We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere. Nothing special.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio to your Saves list
Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi u 20 | Budapest Airport, Vecses 2220, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vecses
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere. Nothing special.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Marketed as an airport hotel, this property is destined to disappoint from the word go. Location wise, it's tucked away at the end of a residential block - next to an overgrown field. Look closely and wild dogs roam the grass. If you don't see them, you'll hear them from about 11pm each night.

I stayed here with work so didn't have a choice. The room was small and had no curtains - only a see thru shutter, fitted to the outside. As the rooms all open up on to a shared balcony, it's not the safest, most secure nights sleep I've ever had!

The restaurant is 'ok' - you dine there as there's no where else within walking distance.

The staff were surly to say the least. I've tried to think of positives - but don't recall any.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with curtains?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacio, Manager at Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Ste_Jay2012,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review to TripAdvisor about our hotel. All reviews are important to us and help us improve our services. I was sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the hotel and our services. Most of our guests enjoy the rural positon of the hotel and says that it is a green oasis, which is at the same time is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport of Budapest. I am sorry that you did not tell us your comments during your stay, therefore we could not help you solve them. All of our single rooms' size meet the requirements of a 4 star superior hotel, and all of them has drapes or shutters on the windows to completely darken the room. Some of our rooms share a balcony with other rooms, which is perfect for families, or groups but not so suitable for buisness visitors. We have rooms without balcony, and rooms with separate balcony as well.
I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and will have a chance to prove you the real Hotel Stacio experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
22
36
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Together with my Hubby and 2 kids, Jeniffer and Troy, we checked-in here, this hotel is very near the airport, no less than 10 minutes shuttle which is free of charge when you are a guest, before going to our room, we have time to look at the place to roam around, my kids wanted to see if there is a pool that is why I asked the receptionist, which is good in speaking in English, and yes, she accompanied us to the pool area, we was shocked because the pool was indoor, imagine it’s like a lobby of a hotel wherein, there has a swimming pool in the middle, it was classy and luxurious, rooms are clean, neat, well organized, modern designs, wifi anywhere (free), but I have a tip for all the travelers who wanted to stay there, wake up early for breakfast, because it is served early, if you missed it, you will miss a lot. All in all, a big thumbs up, great idea for the pool. Surely we will go back here...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacio, Director of Sales at Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Leana A,

Thank you for the response. We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. Very warm welcome if you come next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Boro, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We needed a place near the airport to catch an early flight and booked the Hotel Stacio. Due to some unanticipated schedule changes we ended up having to add a night and thought we'd be bored out of our minds. It turns out we didn't want to leave.
The hotel is also a spa, the use of which is included in the price. This includes a large lap pool with hydro features and a medicinal hot tub upstairs, and downstairs a sea-salt room, infra-red room, steam room and sauna next to a cold plunge pool and ice machine. But the best part are three stone chaise lounges that are heated and just melt the tension from your body. There are complimentary towels and bathrobes as well. We enjoyed the spa even more than the Szechenyi Baths.
We opted for dinner at the restaurant and it was very good, their local Pinot Noir excellent and only a bit of a splurge. Breakfast (included) was very good.
The room was very spacious and comfortable and the staff very well trained and helpful. The other guests seemed to be business people and some traveling couples like ourselves.
Airport shuttle is complementary (even at 4;30 am) and there is a taxi service that will take you to downtown Budapest for 20 euro (up to 3 people), about a 10 euro savings. We used them for a final day of sightseeing and the driver was prompt and charming.
For the price I really think this is the best airport hotel on earth.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place to stay if looking to catch an early flight from Budapest airport or arriving very late in the city. They have a free shuttle service drop to the airport; not sure if that applies to pick up too (unfortunately I didn't ask). Unless one takes a cab, it is very difficult getting to the hotel from the city centre.

Receptionist late at night was very helpful.

I stayed in the modern wing of the hotel which houses the wellness centre. The hotel is eco friendly and this includes use of sensors which activate electricity when there is movement. Room was spacious and free wifi connectivity was good.

Breakfast starts early morning at 4 am. It is mainly a self service buffet with no staff around for assistance but that's good enough for that early hour.

I would use the hotel again if look for an overnight transit near the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Airport Hotel Stacio is located perfectly for an overnight stay if you need to be near the airport. Unlike many airport hotels, this feels like a "proper" hotel - comfortable rooms, good food in the restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. We stayed overnight before a morning flight from Budapest Liszt Ferencs airport and it was ideal. The hotel is split across two buildings with a dlightful garden and pool (even with turtles!) and a wellness area with fitness facilies and a pool. Unfortunately, we did not have time to use the pool, but it looked to be a good size.
Highly recommend staying here if you need to be near the aiport - however, be aware that it is ocated far from the city centre and so is not recommended for city sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is close enough to the airport for convenience, but far enough away to not hear the airplanes. However, I would not necessarily recommend it for a Budapest City stay.

Most staff speak English and German.

The room and bathroom were okay, good bed linen, enough towels, toiletries from Yves Rocher and good water pressure.

The room had free Wifi.

I got a really good deal from Travel Republic, but got charged Eur 8 for the shuttle which is advertised as free on their website.

Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were good and the staff were very friendly.

Over all it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort wich combine business facillities, airport nearby and Spa.
The rooms are very nice, large bathroom, wifi ok.
The inner pond is a nice touch, very relaxing area.
You can spend some time, after a hard business day into the full conference rooms, waching the small and colourfull fishes and few turtle too.
And if you combine it with a local wine glass you can close the day happy :-)
The staff has good english command, the drivers will drive you in no time to the airport.
The concierge may look small but it is very effective and polite.
Check the Spa area for sure.
Try the hungarian plates, there are very, very planty with different good food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio

Address: Szechenyi u 20 | Budapest Airport, Vecses 2220, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Pest County > Vecses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vecses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio Pest County/Vecses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Airport Hotel Stacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.