We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky are we ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cottage in the Wood to your Saves list
The Cottage in the Wood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holywell Road, Malvern Wells, Great Malvern WR14 4LG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Break!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“How lucky are we ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We live just over the hill from The Cottage but we do keep our visits for special treats. We celebrated our first wedding anniversary there last month and enjoyed it so much returned for my birthday treat last Thursday.
It really is very special, the service, friendliness and food are all superb. On mentioning our anniversary we had not expected the lovely greetings card which was placed on our table. These little extras do add up and show the care and attention given to making guests welcome. Sitting on the terrace sipping champagne, with the wonderful view ( which we never tire of even though we are local ) is the stuff of dreams. I dont think the Queen of Sheba had it this good. Many thanks. xx ps can't comment on the rooms as we went home to bed, all of 10 minutes away :o).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Sue (my wife) and I have a few special places where we like to go to celebrate the special days such as anniversaries so I'm very pleased that you see The Cottage in the Wood in that light.
Belated "happy birthday" from me too! We look forward to looking strafe you on your next special day. Thank you for the review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    116
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
67
392
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Cottage in the Wood last weekend with a group of 10 friends for our wedding anniversary. The setting and the view from the hotel are outstanding probably the best in the UK, certainly the best view of any hotel we have stayed at. The staff and service are both excellent and all our frequent requests at odd times for tea, coffee, drinks and food on the terrace for the large group were completely satisfied by the very efficient staff. We dinned in the restaurant on the Saturday night with a special table for 12 set out for us. Again the service was outstanding and the food delicious.

I understand the hotel is a family business and this shows in the attention to detail and the quality of service.

We highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly return in the near future.

A big thank you Cottage in the Wood for making our wedding anniversary a wonderful occasion.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the view from room 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Firstly, Happy Anniversary! Secondly, I'm delighted that a special occasion was a rip-roaring success - even the weather behaved! I'm also very pleased the team met your requests in full. We are of the "the answers yes, now what is the question?" mentality which I shorthand to "if we can we will". Also, I'm delighted you are keen to return. That's always the best thing to hear from a guest. Many thanks for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Super hotel, great views from our room, loved it. Super hotel, great views from our room, loved it.Super hotel, great views from our room, loved it.Super hotel, great views from our room, loved it.Super hotel, great views from our room, loved it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Super review, many thanks, loved it! Super review, many thanks, loved it! Super review, many thanks loved it!
Hope to see you again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It was a long shot when we booked this B & B since we had no frame of reference in Malvern Wells but we were pleased with our overnight accommodation. This is a service driven, small B & B located above the town of Malvern. The staff was quite helpful on arrival and all during our 24 hour stay. The views were spectacular, the grounds lush with gardens and foliage. Dinner was excellent. We had a large dinner party and the wine list, dinner choices, and service was well done. I would stay here again and would heartily recommend this to anyone traveling to see the lovely sites in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for recommending us in your review. You are right, it is a beautiful(and largely unknown) part of the world. Coming originally from the Home Counties, we fell just in love with it. As you travel across the Malvern Hills into Herefordshire you enter the least spoilt English county with maybe the exception of Northumberland. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the gathering.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very obliging service. Took two guests who wanted a variation to the Menu sandwich choice and it was no trouble to accommodate them.
One of the most stunning of views from this hotel and with easy access to the hills.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your lunch - and the view - and that flexibility in providing what you wanted was evident. And so it should be! That's what we are here for, "if we can we will" is our motto. Many thanks for the review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have just stayed there, from the minute I checked in I found everything to be excellent. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, they make every effort to make you feel at home. A really relaxing place, good food, a great wine cellar and the views are stunning!
Lovely breakfast with locally sourced produce. I have booked again next year and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and even more that you have booked for next year.
We'll be kept on our toes to ensure the repeat visit is every bit as good as the first if not even better. Many thanks for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martletwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have just spent two nights here with lovely weather to boot. Right from the start you can tell that you are going to be looked after and provided with lovely food. For the wine connoisseur, look no further - you are not given a wine list, rather a bible to take to bed with you and read! How refreshing to find a family run business who care desperately about their customers. We stayed in one of the ground floor Pinnacle rooms with a patio overlooking the fabulous views. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
I've had a real lift from this review (for which many thanks) and the one below as both say we the family and the team really care. We do and I'm so pleased it shows. Of course I'm even more delighted that you enjoyed your stay and my wine "bible". If not a bible, at least an effective doorstop! We look forward to your return.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells, Great Malvern WR14 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly set high above the Severn Plain with 30 mile views to the Cotswold Hills that form the horizon. Unpretentious, comfortable, friendly hotel with a reputation for consistently good food (two AA rosettes) and a 500 bin wine list. Direct access to the Malvern Hills. Close to Three Counties Showground. Family owned and run for two generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.