We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunguest Hotel Palota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hunguest Hotel Palota to your Saves list
Hunguest Hotel Palota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet setany 1, Lillafured H-3517, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lillafured
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hildesheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old school decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Situated about 7Km out of Miskolc, I found this hotel clean and comfortable. The interior decor is really spectacular if you like plenty of wood panelling and stained glass. This hotel is clearly from another era. Surroundings are interesting including the gardens and caves.
A little off the beaten track but would be a perfect destination for a relaxing weekend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
40
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent the night before our wedding here, but it turned into a bit of a nightmare. On the day of teh wedding I was planning to get dressed in our room, had the hair dresser booked to come here as well etc, so booked in advance our late departure, which was confirmed in an email. Despite our advance booking, we were told on arrival that we had to leave the room earlier the next day meaning I could not do my wedding prep as planned. When we asked staff to come up with a solution, they were incredibly unhelpful, clearly did not understand the importance of the issue and some of them were plain rude.
I also booked a relaxing full body massage for the night before - now this turned out to be a 'hard core' sports massage which had to come to an early finish when I explained that I was getting married teh next day and I needed to be able to dance!!!!! Dangerous!!!
Food - well.... not very good quality, but a lot of it! Great choice, but mixed quality... posh tea, but frozen vegetables - just disappointed the venue. With hindsight I am glad we did not go for the whole wedding to be held here!

Talking about the venue though - amazing surroundings and the hotel/castle itself is beautiful, so clearly with a new management this place could be made into a magical place to visit and enjoy! Amazing walks and trips to be enjoyed in the area as well so go out and explore!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A picture postcard setting with this castle like building overlooking a lake and nestled in the hills. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Rooms at the front overlook the lake and at the back the hotel grounds. Staff perform their duties but seem to have missed out on the customer satisfaction training.
Lots of good hiking in the nearby hills, but the hotel has little information.
Very quiet during the week, busier at weekends.
Fabulous spa!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent a long weekend in this hotel last autumn and had a very good time.
The hotel is at a breathtaking place, surrounded by forest, so if you enjoy a good walk in the woods, this is your place, especially in the autumn when all the leaves on the trees are in different colours.
The buffet menu was simple but good. The only negative is the pool and bowling area, which needs renovation, otherwise I was fully content with the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

On my recent trip to Hungary my family of four, all adults, stayed at the Hungest Hotel Palota in Lillafured Hungary. The hotel is lovely, the rooms and bathrooms are well appointed and modern, in old casing. The public rooms have a feel of lush royalty to them, from the furniture and art that hangs on the walls to the floor and wall coverings. The location is beautiful, with many outdoor activities. The hotel has a very well equipped and appointed, modern wellness center with several pools, several saunas, gym, two lane bowling alley and billiard room, and a salt cave. Because of the location in the hills, the air is fresh and the fauna is green. There are narrow gauge train trips available just outside the parking lot. There are natural caves you can visit with a guide just below the hotel and a cave thermal bath a short drive away. It is an excellent hotel for both families with children and couples seeking romance. The dining room is grand with views of the hills and live music during meal times. Meals were sufficient for the four days we were there, I thought the food could have been better. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Its is a pretty castle that I would go back to anytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful setting. Lovely large terraces. Friendly, charmimg staff. Comfortable rooms. Very nice spa and sunbathing area. We stayed 3 nights. Perfect apart from the poor standard of food/ Breakfast was bearable (coffee poor) but the supper wasnt; unpleasant,overcooked, oversalted, underflavoured mush- really disappointing.

The walk/hike leaflet has poor instructions if heading into the hills I wld recommend a good walking map!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is very special due to the location, surrounded by the mountains ( hills), the trees, the elegant surroundings. Overall it is a good hotel and i had no issues during my stay. The rooms were spacious, the staff were friendly, and it offered some good facilities - the swimming pools, spa etc.
The breakfast was ok, could do with some more variety , but i didn't mind what they offered ( good coffee's and teas, breads and cheeses and so on).
It is definitely a good hotel for a big wedding or a romantic long weekend away! It offers you the chance to relax and the price is very good too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunguest Hotel Palota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Hotel Palota

Address: Erzsebet setany 1, Lillafured H-3517, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Lillafured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lillafured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunguest Hotel Palota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hunguest Hotel Palota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunguest Hotel Palota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.