We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two to three star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Campione to your Saves list
Hotel Campione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Two to three star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very basic hotel, but clean. It says it's a three star hotel but I think it's closer to 2 stars. The staff is helpful and available 24 hours. The breakfast was very basic tho... not much variety. Every day in the early morning I was waken up by noise of chairs being dragged on the floor coming from upstairs. The hotel is located about 10 minute walk to the Casino Campione. Campione has no shops, just a handfull of restaurants. I think you're better off staying in Lugano.

Room Tip: You have the chance of having mountain view or lake view. The lake is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
56
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great Hotel 5 minute away from Lugano. The Hotel is in next to a small village called Campione and is right in front of the lake of Lugano. The service is fantastic, the Hotel might be a 3 star Hotel but the service is certainly 5 star worth. The rooms are pleasant and very clean. Nice pool as well. The best part is having breakfast on the terrace with a fantastic view to the lake of Lugano. We were planning to stay one night and ended staying two.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Superb view over Lugano lake, friendly people and quiet location in the Italian enclave inside Swiss. Another advantage: Only 10 minutes walk to Casino Campione d'Italia.

Room Tip: Higher floor, better view over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

After driving up from Padova in Italy me and my wife came upon Hotel Campione. At 8pm we make enquiries about a room, we were quoted a price accepted and was promptly upgraded for the same price. It gets better the person at the reception (who i later found out was a director) was so helpful with local and national knowledge it made our follow on journey a lot more interesting.Now the hotel where do i start the room was spacious and clean the restaurant did a brilliant evening meal and the breakfast very was very adequite but MOST of all the stunning views from the terrace outside the restaurant will blow you away.
All in all we found the whole experience BRILLIANT and will have no problem going back.

John & Ani Head

Room Tip: Follow the signs for Hotel Campione you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konolfingen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Campione! If you are looking for a get-a-way, this is a nice place for a couple if you can find a good deal. The pool was lovely and the restaurant (breakfast & dinner) superb! The owner and staff are friendly and kind. However, the decor and furniture in the rooms is out-dated and seems to be fragile. We were forced to spend time there b/c of rain and were not overly comfortable. They do allow pets though and have A/C in the room. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel but does not run on Sundays (the day we left). The manager drove us back to the train station which was a great option. The cost was a little steep though. You can also catch a boat to Lugano if you walk (15 minutes) through the Italian part to the docks which was a nice alternative to the bus. The hotel has their own parking which is great if you have your own car so you can go explore the Swiss Miniature Museum & Chocolate Museum nearby. The casinos here have several requirements unlike an American casino so we skipped that option.
It's easy to get back and forth from Lugano with a bumpy bus ride. Athough, you'll need to know where to go in Lugano b/c it is not signed well, nor are the bus stops. There are several great restaurants in Lugano along the main drag. The park was fun for the kids and had a few geocaches there, too. We saw someone filming a movie while we were at the park which was neat! This hotel is a great location for a day of geocaching between Campione & Lugano!
Overall, it was a nice long weekend but we spent almost as much money as we did in Venice and only got an extra day of constant rain out of it. Not their fault though. I guess, just keep in mind you are still in Switzerland and you are paying Swiss prices for everything!

Room Tip: Choice of lake or mountain view & balcony or no balcony: choose lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Booked a Standard Double Room at the last minute, due to lack of availability elsewhere. Paid 181CHF for one night, which includes breakfast.

ROOM is VERY small ... so small that the "smallish" double bed is pushed in one corner, so one person ends up with the bedroom wall and if they wish to get out of bed, they have to climb over their partner.

My partner said she felt like she was sleeping someone's spare room, that was never intended to be a bedroom and they had put a bed in there as a last resort.

BATHROOM - The bathroom however was ample for the two of us. Very modern, very clean and and decent sized shower that had plenty of power.

BREAKFAST - The breakfast was very basic and we ended up paying an additional CHF12 each for an omlette as we were hungry.

PARKING - Also be away that the hotel has parking however this also extra CHF15 / night.

STAFF - very friendly and extremely helpful.

So in summary. Bedroom smaller than expected. Breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

After driving the stelvio we wanted some r and r and lugano seemed the next logical destination. We decided to try this hotel due to its close proximity to lugano and its lakeside views.
The good
Great pool with views stretching over lugano and the lake. Well maintained, clean and a lot of fun.
The bad
Every little thing cost extra. From the time checking in we were being flogged an upgrade. When we mentioned we were not interested in it the price magically came down. We were still not interested but the whole inconsistent pricing gave a very unprofessional first impression. Rooms small and v dated. Bathrooms seem to have probably been redone since inception. Our room small, dated and with a massive ?60 inch plasma! Hourly public bus stop outside but a good 8k to town. Not much else in local vicinity. (Foxtown outlet was also a bit of a let down)
The ugly
Breakfast sparse - puzzled look on most punters faces as there was really nothing that would pass as a hotel breakfast. Eggs have to be paid for!
Garage parking extra 15 chf but free in the driveway of the hotel. Possibly 3 or 4 spaces at most.
When i parked my car the receptionist didnt seem too impressed. She wanted me to move it so another car could park along side it. This was a tiny narrow space which might fit two v compact cars. Having a 30k jap import car i really thought she was joking. I think i would like to preserve my pride and joy rather than someone attempt to squeeze in an impossible space. Secondly some staff gave us a frosty reception. Others were fine. E.g my wife asked for milk for her morning tea and the girl serving told my wife to effectively get it herself from the cereal area. Normally this wouldnt bother me but as the rest of the locals were getting their own steamed milk brought to their table i thought this was discriminatory. We did not kick up a fuss due to language barriers and the fact i had left my phone with google transalate in my room

In summary on paper it looks good but in practice the place is dated, far from the town and makes money charging for petite extras

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campione

Address: Via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Bissone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campione 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.