We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Greppia

La Greppia
Piazza del Carmine 19/20, Peccioli, Italy
0587-672011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Peccioli
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a meal here whilst on holiday. There was lots of great choices on the menu and the food was delicious. It was a bit quiet (only one other table of four) but still atmospheric and our waiter was attentive and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“La Greppia - nowhere is better than here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food and wine here is simply superb.
We have been here many times as a couple and also with friends and have never been disappointed, in any way whatsoever.
The guy who runs La Greppi is Egisto (I think I have spelt it correctly) and he is a fund of knowledge about the wine in his enoteca and will always find the right wine for you at whatever price you want to pay.
Egisto will also go 'off menu' and provide what you want if he has the ingredients!
Nothing more to add, except go and be surprised!!
TokyoJacko

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Standout small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For five or six years we have spent some time near Peccioli and eaten at La Greppia with friends and family. We were introduced to this terrific restaurant by a friend who owns an agriturismo nearby. It is everything a small town Italian restaurant should be! The food is delicious and authentic, whether it is risotto cooked in red wine, or rabbit, veal, or pasta. The owner is charming and delightful, the decor entertainingly wacky. The wine list has some decent wines that are affordably priced. All in all, if you're in the area it's a must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb food in splendid setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Absolutly astonishing dinner, in a cosy setting with a couple who puts there entire focus and decidaction to serve good food. Good and personal service. Winelist with some real gems to afforable prices. Will come back !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed in a villa near peccioli for three weeks and dined here five times. It's a small restaurant so book early and avoid disappointment. We ate pasta, chicken, paella ( just wonderful!!) and the best zabaglione we've ever had, and every dish was cooked well and was delicious. The owner is a warm and welcoming man who was very accommodating with the children, nothing was too much trouble for him. I look forward to a return trip in the future.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Greppia also viewed

Peccioli, Province of Pisa
Peccioli, Province of Pisa
 
Peccioli, Province of Pisa
Peccioli, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Greppia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Greppia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.