We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but no sleep at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dikli Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dikli Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Dikli Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dikli LV-4223, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dikli
Voru, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel but no sleep at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The manor looks amazing and so does the surroundings. We stayed there with a larger group, about 35 people for one night and got a group discount. Breakfast was absolutely delicious.
When we arrived and got our rooms it was extremely hot outside and inside. My room wasn't in the main building, but in a smaller one next to it. There was an air conditioner inside the room, but it didn't work. So I asked help from the staff and they said the air conditioner has been broken for a while now and apologised for the inconvenience. I also couldn't open the windows because the mosquitos got in. I have travelled to tropical places many times and usually enjoy the heat, but this time it was too much. Also I saw how another room with the same problem got a fan, but I didn't. Unfortunately I couldn't sleep all night.
Overall the hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
18
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very pretty grounds and great service.
Our room overlooks a gorgeous little stream. Idyllic setting.

The bathrooms are modern and comfortable. Obviously redone recently.

Only letdown are the rooms themselves. The furniture is a mess. The beds are too low and the mattresses are old and really uncomfortable. We couldn't sleep all night.

The restaurant has minimal options but they were happy to serve things that were not on the menu.

Overall, a happy place. Worth a stop.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been visiting Dikli palace several times with my wife and stayed for 1-2 nights in almost all types of rooms. It is a great place to have a quite and calm rest, pretty expensive for a hotel outside the city though. Kitchen is very good, their chief is cooking excellent food! We are not vintage lovers, but there are things that you can enjoy if you are, specially fireplaces, furniture and other interior. The main reason of our visits were calmness and the SPA with swimming pool, 2 saunas and jakuzzi underground. You can rent the whole SPA for a very good price. Staff is very polite and kind. Would highly recommend to friends that are going to Valmieras side. Taking the opportunity, would like to thank all Dikli palace staff for a great time we spent!

Room Tip: Preference to LUX rooms, such as presidental or hunters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Very, very nice place to stay and switch off all devices.
Just relax and enjoy atmosphere away from urban area.
Highly recommened for both big family or couples seeking for some romance.
Nice rooms ans friendly staff.
Good restaurant with valuble prices

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a beautifully restored manor. The room was very spacious, with large bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, Malta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at Dikli Pils (or Palace) for one night. Pity couldn't stay for longer. The interiors of the place are lovely, the room was big, dining area very posh and food was great! Excellent staff. They even let me use the reception pc. Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go with a car as it is in the middle of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

It is a great place to go if you are looking for the experience of staying in a renovated country manor, that is set in lush grounds, and offers an excellent dinning experience! The rooms are decorated in the antique fashion, and since we stayed in the Hunter's suite had an animal theme. The decor is not my favorite, and I thought the bed could be a bit more comfortable. But the bathroom was a luxurious size with a nice tub! There was also a small spa center downstairs, that was ok for a quick morning swim and sauna. The best part of the experience was the restaurant! The beef carpaccio is to die for! The lamb kebab was also superb! They work with local farmers, so everything is grown near by and super fresh! Yum!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dikli Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikli Palace Hotel

Address: Dikli LV-4223, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Vidzeme Region > Dikli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dikli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikli Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dikli Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikli Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.