We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island but the hotel was TEERRIBLE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Caribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pueblo Caribe Hotel to your Saves list
Pueblo Caribe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costanera, El Tirano, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Tirano
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful island but the hotel was TEERRIBLE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

What a shoddy hotel!! Don't htink it's ready for British tourists yet - they just don't look after you well at all. The hotel actually ruined the holiday to a certain extent. I wish we'd stayed elsewhere and would definitely recommend that people pay a few quid extra to stay in a much better hotel instead. The island is really cool though.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    36
    27
    44
See reviews for
36
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

It is Not SAFE for girls or families to go to Margarita. We had the holiday from hell. If you have booked via First choice i'm sure they haven't told you that every other airline has pulled out from Margarita and they will be pulling out in April because it is unsafe for British Passengers. On the first night my friend had her drink spiked in the resort. The hotel is unclean it is a dump. Our rep manuel was useless he was more interested in changing our money on the black market. The second day someone (staff) stole clothes perfume make up and money towel tickets and money from our safety deposit box. We had to pay 137 bollivars to replace the lock on the safety deposit box. We waited in all day for maintance to come and change the lock, every time we asked they said they would be 10 minutes. The beach is dirty and there is no sand due to high tides. DO NOT GO SWIMMING 5 people DIED from the ocean. There is no life guards on the beach to save you. The police were called when we had items stolen and we were told we would be arrested for 48 hours if they thought we were lying. When we returned to our room to pack we noticed someone had opened our window and left it so it looked like it was locked. Always check your windows are locked because someone will open it. Some items had been returned to our room which we found in strange places i.e 1 towel ticket in with underwear another in with a pile of clothes. You have to pay $47 if you lose your towel tickets which is a scam the hotel have. We were moved rooms to the building and at 1 in the morning we had a man try to break into our room. He said he was security and wanted to make sure we were safe in our beds. He kept trying to enter our room and started banging the door so the door panel which was attached to the latch would break and he could enter. Our phone in our room didn't work so we couldn't call for help. We were promised by first choice that after our experience we would be moved to a 5 * hotel which we would be driven to. We had to get a taxi and was left at the nearest hotel. First choice we patronising and felt they did all they could. It is a chartered airport so we had to wait until sunday to leave. We were told by the manager of First choice that we were free people we could go wherever we wanted to just needed £1800 each to leave the island. We arrived at palm beach which was a cleaner hotel however we had more money stolen from our safety deposit box. DO NOT GET A SAFTEY DEPOSIT BOX!!! THEY HAVE ACCESS THEY SAY THEY ONLY HAVE ONE KEY BUT THATS A LIE!! You could see all the british people walking around with rucksacks full of valuables as they felt they couldn't leave anything in their room. We even kept a do not disturb sign on our door but someone still opened the door stole money and locked the door after them. The staff watch you and ask you all the time where you are going.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Tirano hotels

Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

My boyfriend booked the holiday as a Christmas present for me, so i had not read the reviews first before it was booked. From what we read we thought we might have made a mistake and flew out with some trepidation.. However we were very pleasantly surprised. After a bit of a wait for our luggage in the arrivals at Porlamar airport, we were offered cold drinks in the car park while we waited for our transfer to the hotel. We met our rep, Manuel.The drive was about 40 minutes, it was interesting to say the least, with all the pot holes and the seemingly maniac drivers. At the hotel we were given our wristbands and our room. We were by the quiet pool on the ground floor. Our room was adequate, a bit dated, but comfortable. Plenty of storage, an antiquated air conditioning system, but it definitley kept the place cool. We also had our own terrace with hedge, table, 2 chairs and thatched parasol.The next morning we had our welcome meeting with Manuel, he gave us some good local advice and help with our excursions. However make sure you ask plenty of questions, there are plenty of hidden extras, such as departure taxes on any flights onto the mainland, some costs you would think should be included in your excursion may not be. The food was ok, it was a bit repetitive, but it was edible, if you like pasta and salad you will be ok. The breakfasts are very good. The A La Carte they offer you is the same food as the hotel ( not much choice on the menu ) but you have the chance to sit practically on the beach whilst your food is served to you. We had 2 really good days out, the land cruiser trip was excellent, a good chance to see all round the island, with a bit of off-roading thrown in and a boat trip on a lake where the fresh water pearls come from. The catamaran trip to Coche island was beautiful, and had a lovely beach and a nice lunch. Well worth the money. The trip to Angel Falls was a bit of a disappointment. We had to pay extra airport tax and to get in to the National Park, ( thought that would be in the price.) The plane was too big, too many people onboard to get a good view, however the Waterfalls we did get to see were quite breathtaking. For nearly £300 each it was an expensive day. The departures at the end of the holiday are not for the feint hearted. The National Guard are there, and they check every suitcase and hand baggage, it can be a very long wait if you are at the back of the queue. For us 1 week was long enough, we would not go back, we saw what we went to see, but on the whole the hotel was good, the weather lovely and hot, it rained a bit but mostly at night and it dries up quickly. The staff are pleasant, if you are polite to them, we are in their country after all.. you must remember It is a poor island and and the hotel is only a 2 star. For the money paid it was a good value holiday. Be open minded and enjoy.

