We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect manor feeling with tiny flaws.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szidonia Manor House

Save Saved
You added Szidonia Manor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Szidonia Manor House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rojtoki u. 37, Rojtokmuzsaj 9451, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rojtokmuzsaj
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect manor feeling with tiny flaws.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I Went to Szidonia for a 3 day long company getaway.

Very positive thing is that staff does not bother you at all (except for check-in and check-out).
Check-in took 2 minutes and I was on my way to find room which turned to be the size of my flat... or half of my flat, at least.
To find my room was another story though. There are 2 different wings, 4 different access routes and scatchy looking lift.
You can see that the manor house was completely refurbished but apparently some while ago. There are wet spots under the ceiling in the hallway, some dirty walls etc... You won't notice at first glance though.

As for staff, everyone was perfect and helpful EXCEPT for one night when me and 12 colleagues were drinking and spending a lot of money and restaurant staff told us they are closing the bar at 1.30am. No more drinks, no more money for the hotel. This has never happened to me anywhere else as a paying customer.

Cuisine in the restaurant was spotless (traditional goulash, very good, homey soups, BBQ in the garden, all perfect)! I can highly recommend wine tasting in their cellar, wonderful atmosphere, delicious wines and very skilled wine-dresser.

Garden and surroundings are simply marvellous! Wish I had more time to actually relax.
Would definitely love to come back with my better half!

Room Tip: Id rather stay on the first floor (out of two).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paraguay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This manor house is nice, very nice, has an elegant lobby and a fine restaurant, a very big garden park with basket and tennis courts indoor and outdoor swimming pools, very nice walking trails for excercising o casual strolls, a gym, sauna, wifi in many (if not all rooms) everything any good modern hotel will offer but in a very stylish manor house with a nice history of its own.

The staff is friendly and food is good, a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I found this charming place to be a real "lifesaver" We came in a - for us very stressfull time - and we got exactly what we hoped for: a place where we could recharge our batteries and have time for us in a marvelous setting. The castle and the huge garden is like a fairy tale. You go inside and feel transported in another time - a time where style and elegance, courtesy and noblesse were important. It is like a dream. The rooms are comfortable und quiet, the wellness and spa is just what you need - the indoorpool is beautiful - and the food is outstanding, served by a friendly and competent staff. We stayed there at late autumn - and it was so cosy: there is a big fireplace in the hall, after wounderful treatments (massage, cosmetic...) and a long walk we sat there drinking tea, hearing and seeing the fire, than have another round of wellness (sauna, steambath, swiming) and than the dinner with this awsome food, great wine, candlelight, and than another hour drinking good congnac in front of the fire......after two/three days you feel like new inside and outside. A gret place, we are so happy we found it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Romms are has great size and ideal with kids.
Wellness is perfect for a great relax with sauna amd steam bath and has a great kids pool.
Love the garden with its outdoor pool,basketball pitch and animals what kids visit every day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szidonia, Owner at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Balázs,

thank you very much for your review, we are very happy you and your family chose Szidónia Manor House for your stay, I'm very glad, that you had a good time with us and I'm, looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Viktor Szeremley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Good location (silent, not too far from Vienna/Budapest), wonderful garden. Rooms are very stylish and comfortable, the staff is very kind.

The wellness/spa and the fantastic food/wine made the weekend perfect.

Great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szidonia, Manager at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, we are looking forward to greet you again, and hope you will have a great time at your future visit aswell, Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The staff at the front desk didn't find our booking made online, thank God they had free rooms. The toilet brush in the bathroom was, well, brown... In the spa area, a cup of the costed about 4 euro or so. And the owner is a terrible, blue-blooded witch. Choose another hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szidonia, Owner at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry, that you had a bad experience while your stay.
If your claims are correct, then it is inacceptable. However we do not change toilet brushes every day, but we do get them cleaned or changed every month.

A cup of tea at the spa area is free of charge and is a service from us to the guests. I can't imagine you have been charged for this, if yes, then we could have solved this problem in house, today one year later it is quite dificult for me, to check this.

Identifing the owner as Cruella de Vil is very offensive, and rude. In my honest opinion, the review is subject to a personal dispute, which is not to be solved online. You should contact Mrs. Derry and talk things over to solve personal matters.

Thank you again for taking your time reviewing the Szidónia Manor House.

Kind regards,

Viktor Szeremley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Excellent accommodation, great service, fantastic food, excellent spa, large pool, an old castle in mood, everything is perfect in a sentence or a longer period of time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Szidonia Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szidonia Manor House

Address: Rojtoki u. 37, Rojtokmuzsaj 9451, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Rojtokmuzsaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rojtokmuzsaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Szidonia Manor House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Top 20 Castle Hotels of Europe, the Szidonia Manor House is situated in the North Western part of Hungary 20 km from Sopron, 80 km from Vienna, and 180 km from Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Szidonia Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Szidonia Manor House Hungary/Rojtokmuzsaj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szidonia Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.