We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Club Tamaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Club Tamaris to your Saves list
Valamar Club Tamaris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanterna 6, Tar 52465, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tar
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice resort, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Resort: I’ll start by stating that this is a family orientated resort, so if you have kids then this is the place for you. There are various sporting activities available, such as tennis, trampolines or even bicycle riding. Swimming as mentioned by other reviewers consists of the main pool, a relax pool and a kiddy pool – decent choice that’s accompanied by various beach spots (sand, peddle and some rocky cliff sections too). The resort is surrounded by trees - which is great if you have small children and looking for shade, also gives it that magical/cosy feeling. There’s free sectioned car-parking as well.
Rooms: We counted at least three main sections, the main hotel with your general rooms (singles/doubles etc), the suites and also bungalows. We booked last minute, ended up with a basic twin room which had a balcony & “garden” view – which really is a view of the forest and was nicer than expected. The size of the room is purpose built, it’s small so don’t expect to run laps around your bed. It was just enough but after a week I was looking forward to more space – so if you can, get the family room or a suite etc. Beds were okay, room was clean, towels were good but the shower could do with a few more inches of space. Internet access is available in your room via LAN, Wifi (free) is available in the lobby area (plenty of tables to sit at and do your bits).
Food: This resort has some very nice food, it’s as good as you can probably expect from a buffet style setup and given the size of the place. Some details – Meats: Pork (bacon, pork steaks, pig roast), Beef (roast beef, burgers), Chicken (breast grilled steaks), Fish (various – cod, sword fish, tuna steak and even shrimp). Fruit and veg was always fresh and of good variety. Deserts were limited but some really nice pastries (eg. apple strudel with vanilla sauce) and ice cream for kids. Drinks – soft drinks available from a dispenser but quite sweet – we had to water them down (home label, not real coke or sprite etc). Good strong beer, can’t comment on the wine (don’t drink it). Also you get real coffee, ground fresh coffee – it’s from a self-serving machine but it’s surprisingly good. There’s bre-brewed coffee available if you don’t want to wait in line and it too was quite drinkable. It can get very busy but you’ll get served (usually) very quickly – unless you’re waiting in line for Shrimp 
Summary: Would we go back? Sure, but I’d want a bigger room. It’s a large resort but has vast amount of space to roam about – though as you’d expect the pools do get crowded. Friendly staff and lots of parking if you’re traveling by car. Had a great time overall…

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Snorkeler76,

Thank you for taking time and for sharing such a nice impressions about our resort with the world.

We are glad that we meet your expectations and that you had a nice time here, enjoying our various gastronomic offer and surroundings.

Regarding the room, the next time you’ll come, you can take in consideration to book our Valamar Tamaris Residence (villas) which are spacious like our two depandances (Casa Agava and the new one, Casa Palma) where you can stay and enjoy all the possibilities as like you are in the hotel.

Thank you again to be our dear guest and see you soon!

Best regards,

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
120
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After testing Tunisia, Crete and Majorque the years before, we decided to go to Croatia and were very pleased of our choice. This hotel-club was certainly the best of all four locations. It offers plenty of everything. Plenty of space in the room: we had a very large family room divided in three parts: 2 bedrooms and a living room, which was very convenient as we were traveling with a teenager. Plenty of room in the restaurant as well. It was never a problem to find a table. There was plenty of good food at each meal, with specialty food (Istrian, Italian, ...) from time to time and a gala dinner on Thursdays. There are 2 smaller restaurants where you can have dinner with a simple reservation, one with a grill and the second one for seafood. Plenty of animation, with a show every evening after dinner and a special on Thursdays closed with high-level fireworks. Even though we didn’t try it, the kids seemed to love their Maro club where they were offered plenty of activities. We rather used the facilities offered in the hotel (ping pong, tennis, ...), nautical sports such as wind surfing or simply the beach. The offer was so large we could not test everything and never got bored. On the beach, it is always possible to get a place to stay, even if you arrive at 2:00pm after lunch. Same at the swimming pools. They have 3: one shallow for younger kids away from the others, which is certainly safer, a big one where all sorts of activities and games are organized and a third one more quiet for those who simply want to sleep or read. Istria offers a good deal of nice visit possibilities in addition with small cities such as Porec, Rovinj or further away, Pula. Last but not least, there are plenty of very nice and caring staff to take care of everything: reception, animation, sports, Maro club, restaurant, cleaning and maintenance. You feel their first objective is to have you relax and enjoy your holidays, then make money out of it. Something we appreciated as well, the whole property is perfectly maintained and cleaned, whether in the bedroom or in common grounds such as the restaurant, the pool or even the gardens. The general manager looks quite involved in his job and very successful. In summary, we had the best holiday ever and I will try to go back there sometime in the future. 100% final mark!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear mioule06,

