We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel-food excellent, staff exceptional and stunning location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel-food excellent, staff exceptional and stunning location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Just back from an overnight stay with my sister and only wish we could have extended our stay!Unfortunately the volcanic ash excuse couldn't be used! Rest, relaxation and pampering were badly needed- Dunboyne Castle Hotel delivered in full. I should add I have stayed in this hotel many times, for both leisure and business purposes, and it never fails to disappoint.Ideally located the hotel is bright,airy and spacious. Staff are extremely helpful- despite our early arrival, our room was ready and waiting.Some wonderful treatments were enjoyed by us in the award -winning Seoid spa..(My sister is expecting and thoroughly enjoyed the 'lady in waiting' spa package)..Spa is spotless and tastefully decorated. Bernadette and Claire go out of their way to ensure your spa experience is a restful one and there is a huge selection of delicious fruit and medley of infusions/juices in the relaxation rooms.
Rooms are beautifully decorated - lovely touches like extra pillows/tea maker/iron are a bonus. Beds are so comfortable, you won't want to leave them..However- the excellent restaurant food may tempt you out of bed! Dining room is very elegant- menu offers great choice. I chose two fish starter / main options and both were sublime. Desserts are equally impressive. As for service- it is excellent, and staff very helpful.Quan,the manageress, is fabulous- so efficient, and professional with guests...nothing is too much trouble.All in all- would recommend this hotel without reservation...a little gem...Perfect for a girly get away or a romantic break...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    271
    127
    72
    30
See reviews for
147
487
30
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed with my wife at the Dunboyne Castle last weekend - primarily for a bit of pampering in their spa!
We were not disappointed. The staff couldn't have done enough for us, from the time we checked in until our departure and the spa treatments we received left us refreshed and relaxed and ready for another few weeks of slog back at work!
The room was spacious and well appointed and I particularly enjoyed the shower in the bathroom.
Food wise, we were more than satisfied - with a good range of options on both evenings at not unrealistic prices.
Very pleased with our experience and we will return........despite the fact that we only live a short distance away, it feels like you are miles from home!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed here for one night with friends, primarily as a Spa break.
Our visit began badly- we had to wait thirty minutes for what turned out to be a very poor afternoon tea. Staff in the hotel lounge were indifferent and were not at all concerned that the long wait had shortened our time in the Spa.
Onwards to the Spa we then went. The Thermal Suite was dirty underfoot, with one steam room not functioning properly and the other was too hot to stay in for more than a couple of minutes. The outdoor hot tub was more of a 'cold' tub and we found the relaxation area of the Spa to be badly maintained, I was shown to a lounger that still had damp towels on it from a previous guest. The only shining light was that the treatments provided were excellent but overall we were left with a bad impression.
Dinner in the hotel was passable, the waiting staff varied between the mildly helpful and downright indifferent.
Breakfast was total chaos, we had to queue for a table and the breakfast foods on offer were scattered throughout the crowded dining room in a haphazard fashion.
Needless to say, we will not be returning, and we will instead add a few miles to our journey and will proceed to Carton House.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strabane co.tyrone ni
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

we had a golfing weekend based in dunboyne castle hotel,the rooms where beautiful and the resturant was first class. the staff where very friendly and helpful. it was an ideal spot to be so close to so many wonderful golf courses. ROLL ON OCTOBER.

billy senior.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

.
I have just returned from Dunboyne Castle hotel I had 2 rooms booked for myself and husband and our friends.. I would never return there again and I would not advise anyone to go either. It lacked any kind of Irish Hospitality, we were not told what time breakfast was or were it was, in the Spa we not shown around or talked to about their products and we did go and ask, so we made a decision not to use the Spa because of this. we were also very annoyed by the lack of hospitality also for dinner in the evening we were just handed menus and not even welcomed to the hotel ,not told which menu we could have and then they tried to charge us over €100 for a meal which was included in our package. Breakfast in the morning was a joke as the tables were not set up properly staff did not understand me when I asked for Pancakes with Maple Syrup, eventually I got through to them but the pancakes were a joke you could bounce them off the table. The porridge was watery gruel, the watermelon in the bowls were off,No breakfast menus on tables, when asked for one it caused a problem but one was found. But the following morning we were told they did not have breakfast menus. The carpets in the dining room and the seating were dirty The lights in the bedrooms were a Joke, we had to take the lampshades off to try and have some light but still this was not great. The hotel in General could do with refurbshing as there is cracked tiles and paint worn off the doors and carpets looked dirty and worn out.. There was also a a sour smell in reception I suspect it was a problem with the drains. We were not the only ones to complain as we saw others talk to the Deputy Manager they had used the Spa and had treatments and were also very annoyed. We spoke to a Deputy Manager who admitted that they had a problem and would leave a letter in our room as to what they were going to do for us. Over the 3 days no letter was left it was only on our departure for check out that we were told that one nights accomadation was taken off our bill. The Deputy Manager and what we think was the General Manager were in the reception when we were departing and made no attempt to come over and ask us how the rest of our stay was. This sent a signal to me that the Managment were not even interested in the hotel either. Avoid Avoid is my advice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed in Dubboyne on Easter Sunday. We availed of the deal of spending €130 which meant the room was free etc. We checked in around lunch time. The lobby was big and spacious but no one seemed to know who was checking who in and there were alot of children running around which I just put down to the Sunday lunch time we arrived.
Went to our room which was nice and spacious and a nice view of the gardens. We got room service which took about 45mins to arrive and then it arrived in 2 goes because they were unable to carry a tray with drinks and food together? This should have come to a total of €30 but we were charged €42 (later corrected)

