy day looking out over the lake.

Reception has given me a run to try in the morning so looking forward to throwing open the curtains to watch the sun rise over the lake and having a bit of fun on my travels.

Thanks to all staff

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ordered this hotel almost half a year in advance, coming with a family and wishing to have a room we wanted (separate beds for kids and balcony). Just to arrive, get the keys and find ourselves in a room having none of the above. The room we ordered was occupied, and the receptionist did not even think of an apology. Tried to argue, but we were facing a "take it or leave it" choice. The best offer we have got was to be moved to another room next night (out of 3 night we came for). Asked for a compensation, received funny 10% for the 1st night as a "big favor".
The 1st room (without the balcony) was big, but very worn out and outdated. It was on the 2nd (ground) floor, windows facing directly the restaurant terrace and the pool. So, we had to stay with shut windows and curtains and a noisy air conditioner on.
The 2nd room was more modern, but much smaller - a standard triple with a fourth bed squeezed in. Got a promised "balcony" fitting more or less 1.5 person and directly facing the main road.
Arriving with a car (what other options do you have in the middle of village?), be prepared to pay extra 17 CHF for parking (per night), as there are no other parking options.
And the place is expensive, up to date we do not understand what for. Probably, the unheated pool noone is using.
Bottom line: ovepriced, greedy, unfair, the rest is not important.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arminrastcampione, Owner at Hotel Campione, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear client

we have receivd your comment and first of all we thank you for your time and we are apologizing for not have met your standards.
Your comment is surprising for the following:
The room you had the first night was as you confirmed a big room, actually it was a free upgrade to a junior suite.
Your request to have singel beds for the chidren was met, unfortunately we where not able to give you the balcony but on the other side we have to say that your requests have never been confirmed from our side , they were only requested from your side.
We thought that you would appreciate a big junior suite and prefer a spacious room on the more tranquil side of the hotel, to a balcony, which in septeber is not very useful.

The second and third nights you moved to a family room, with balcony, two beds for the children and lakeview. We are sorry to hear that it was to loud for you.

You received a 10% discount in high season. We are sincerely sorry that you were not happy about it, but it's obvious we could not give you the 100% discount you asked for.

About the parking, we do not understand your complain:
10 outside freeparking spaces are available on the hotels premises
20 inside parking spaces are available in our garage at CHF 15 and not 17.- as you wrote
the moore in front of the hotel there are parking spaces long the road and a big parking for 30 cars is just 100 meters from the hotel in the village....

About the pool: in September the pool are is not very much used it's true, the people go hicking, looking for mushrooms not for pools any more.
You would be surprised to see our nice pool are full of peolple in the summer ....

Sincerely
Best regards

Armin RAST, Dir.
Hotel Campione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night in our pass through from Rome, Italy to
Zurich, Switzerland. The shuttle from the airport to the hotel was ready and waiting for us when we arrived via train station from Rome. The pricing for the shuttle was around 35€. The hotel staff that greeted us at the reception/lobby area was amazing! He was super friendly and incredibly accommodating throughout our short stay there. We absolutely loved his welcoming demeanor and super-friendly attitude. The room was sized fine. Bathroom size was decent. The view from the room was amazing. Great views on Lake Lugano. Decor looked outdated though throughout the hotel. Wifi connection was good when it connected to your devices (we had iPhones/iPad), but there appeared to be some problems with the Internet. The breakfast was decent. The restaurant food was pretty good but pricey. Pool looked awesome, but we were unable to stay long enough to utilize it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Campione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campione

Address: Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Bissone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bissone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campione 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Campione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.