Thank you for being our dear guest, for your fabulous words and for choosing our Valamar Club Tamaris for your vacation.

We are pleased that you enjoy our rich buffet, our beaches and swimming pools, our animation and rooms. It is nice to see such a kind words for all our departments and crew, which is the true and very motivating for us: „You feel their first objective is to have you relax and enjoy your holidays“. Also, your final words: „In summary, we had the best holiday ever and I will try to go back there sometime in the future. 100% final mark!“, made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations.

With the hope to see you soon, kind regards.

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We decided to visit Tamaris in 2012 due to nice memory of staying within 2009. Unfortunately after entering room the brightness picture has been changed to total disappoint:
- it was terrible smell;
- it required renovation of walls;
- gardine had a terrible color and material;
- bathroom...;(((... It could be more clean and also require fresh update;
- in addition the room was on 1st floor over hotel service room, so it was noise from early morning and within a day

Food: definetly you have variety of choices but again if we were not in 2009 I would not recognize that it became more simple; and fruits and vegetables were like a "week fresh".

However still positive:
- location is one of the best from perspective forest-beach-walking-relaxing;
- staff: they are with smile and supportive;
- swimming pool and sauna;
- beach by own and nearby territory

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear NataliaN6726,

Thank you for being our dear guest again and for sharing your impressions. Your comments are important to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously in order to have a pleasure that your next stay here will be beautiful.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Sincerely yours,

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel & residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuid Holland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We are at our end of our nice holiday in Croatia. First time at the Valamar Club Tamaris and it will not be the last. Service is perfect, food is abundant and of good quality, location is ideal nearby Novirad and Porec and exceptional friendly staff always prompt and with a smile. Thanks to Marin, Teresa and Sanja who shown us their friendliness in their service even with our baby.
Choice of swimming in one of the pools or in the sea, and plenty of activities for everyone. Nice idea to have the football corner during the European cup 2012. Valamar Tamaris hotel is an example of how a touristic resort should be. Well done!

Room Tip: Would go for a sea front! You can sit down in the balcony and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Sierra_Foxtrod,

It is a pleasure reading such a great words for the staff and especially the two last sentences: “Valamar Tamaris hotel is an example of how a touristic resort should be. Well done!.„

Our food and our football corner, our pools and sea, our staff and lots of activities are here to provide you a memorable stay.
Thank you for being our dear guest and for sharing your impressions. Hope to see as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Dario Kinkela
General manager
Valamar Club Tamaris hotel & residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed last sept. Rooms great for family, food good all the time. Staff were great to two small kids. Pool always spotless. Great time of year to travel as weather not so hot for small children and hotel not over crowded

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear rundmc1,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your impressions about our Valamar club Tamaris. It is very important to us that you are satisfied with our rooms, food offer, pools children animation (Maro club) and especially with the friendliness of our staff.

We wish to se you again. In the meantime, kind regards and all the best!

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Last September we spend 5 days at Valamar Club Tamaris. We booked Family Tamaris room on all inclusive light basis. I have to say this hotel was a peasent surprise.

Food was very good - fresh and tastefull.

