We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good hotel in a funny location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casino Hotel Mulino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casino Hotel Mulino to your Saves list
Casino Hotel Mulino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skrile 75a, Buje, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buje
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good hotel in a funny location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Out of all the hotels we've been to so far, this one was most unusual, but in a positive way. First, it’s located right near the Croatian - Slovenian border, second it's definitely casino hotel, third whether you like the design or not (for us it was a little bit too much of bling-blings all the way) - you can see it's expensive (they even have a Swarovski like crystal on the top of the toilet brush). The room was quite spacious, the bed was really huge, the bathroom had all you need and they even changed our towels every day. The breakfast was good and the staff very polite. Actually, the only negative thing is the location, but if you have a car you can easily get anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The service was excellent: professional, efficient, nice and kind.

The room was not so big but the bed was huuuuuge! The interior of rooms and bathrooms is a little bit "funny": cristal, gold, marble...too much, for my taste. But the room had everything you need and expect to have in a 5* hotel. The TV is big and has an OK choice of program.

The location is awful: next to Croatian-Slovenian boarder, you must have a car to get anywhere. The terase of the restaurant has a bad view .

The hotel has a great outdoor and indoor swimming pool with a beautiful decoration and a great wellness and spa.

What we definitely liked the best was the breakfast! I had never had such a choice of food: you can have ANYTHING you want! And the coffee is great! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Travelled to this hotel as part of our honeymoon. Had decided to bus in from Treiste to Rovinj and Buje happened to be on the way. Picked this hotel as a stop over point (as in on the way) arrived to Buje and low and behold the hotel was not in the town. It was a good ten minute drive away from Buje. We were stranded, only for the bus driver calling the hotel, and i bringin the hotel number with me. They had to come get us and asked how come we ended up in Buje- perhaps cause you web site says you are there???

Anyway, on the plus side the hotel is lovely. Room had a bit of a funny smell??? Very spacious. Food was lovely and service was very good. Casion was good but very quiet at the time of year. The spa and pool was great- it rained while we were there but we stayed at the indoor pool.

Would i go back- probably not. In the middle of nowhere- DEFO DEFO DEFO need a car. We didnt know that before hand.

Kinda felt like i was on a boat, only because we had nowhere to go and it rained so couldnt go outside.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

We have just returned from a two week stay in Croatia with our time being equally divided between Istria, Split and Dubrovnik. Our first few nights were spent in the Mulino Casino Hotel and Spa in the very north of Istria and overlooking the Slovenian border. 5 star hotels are difficult to find in Istria but we were very fortunate to choose this hotel. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient and our room and facilities were excellant. The hotel is very much located in the country side so if you are looking for a beach hotel this is not for you. However the use of a golf buggy during our stay allowed us to explore the forest tracks. We hired a car, again arranged very efficiently by the hotel staff, and we were able to explore the coast from Umag to Porec to Rovinj very easily in a day. The hotel is so close to the Slovenian and Italian border but our time did not permit a visit to either. Something to do the next time! A BIG plus was a very well run, quiet casino which accomodated the big spender or. like us, someone just wanting to have a little flutter.

This hotel is operated and run by the owner ........ and that shows in the quiet efficiency of the hotel.

Ask at reception for directions to a lovely village restaurant just 10 minutes by car from the hotel

A special thank you to Vesna on reception for looking after us and arranging an excellant guide / driver to take us to Rijeka for our overnight cruise to Split.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and efficiency of hotel
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buje
5.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
5.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 16 in Umag
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#4 of 16 in Umag
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Nautica
Hotel Nautica
#1 of 14 in Novigrad
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
17.1 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel Mulino

Address: Skrile 75a, Buje, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Buje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Hotel Mulino 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casino Hotel Mulino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casino Hotel Mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.