We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Della Vigna

Trattoria Della Vigna
Via Portico 3, 22018 Porlezza, Italy
+39 0344 61184
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Porlezza
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've been to Porlezza twice and in both times we had a warm recommendation from the owners of the holiday apartments we stayed in to go eat at this restaurant. The first time, in 2011 we did not have a chance to go but we went in 2012 and all we can say is we beat ourselves up over not going the year before! The place is simply amazing! It is homey warm place with great fine dining food at really modest costs! With real fresh food, all natural, clean and high quality, the chef creates culinary masterpieces! All the products used are local and in season the chef goes out on his own to the forest to collect herbs and mushrooms. It is indeed a unique dining experience and it is not nearly as costly as some of the other restaurants in the area which have nothing unique about them. The place is owned and run by the chef and his family so you really feel like you are a guest in someone's home... FUN! If you are in Porlezza - do not miss out on this restaurant!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    47
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Romantic and cozy atmosphere with excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is housed on the hill just above Porlezza, has a nice warm atmosphere seating you in two rooms that even when full will not feel crowded. The food is genuine, well prepared and presented, in the right portions. Good wine list.
Avoid the table by the entrance door as smokers come and go making quite a draught.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I'll make this quick. Superb menu, best in the area. Excellent cooking and very consistent, although not 100%. Lovely setting. Make reservations. Can get overloaded and the service gets stretched a bit.

We have eaten here for years and thoroughly enjoy the food. What la Vigna could use is a bit of personality and warmth. I never get the impression I'm in Italy when I eat here. Still, the food is excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food sublime, staff wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

No doubt about it, this is the best restaurant for miles in this area. We have visited many times and cannot fault the food, service, ambience or the excellent and friendly staff. Cannot wait for our next visit. It's a little way out of Porlezza but worth the effort to find it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

By far the best restaurant in the region. It is tucked away (as all the best restaurants are) in a locality called Begna. It is a family run restaurant and this shows in the dedication to service and food quality: robust local food with a sophisticated twist. Pasta dishes are not to be missed, especially "Spaghetti alla Pedro". We have been coming here for several years and it has been wonderful every single time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Della Vigna also viewed

Porlezza, Como Province
Porlezza, Como Province
 
Porlezza, Como Province
Porlezza, Como Province
 

Been to Trattoria Della Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Della Vigna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.