We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved our stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa del Portico to your Saves list
Casa del Portico
Via del Riale 8, Mezzegra, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mezzegra B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely loved our stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I travelled to Lake Como while she was pregnant. Alice made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable, even ensuring the breakfast menu was suitable for my wife. The hospitality and advice was excellent. I was our first trip to Lake Como which was beautiful, however our favourite part was the delicious daily breakfast in the peaceful garden overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the lake and it was just perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay at the Casa del Portico was as good as it gets. This family owned guest house in the verdant hills surrounding Lago di Como is the best of Europe and has everything necessary for a pleasurable stay…the rooms and apartments (I have visited them all) are barns and rooms of an old farmhouse, renovated in an elegant, rustic style with excellent design and craftsmanship evident in every detail, from the silicone edging between the white walls and the heavy, darkly stained beams of the ceilings to the polished wood floors cut to fit around stone elements, to the carefully chosen splash of sumptuous deep red or blue upholstery of a chair to accent the soft, neutral tones of the rest of the room. Every detail is amazingly well-thought out, and it all makes sense when one finds out that Alicia is a set designer for the opera. Almost every bedroom or suite contains a picture postcard window with a stunning view of the lake. The family owners are young, intelligent, friendly, helpful and accommodating. One can take a short walk to a nearby trattoria with excellent food, good prices, and checkered tablecloth patio tables from which you can dine while looking out over a breathtaking view of the mountains. Alicia makes great breakfast breads, and there are cherries freshly picked from the cherry tree out front…she may even let you help pick them if you like!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Casa del Portico is a beautiful retreat in a magnificent part of the Como Lakes district. The views are splendid. Accomodation is well appointed, clean and authentic in style to the region. Most importantly, our gracious hosts were so welcoming, attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A beautiful small hotel of only four rooms in a lovely setting away from the noise of the main lake road. The young couple that owns the hotel is very attentive, they make a delicious breakfast every day and excellent italian coffee; they also maintain the rooms and garden in a very good condition. The lake suite is very spacious, airy and the bed is super comfy! The hotel is not on the lake but very near in the small village of Mezzegra. The views are also nice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were there for an extended weekend and enjoyed the stay very much! The place is nearly new and nicely furnished. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast on their terrace overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fairly new and nicely furnished and decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The owners are a wonderful couple and very nice.
They contact us by email with an explanation of Arrival.
They helped us, recommended restaurants and even check if they are open.
Their breakfast is rich and great.

Room Tip: Do not miss this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The stay didn't fullfil our expectations. The owner is a very nice lady, the room was very clean and the bed was confortable.
The room although new and simple, didn't have a desk where we can have sometime at the computer, and there's no reception or no room where one can stay, so either we are in the room (laying in bed) or there's nowhere to be. Also there is no full body mirror in the room! The room was said to have lake view, but the view is through a small window. Overall I would say it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicen1977, Proprietario at Casa del Portico, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Google Translation
Mi dispiace che questa gentile ospite, forse a causa delle poche ore in cui ha soggiornato presso la mia struttura, non si sia potuta rendere conto che la sala colazioni, ampia, con tavoli, informazioni turistiche ed internet wi-fi, è aperta a tutti gli ospiti per 14 ore al giorno. Funge anche da reception in orari ridotti trattandosi di un piccolo bed and breakfast che non ha quindi le caratteristiche di un albergo. Per quanto riguarda la finestra è di dimensione tipica di una casa del 1690 e comunque non piccola, e si affaccia, come descritto sul sito, su San Giovanni di Bellagio, il lago e il giardino. Ringrazio comunque la signora per essere stata nostra ospite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Portico

Address: Via del Riale 8, Mezzegra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mezzegra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mezzegra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Portico is a small charming B&B whose family management attends its guests with very careful attention towards every detail. It is a fine country house dated year 1690, full of charm and with plenty atmosphere, surrounded by nature and facing a marvelous lake view. Casa del Portico B&B offers some elegant and comfortable accommodations, rooms and apartments where your holidays will pass softly and slowly, away from the crowd and noises . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa del Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Portico Mezzegra, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.