  • Liked — Loved the private terrace outside our room.
  • Disliked — The slippy paths.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

The terrible experience we suffered at the Pueblo Caribe is almost beyond words - please dont waste your money.

All five our our party suffered food poisioning, which the doctor at the local clinic confirmed was due to a complete lack of hygeine in the kitchens at the hotel. We all ended up being given medication, and lost a week of our fortnight's holiday as we were so ill that we just either stayed in bed (and most importantly by the loo) or sat by the pool. Other people were affected by this too, and the doctor at the clinic requested that this be reported to the hotel manager by our rep, who basically did not want to know. She has obviously seen all of this before.

Staff personal hygeine is non existant! The barman blew his nose on a t towel and then wiped the bar with it. Gloves were not worn when handling food, and the beef burgers at the snack bar were left out all day in the searing heat.

Food was very repetitive and its anyone's guess what the 'meat' actually was. However, after the food poisioning, we didnt eat in the hotel any more, and finding the Los Mangos posada just along the road was a Godsend. Tracey was lovely and when we started to feel better, we ate there for the rest of the holiday.

During our illness's, the toilet in one of our rooms was not cleaned for nearly 3 days (you can imagine the state of it!)

The air conditioning unit sparked every time it was switched on/off and it must have been a candidate for the Antiques Road Show!

We had no hot water in our room for two days, despite reporting this to Reception TWICE.

Several days, the towels were not changed in the rooms.

All in all this hotel is a disgrace, and we are currently lodging our complaint with First Choice , who at this moment in time couldnt seem to care less! We have now found out that back in 2002 First Choice scratched the Pueblo Caribe from their list after several people sued for compensation after suffering similar problems. This article appeared in the Guardian newspaper. The message is simple DONT GO!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Lots of good info on resort so just a quick review:

If you get a bargain go..... it was fun!

Flight, food and all you can drink in nice warm weather for £500 over the New Year.

Met some nice people and had some good times.

Food is more than edible and the drinks are strong!!!! Rooms are just fine in la cascada.

  • Liked — Free drinks!
  • Disliked — Bar closed at 11pm but beach bar open until 1am.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

PLEASE READ this review if you want to make the most of your time at this hotel........... I'll start with a few pointers I wish we'd had before we got there........

FIRSTLY, from the moment you arrive in Margarita, pay for EVERYthing in Bolivars ( change your Dollars as soon as possible, But, Not at the airport or hotel, as their rates are not favourable ) This includes paying for your SAFETY DEPOSIT BOX, reception will advise you of the price in dollars on arrival, this being $60 2 weeks rental + $20 additional returnable deposit, but you CAN and SHOULD pay in Bolivars, 126 bol 2weeks rental + 50 bols additional returnable deposit, much, much Better Value..... ALSO put buy your departure tax, in bolivars ( at the time of leaving 11th Jan, this was 157 Bolivars each. )
SECONDLY, mainly for the ladies, take a couple of adaptors with you ( the 2 prong, flat pin type - they are Not readily available on the island )
THIRD, we take a Liquid Mozzie Plug-In ( there is a plug point right next to the front door of your room, Ideal. Aslo purchase OFF ( Mozzie Repellant in an Orange tin, spray or cream ) when you arrive in Margarita, from the supermarket :- on that note
and FINALLY, Do Not buy ANYTHING from the supermarket at the hotel, the prices are greatly inflated in comparison to the Supermarket that Will be pointed out during your trip to the hotel. That supermarket has much more choice also.
You Will have hopefully purchased your cigarettes/tabacco on board the plane, as their is Little choice on the island, and their Will be Little Left on your return flight!

Onto the hotel, the trip to the hotel is quite daunting. The roads being full of pot-holes, the driving somewhat erratic. Fly tipping seems to be an Art Form here..............
On arrival at the hotel complex you will notice that it is dated and in need of some Serious TLC, but Please remember you Have booked a 2 * hotel.
Reception are efficient, but in no hurry ( but then you are on holiday and now on Venezuelan Time !! )
We had requested a room located near the quiet pool prior to arrival, this is exactly what we were given, room PB1 the very first ground floor room leading to the quiet pool area:-

ROOM : Our room was Large with 1 Big bed, dressing table, tv 40 + channels ( 2-3 english speaking, incl Hallmark for films which you may well Need ! ) A good sized built-in wardrobe, additional cupboard with safety deposit box. Vanity area incl sink and door leading to shower room/toilet. The room has an air conditioning unit ( as old as the hills, ours sounded like a washing machine on Full Spin, we grew to like the din !!! ) We aslo had a De humidifier which was needed, as it was full of Water Every morning. We found a little spanish goes along way with the maid, we had Dominiga, she was lovely and did everything we asked, eg extra pillows, towels etc.

QUIET pool area: A lovely pool with a bridge and a cooling waterfall. There is a bar which opens from 11am - 11pm, also serving very nice pannine's All Day. On the way from the quiet pool to reception you will come across the Internet Cafe, which is open from 9am (ish) till late eve, at a cost of 4 bolivars p/hr.
The large pool is where all the activities take place and is noisy all day ( if you like that sort of thing ), it is also where you will get your beach/pool towels.

