We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Della Vigna

Trattoria Della Vigna
Via Portico 3, 22018 Porlezza, Italy
+39 0344 61184
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 restaurants in Porlezza
Price range: $18 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

By far the best restaurant in the region. It is tucked away (as all the best restaurants are) in a locality called Begna. It is a family run restaurant and this shows in the dedication to service and food quality: robust local food with a sophisticated twist. Pasta dishes are not to be missed, especially "Spaghetti alla Pedro". We have been coming here for several years and it has been wonderful every single time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    27
    37
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good, old-style restaurant hidden in Porlezza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My mother and I were in Porlezza for some business, when we decided to take a break and eat somewhere. Since we never came around before, we just drove aimlessly for 15 minutes, looking for something that could interest us. After a while, she saw a panel stating Trattoria della Vigna. Well then-we said-let's give it a try. And we did. We followed the signals, which lead us to go up on a road into a very small section of the town which was lovely.
We find the restaurant, and we realize that it was very small, maybe 10 tables. They had a party there, but the owner (a nice, very shy lady) let us stay. The environment is pretty old fashioned, seems like we are eating up on a mountain, which I like. They have a quite small menu, but every day they add an entire new menu as "today's reccomendation". We mostly pick from that menu, and it was great. We started with a shared appetizer made of meat, lake fish and mushrooms. It was delicious. After that, my mother went for meat with mushrooms and cheese and I decided for pasta with bottarga. We both were extremely pleased by our meal. The atmosphere was cheerish, since we had a 25 people group eating right next to us, and they all were happy, which is always good. After, we decided for a dessert, Ive got a cake and my mom a studel. Everything was well done. All the meals took some time to arrive, but they were fresh and clearly made to order, which made us happy. I was driving, so I just drunk water, while my mother got some white wine, from the house, and she said she was happy with it.
In the end, we spent around 60 euros, which isn't a lot but not even cheap. Pretty fair, I would say.
If you find yourself in Porlezza, which is wonderful town right on the Como Lake, make sure you visit this place, I suggest it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
937 reviews 937 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
1,019 helpful votes 1,019 helpful votes
“Good home cooked italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We ate here twice on our recent holiday and both times had a lovely meal. I’d suggest making a reservation as the restaurant is tiny and does get very busy. We really enjoyed the meat platters and the foie gras for starters and the veal schnitzel and the pork were delicious for main courses.
There is a specials menu, written in Italian and a main menu in Italian and German, however it is quite easy to read and 2 of the waitresses speak very good English. It’s a good hearty menu, no pizzas available but lots of tasty meat and side dishes. The restaurant is quite civilised, so no kids running around or loud parties, but it’s a lovely atmosphere and really good food. Prices are very reasonable and the wine is exceptionally good value. I’d very happily return or recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
496 reviews 496 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“excellent food; awfull staff; we finished eating on sewage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

we had dinner on a sunday; it was late (9 pm) and the place was almost full so we got the last table in a corner of the terrace. the food took its time to arrive, but all the dishes were excellent, despite several of our choices were finished. the price was more than reasonable. nothing wrong so far.

as i said before, some of the choices were unavailable, which i can understand. however, it is not normal that the waitress informed about it half an hour after having ordered. but still nothing too bad.

the worst comes now: we noticed a strange smell for most of the dinner. no doubt the staff had noticed such smell as well. by the end of the dinner we realized and clearky saw that a leakage of sewage from the toilet was at our feet. waiters had to walk on it to serve some tables, i can't believe nobody noticed it. no apologies were given, the waitress only said "oh, my god", we were not proposed to move to another table although most of them were empty already, not even a complimentary coffee was offered. this is one of my most unsatisfactory experiences in a restaurant in my life. as i was passing by, just left; otherwise a complaint with the health authorities would have been posted.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g_cook29
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A well hidden treasure of Porlezza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in Porlezza for a week and visited this restaurant twice. Each time we were delighted by the food, setting, wine and attention paid by the waitresses.
We had different dishes each time, totaling maybe 8 or 10 across both meals. Each dish was delicious, well presented and thoroughly good value for money.

If you go to porlezza, please make the time to go at least once. As a note, the restaurant can get busy so try to book the evening or afternoon beforehand to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Della Vigna also viewed

Porlezza, Como Province
Porlezza, Como Province
 
Porlezza, Como Province
Porlezza, Como Province
 

Been to Trattoria Della Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Della Vigna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.