Rooms were nice, but no surplus there. We were lucky and got a room in 3rd floor, so the see view was good.

Stuff was very fiendly to all guests (we are Slovenes). Hotel was full of guests and most were German (very nice people).

The most important thing to point out is that we traveled with 2 kids (1 and 3 years) and had a very relaxed holiday. There are many things for little children. For example in the restaurant there is a special dinning area for children with smaller tables and chairs, small spoons and forks, play corner etc. Around hotel there are lots of small playgrounds for kids and also one big in the shadow. Daycare was organized in a very nice play room (Maro Club). We never left our kids alone there, but we could if we wanted. There was also mini disco.....

What I realy liked were all those green surfaces around hotel. It felt like never ending park. For this reason I would say see view is not a must in this hotel.

Hotel has a pebble beach (very clean and nice), but you can also find sendy beach near by (1-2 minutes walk).

The only crtic I realy have is that pools were not heated. There are 2 pools (activity pool and relaxing pool). Relaxing pool is said to be heated, but was the same temperature as activity one. It was second half of September, we arived after few days of bad weather and see water was much warmer then water in the pools. This should be improved...

At the end I would like to thank Valamar Club Tamaris for wonderful getaway and hopefully we will be back soon.

Tanja
Slovenija

Room Tip: Note that see side oriented rooms do not nessesery have see view. Therefore I would recomand to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Tanja R,
Thanks for a nice words about our property. We are pleased that you chose us to spend your holidays and that you decided to share your impressions.
We are a family oriented hotel resort and your words that you and your family had „a very relaxed holiday“, is our satisfaction. We are happy to see that you enjoyed in our food, our animation and our beaches as well as in our environment.
Regarding the pools, the temperature is measured and according to it, if there is a need, we heat the relax pool. Thank you for the comment, we will pay more attention to it.
We are waiting for you to offer to your family a wonderful getaway!
Best regards,

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August of 2011 with our 2 year old, and this was the best family vacation we had so far. To begin with, the staff was exceptionally polite and that alone is enough to put you into a relaxed-happy-vacation mode. We'll give the 5 stars for service easily! Then, the animation was a lot of fun, every evening something new. The food was delicious and great choice, although deserts were a bit boring - but as far as I am concerned that is not necessarily bad - less temptation to stuff yourself with empty calories. And there was a lot of activities to keep our child entertained, which took off a lot of stress from us. The beach was nice and clean, and there were always available beach chairs - they came at additional small fee, which I believe is the reason for their availability:)
The only thing that wasn't so great is the small size of rooms, and the smoking everywhere outside on hotel property, which means always smoking during evening amination entertainment and anytime you want to lounge outside - people around just smoke away! I really hope they will reconsider that policy - this should not be allowed in a family hotel.
But all in all, we enjoyed our stay and I am sure will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear KASvacation,
I would thank you for being our dear guest and for sharing your opinions with the world. I'm glad to receive such a nice words for my staff … exceptionally polite and that alone is enough to put you into a relaxed-happy-vacation mode …
I'm happy to see that you like our beach, activities and food offer which will be enriched with new things. We improve a part of our complex every year. According to this, this year we enlarge our room offer with a new building with spacious rooms. The hotel rooms are in a renovation plan for the near future. Thank you for the suggestion about smoking, we will take it in consideration.
Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Club Tamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Tamaris

Address: Lanterna 6, Tar 52465, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Tar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Club Tamaris 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Club Tamaris hotel, one of the accommodation choices within the resort, is a firm family favourite located on the scenic Lanterna peninsula, only 10 minutes drive from the historic centre of Porec and surrounded by pine trees and seemingly endless beaches. Its contemporary designed and fully equipped rooms and suites offer a perfect balance of elegance, kid-friendliness and relaxed Mediterranean flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Club Tamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Tamaris Hotel Tar
Valamar Hotel Porec
Valamar Hotel Tamaris
Valamar Club Tamaris Croatia/Tar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Club Tamaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.