RESTAURANTS: All meals are taken in the 2 buffet style restaurants. We always went into the one next to main bar to see what was on offer first then onto the one located by the Main pool, usually eating there.
In your welcome details you will have been given a couple of coupons, these are for the A la Carte which is located on at the Beach Bar overlooking the beach ( well what there is of a beach ) Book as soon as you can, 1 visit for each week you are there, but you need to book quickly as it is a really Small dining area and places go very fast. It is Not A la Carte persay, but the feeling of being waited on, the chicken ( which is really moist ) and the location make for an interesting change from the somewhat "Samey" buffet.
There is also a Very nice English bar about 10mins up the road, run by Tracy. A welcome and not too expensive change to the hotel. She also does a mean Steak and Chips, and whenever possibe will make sure you get back to to the hotel, so you are not walking in the dark, nice touch !
There is entertainment every evening, which we heard was quiet good, although we actually never saw a show, opting for a drink and chat at the quiet pool bar with like-minded people instead.

TOURS: We did a couple of trips while there. We booked through a local company we had heard about on here ( magic tours ) the owner Daniel came to the hotel to see us and go through everything. The trips we booked we cheaper than 1st choice and seemed to offer a little more than the 1st choice ones.
We did the Catamaran, which was more personal, with a lot of locals on board. We ate the most Fab meal onboard, so no sand from the beach, unlike 1st choice.
We also did the Jeep Safari. We were in an open topped jeep, not the land cruiser used by 1st choice. We felt this was a much better way of seeing the island. Our tour seemed to encompass Both the trips from 1st choice but for one price, we also got to say what we wanted from our tour. There were 6 of us, our driver/waiter/medic (if req'd) and Guide was Jose, an informative but not boring man with superb english. He took us all over the island inlc to Punta Arenas beach, which was packed !!! He asked if we'd like to go to a quieter beach, which we did and had an hr & half playing in the ocean like a bunch of 10yr olds! On a Georgeous empty beach!
We got back from both trips, exhausted but exhillerated.

Your rep at the hotel - Manuel Lubo - who is a lovely rep, will offer trips and also seats together for your return trip home, during your welcome meeting, if you are going to book with him, hold off at least a couple of days as his prices WILL come down considerably.

If you are unlucky enough to be taken ill, remember there IS a FREE diagnosis centre only a few mins from the hotel. A friend was bitten on her eye and had to use it, they gave advise and free anti-hystemines, she was fine after 24hrs. Take the usual with you, pain killers, immodium ( you'lll prob need it sometime during you're stay )

There is NO personal Laundry onsite, however there is a laundry service on the main road, walk or taxi............. they will wash and dry by the kilo. We had 4 kilo's done for only 25 bolivars, ready to collect the very next day.

When it comes to your departure check with Manuel about the bag search at the aiport. When we left the National Guard were checking Every suitcase prior to check-in. This meant up to 2 & half hours of queing, before even getting sat down in departures !
We opted for a taxi transfer half hr earlier from our hotel at a cost of 70 Bolivars. We only que'd for about an hr!
There is not alot at the departure airport. You can spend bolivars, upstairs their is a cigar/drinks shop which does CHEAP cold cans pop, 3 bolivars each....... Not a great deal of choice on souveniers, so grab them as you see them when out and about on your travels.
You will also be able to spend left over bolivars on snacks and drinks on plane. ( but they didn't say if they could be spent on duty free items......... )

So, in a nutshell............
A bargain??? We thought so, for what we paid on a last minute deal. We would have been Gutted however had we paid anything near brochure price for this hotel.
We were amply fed ( albeit, abit repeatative ) and watered, the Weather was great, yes it rained often usually during the night, but soon cleared up, we had sun Every day.
There were many people like us who were bitten by the dreaded mozzies, but now you know, take precautions and plently of AFTERBITE just to be safe !!
We've met some great new friends we hope to stay in touch with, so a quick hi to:- Denise & Roger, Heather Garry and Nicolas, Leigh Andy & the boys and not forgetting Mel & Sally.

  • Liked — location of roon to quiet pool.
  • Disliked — the Rubbish outside the resort and generally over the island.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

My partner and I, plus two other guests we had met on holiday, had our drinks spiked at Pueblo Caribe's hotel beach bar. I awoke with serious injuries. Terrified about what had happened, all four of us complained to the First Choice rep the next morning but our complaint was ignored entirely. No investigation took place and First Choice have continued to ignore the issue despite our numerous complaint letters.

Considering the price I thought the hotel was OK. The rooms were basic but clean and the food wasn't great but it was edible. However, I would obviously not recommend this hotel to anyone as it is simply not safe. The hospitals aren't equipped to deal with emergencies and First Choice were equally useless.

A very traumatic holiday. :(

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Being drugged!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Caribe Hotel

Address: Carretera Costanera, El Tirano, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > El Tirano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Tirano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Caribe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Caribe
Pueblo Caribe Margarita Island
Pueblo Caribe Hotel Venezuela/Margarita Island - El Tirano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Caribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.