We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Save Saved
You added The Cottage in the Wood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holywell Road, Malvern Wells, Great Malvern WR14 4LG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explorers break!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Malvern Wells
Dudley, West Mids
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a one nights stay at the Cottage in the Wood and I can honestly say it's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. If you are in any doubt about whether or not to book this hotel, then believe me you won't regret it!

Let's start with the positives;

Location - breathtaking
Room - clean, spacious, well equipped, comfortable
Food - fantastic, high quality
Service - faultless
Value for money - it's not cheap but you get what you pay for
Overall - very impressive

There are no negatives.

We cannot wait to return - hopefully for longer next time!

Thank you Cottage in the Wood, you have made this weekend a very memorable one.

Mr & Mrs Sharratt.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are more expensive but the views are extraordinary - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. We now have something to live up to to ensure no negatives when you return! We'll be here to welcome you and as you said, hopefully for more than just the one night. The area is rich in things to do - in fact we have a six page leaflet highlighting many of the attractions, houses, gardens, car drives etc.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    100
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
332
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

beautiful setting on the slopes of the malvern hills looking out directly towards bredon hill. Our first stay as an anniversary treat for 2 nights.very friemdly family run hotel with delightful accomodation in the pinnacle .ideal walking straight out onto jubilee hill from either side of hotel. the food was excellent and for breakfast there was plenty of choice.would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Happy anniversary! I'm glad a memorable date was enjoyed. Many thanks for posting a review. The walks from our grounds are really enjoyable and can be just a stroll to the top or something much more serious as the range of the Malvern Hills is 9 miles long.Haste ye back as my Scottish friends would say!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here with friends. We stayed in Beech Cottage, the bedrooms were pretty, beds comfortable and everything was exceptionally clean. There are stunning views from most rooms and from the light and airy Dining Room. The cooked breakfasts were extremely good and the evening meals were excellent. There is a cosy Bar
but only for residents. Every member of staff we met was very pleasant and only too pleased to answer questions. I would recommend this super family-run Hotel to any of my friends and tell them not to forget their walking shoes. What more can I say?

Room Tip: The whole Hotel is quiet. When booking ask for a room with a view, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We have now been here for nearly 26 years and extend to the third generation as two of our grandchildren work part time! Equally, our team all act as if they are family and care passionately about what they do. Very pleased you'll recommend to your friends - you must be confident enough to think you won't lose them as friends!! Yes, walking boots or stout shoes are a good idea so you can enjoy the walks on the Malvern Hills from our grounds. Thank you for posting a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for a Hotel, restaurant with quality service, first class cuisine, comfort of a very high standard, then this is the place to visit. The location of this Hotel is stunning with views to die for! This is a family run hotel and we found every member of staff friendly and most helpful. We fe lot the prices to be very reasonable considering the standards we enjoyed, certainly revisit in the future.

Room Tip: Any room at the front is blessed with stunning views in any of the Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
One of the best things for me to hear is "we will return". Of course some people never go back anywhere however good the experience has been. However, if like Sue and I you find a bolt hole that suits you it can become a regular haunt. We find we slip into the break much quicker and relax quicker. Delighted you enjoyed the views and found the team all helpful. Thank you for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

we had an overnight stay with our 6 month puppy in the most comfortable room with amazing views. