We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever, try the restaurant!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Road, Tyrrelstown D15, Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Tyrrelstown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tyrrelstown
Killorglin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never, ever, try the restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went to the restaurant with some colleagues and it was an absolute shock for me.
I took a burger steack and it was really, really, really smelly. I did not touch it but I have heard that some got nearly sick because of it the day after.
Of course no vegetarian option, no service at the table, a cake that looked like just bough at the Tesco, there was still the plastic receipient under, the the waiter did not know which one he had ("Carbernet, Sauvignon".... Do they learn in the Carlton training that the location matters too?).
Really a big big shock for me. I don't understand how a well known name like that can allow this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer
I am disappointed to read of your experience and would like to apologise for the issues which affected the overall quality of your meal. There are elements of you feedback that I would like to discuss as I have no record of your experience on file or some of the menu items you refer to. Please feel free to contact me at dcurtis@carlton.ie.

Yours Sincerely,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    132
    42
    21
    9
See reviews for
89
114
10
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here recently and the hotel has all you would expect for a conventional hotel-the room was very nice, clean and modern, equipped with the usual tea making facilities, good beds, clean ensuite bathroom nice big shower (no bath). The staff was efficient, and friendly, no problems checking in or out, plenty of parking. Although, when I arrived at 6:30pm the hallway outside the room seemed very messy, cleaning was in progress and many of the rooms had room service trays laid outside doors. I wouldn't expect to be smelling or seeing left over food at that time of the evening and it didn't make a great impression. Other than that the hotel itself, staff, breakfast etc was all very fine. However I have a real peeve about establishments claiming to be some place they are not. I booked the Carlton Hotel, Blanchardstown because I had arranged to meet a friend in Blanchardstown and go shopping in the Blanchardstown Shopping Centre. Having driven to Blandchardstown I -unsurprisingly- couldn't find the hotel or anyone who knew where it was. I finally discovered it was in Tyrrelstown as the address states, and made my way there. Just be aware, you won't be walking to Blanchardstown from this hotel! Other than that the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your online review of the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will have an opportunity to return soon.

Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well done to Minnie at Reception - excellent care and service to us during our stay! Great kids club - good location and great deal including tickets to Tayto Park and National Acquatic Centre! Good family trip all round - well done Carlton.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review which is a pleasure to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. The hotel had a modern feel and the reception staff that met with us were friendly and courteous. We were provided with options on getting to/from Dublin city centre from the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was good and plentiful. Only suggestion would be that the continental options could be better, the options for non fried food were a little limited, but I'm sure if we requested alternative the staff would have tried to accommodate us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your online review of the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will have an opportunity to return soon.

Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My hubby and 2 sons 7 and 13 stayed at this hotel on a 2 night package break which included passes to Tayto park,which was great by the way also passes to the national Aquatic center also great.We found it to be a nice Hotel large and spacious.Our room was lovely perfect for the four of us only so disappointed to find our air conditioning not working.To be honest it spoiled the break,It was during the heatwave and we could hardly breathe I went down to reception very early the first morning only to be fobbed off with "we`re working on it" come on we had good weather for a long time it should have been sorted.I got the smallest fan they could find and it was useless.On a brighter note everything else was great.The food was fab, top class and the staff were nice and helpful in the bar and restaurant.The hotel is situated near everything so its a good location if you have a car.Overall id come again but please get a cocktail menu its the holiday season and us mammy`s like being spoilt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your online review of the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will have an opportunity to return soon.

Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liscannor, co. clare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

our boys are 9 and 10 and just loved our stay at the carlton hotel dublin, we had trips to the zoo, tayto park and aquatic centre, the hotel staff were exceptional, room was clean and tidy on each day return, food was excellent, we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your online review of the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will have an opportunity to return soon.

Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nenagh,co tipperary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel would be ideal if u needed to stay near dublin airport,as it is only a ten minute drive away,we did the explore dublin deal,it included passes to tayto park and the national aquatic centre,kids really enjoyed it,staff were lovely,Apool would be a big advantage to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Many thanks for your online review of the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will have an opportunity to return soon.

Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Address: Church Road, Tyrrelstown D15, Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Tyrrelstown)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tyrrelstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tyrrelstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown is located in the heart of Dublin 15, within short distance of the Blanchardstown, Ballycoolin and Damastown corporate parks and in close proximity to the National Aquatic Centre, Blanchardstown Shopping Centre and Fairyhouse Racecourse. Locatred only 10 mins from Dublin Airport and Under 20 Mins from Dublin City Centre, Also close to the M50 for all major routes running to the north, south and west of the country as well as the entire east coast of Ireland, the Carlton Blanchardstown is easily accessible. Furthermore, its close proximity to the capital opens up vibrant opportunities for theatre trips, museums, concerts and the buzzing nightlife for which Dublin is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Dublin
Park Plaza Dublin
Dublin Park Plaza
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown Tyrrelstown, County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.