The Spa was used by my partner and she said this was lovely and couldn't fault it. We then went to the bar where again young kids were just running around and the bar staff weren't the quickest to serve you. Later 4 of us went to the restaraunt for dinner. Firstly we waited a while for our starters which when arrived one was cold and one was the rong dish. While we waited for the right dish to come we finished ours and the other person was left waiting another 10mins. When we asked was it coming we were told "maybe it is" We then got our mains. One of us again getting the wrong order and 2 of us getting the wrong steaks. Why asked how you want it cooked when you won't do it? Dessert then came and one of us basically got a frozen block of baileys not the parfet I was expecting and 2 of us got the wrong ice creams with our dishes. The waitress that did look after our issues was the only redeeming feature of the meal!

We all went for a drink later and to my annoyence the downstairs bar was again full of children and this was after half 10! We went up to the upstairs bar which also had children running around till nearly 1am. Plus the barman in this bar was like the living dead just groaning at you when you'd talk to him

Also the toilet in our room refused to re-fill so we spent the night with the annoying sound of running water and when we mentioned this at check out they just went "Mph"

All in all a poor stay and the hotel need to re-train alot of their staff in customer service and also tell parents that the bar isn't for children after a certain time. Also the setting isn't great if you ask me. One side of the hotel the views etc are fine on the other side your view is of a near by estate

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Beautiful setting just outside Dublin. Stayed here for one night. Hotel was celebrating it's 4th birthday and we availed of a special offer €4 for room if we spent €80 euro in hotel. Staff were very efficent on check in. Beautiful spatious lobby. Room was clean and comfortable with a well stocked fridge, internet access, separate shower and bath. Bathrobes were a nice touch. Dinner was suberb in the restaurant. We thorougly enjoyed our meal. Good selection of food on the menu.
Unfortunately we were woken at 3am by guests in the room next door who were having a party. We were kept awake until 4am. We called reception and the matter was dealt with promptly. At 6.30am we were awoken once again to banging on our door indicating "Room Service". We had not ordered breakfast for 6.30am!! When I opened the door to the waiter and informed him that we had not ordered room service he insisted that we had and then stomped off! We received no apology for the disturbance.
Overall we enjoyed Dunboyne Castle despite the interruptions to our sleep. The rooms need sound proofing to avoid potential disturbance from other guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Address: Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Dunboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Dublin and easily accessible from Dublin Airport, the award-winning four star Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest hotels, set on 21 acres of picturesque tree-lined grounds. With modern architectural design complementing the beautiful décor of the original Dunboyne House, Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa provides a luxurious escape in the tranquil Dunboyne Village, yet close to all the attractions Dublin City offers. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa’s restaurant, The Ivy which has been awarded two AA Rosettes for culinary excellence offers an exceptional dining experience of simple, yet delicious Irish cuisine using top local and seasonal ingredients. Guests can also enjoy the hotel’s light-filled Terrace Lounge, overlooking extensive gardens, where the perfect Afternoon Tea and lighter refreshments are served. Popular with both locals and guests alike, the hotel’s Sadlier Bar is the perfect spot for socalising and enjoying a famous Irish pint. A real treat for guests, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa is also home to the hotel's award-winning Seoíd Spa. The Spa is set over three floors with one of Ireland's most extensive thermal treatment facilities. A real treat for visitors, Seoid Spa and its expert spa team provide a wide range of luxurious relaxing and rejuvenating treatment experiences. Treatments available include bespoke facials, specialised massage, Rasul Chambers, Dry Flotation, Balneotherapy and deluxe Hydrotherapy Pool. Renowned for its friendly service, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa places a real emphasis on excellent service and providing guests with a memorable stay. The hotel offers luxurious modern guest rooms, fabulous Suites with floor-to-ceiling views across the hotel’s spectacular gardens, and the exclusive Syndola Suite, the only suite in Dunboyne House, spanning the entire top floor. Complimentary parking and WiFi is also provided for guests. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa is a very popular destination for meetings and conferences, with its excellent location and extensive meeting and conference facilities, all equipped with the highest technological specifications. All meeting rooms are located near the hotel’s fully equipped Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Dunboyne
Dunboyne Castle Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.