We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Dunboyne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greyabbey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Dunboyne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

I spent a short visit in Dunboyne Castle recently and found the experience very pleasing.
The Reception staff were friendly and more than helpful making arrival easy. The large bedrooms in the cresent shaped accommodation wing were equiped with mini bar, free internet provision, bath robes and slippers. the Bathroom had a large stepin shower, separate bath, good lighting for making up.
The IVY BRASSERIE provided an excellent cooked breakfast and a Continental table depending on choice. In the evening the IVY proved a romantic setting for a la carte or table d hote menus. The lower ground floor had many function rooms, a Spa, hydrotherapy pool and for the less active 2 bars which served food during the day.
The hotel is only a few hundred metres from the town where one can catch a bus to the centre of Dublin. Maynooth university town is a few kilometres south on the road to Newbridge silverware and the Curragh. Fairyhouse is within easy reach to the east of the hotel.
My stay was most enjoyable and will definitely be repeated. I would rate Dunboyne Castle 5 star.

  • Liked — Decor and facilities
  • Disliked — Could have had milk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    271
    127
    72
    30
See reviews for
148
487
30
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa. We had the most relaxing time we could have wished for. The service was first class, the food was excellent and the Spa was "to die for"!! We will certainly be back and have no hesitation in highly recommending the hotel and spa.
Michael and Dianne McCormick, Lisburn, N. Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST, N.IRELAND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

Absolutely first class, 10 out of 10. My husband and I spent 3 nights in Dunboyne Castle, it was our first break away together since our daughter was born. It definitely was what the doctor ordered for us. The Staff were so very helpful and attentive to us from the moment we booked in until we booked out. It is a stunning hotel with the most amazing spa. Steam rooms, Sauna, simming pool, outside hot tube (what more could you ask for) I'm counting the months down until we get another chance to go back!!!

The food is fantastic and my husband is a Chef so he knows good food.

I would recommend Dunboyne Castle to everyone who wants to relax and enjoy being pampered, because we both certainley did!!!

Our parents have booked to go within the next month.

  • Liked — Being totally pampered and the staff were so very helpful
  • Disliked — Have no negative feedback
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

Just a quick thank you to all at Dunboyne Castle. We got a gift of a voucher for Dunboyne. Traveling from Kerry after a long drive, Dunboyne was very impressive. Speedy check in, A lovely room, good food. We enjoyed two fabulous days in the hotel and area. Looking forward to returning to Dunboyne and exploring more of County Meath. Thanks again
Ger and Mary Looney

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Just back from an overnight stay,from the welcome we got in reception through to the treatments in the Spa,couldnt find fault with anything.I forgot to bring swim wear to use the pool & Siobhan managed to locate some for me.The whole spa experience was very worthwhile & relaxing,the staff went the extra mile.We had dinner that night in the Ivy Brasserie & the food itself was fine,nothing extraordinary...but,I found the layout & the actual brasserie itself not a relaxing experience,just rows upon rows of tables,it wasnt in keeping with the rest of the Hotel & it didnt lend itself to a relaxing experience,at times I felt like I was in a school dining hall,which was a shame,we didnt linger over our meal,instead we adjourned to the lounge area,which was much more relaxing.I would come back again for the Spa treatments,I just dont think I would eat there......

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants UK
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

This is perhaps the best hotel I have ever stayed in the sheer ambience blows you away. I found the staff despite other reviews charming in the extreme and very helpful.
The gym however for such a mind blowing hotel could use a bit more kit, and I noted that some of the spa bits and pieces did not seem either hot enough or cold enough, also the leisure facilities should open earlier.
The food is very good, and actually at dinner in the bar you get far too much of it, Irish helpings.
I cant fault it other than above and if I can get the same deal again then I will be straight back.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

We are a group of five co workers and every year we have our 'Christmas Party' in January or February and we stayed here in 2007. From the moment we arrived it was a disaster! It took at least 45 minutes to be checked into our rooms. We had booked a half day of treatments in the Spa - another disaster...we sat around for most of the afternoon, after one or two 'treatments' and still not feeling pampered two of us ordered facials as an extra. What a waste of money! I've had facials in several other hotels but nothing like this it was the quickest slapdash facial I have ever experienced. However we said the dinner would make up all this.....another disaster we could only describe it as 'canteen food' and unfortunately breakfast the next morniing was no better - a poor selection of food and any food there was cold.

We wrote to the manager that day but after several weeks only received a reply similiar to what the management have replied to a few of the unfavourable reviews on this website!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Address: Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Dunboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Dublin and easily accessible from Dublin Airport, the award-winning four star Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest hotels, set on 21 acres of picturesque tree-lined grounds. With modern architectural design complementing the beautiful décor of the original Dunboyne House, Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa provides a luxurious escape in the tranquil Dunboyne Village, yet close to all the attractions Dublin City offers. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa’s restaurant, The Ivy which has been awarded two AA Rosettes for culinary excellence offers an exceptional dining experience of simple, yet delicious Irish cuisine using top local and seasonal ingredients. Guests can also enjoy the hotel’s light-filled Terrace Lounge, overlooking extensive gardens, where the perfect Afternoon Tea and lighter refreshments are served. Popular with both locals and guests alike, the hotel’s Sadlier Bar is the perfect spot for socalising and enjoying a famous Irish pint. A real treat for guests, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa is also home to the hotel's award-winning Seoíd Spa. The Spa is set over three floors with one of Ireland's most extensive thermal treatment facilities. A real treat for visitors, Seoid Spa and its expert spa team provide a wide range of luxurious relaxing and rejuvenating treatment experiences. Treatments available include bespoke facials, specialised massage, Rasul Chambers, Dry Flotation, Balneotherapy and deluxe Hydrotherapy Pool. Renowned for its friendly service, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa places a real emphasis on excellent service and providing guests with a memorable stay. The hotel offers luxurious modern guest rooms, fabulous Suites with floor-to-ceiling views across the hotel’s spectacular gardens, and the exclusive Syndola Suite, the only suite in Dunboyne House, spanning the entire top floor. Complimentary parking and WiFi is also provided for guests. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa is a very popular destination for meetings and conferences, with its excellent location and extensive meeting and conference facilities, all equipped with the highest technological specifications. All meeting rooms are located near the hotel’s fully equipped Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Dunboyne
Dunboyne Castle Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.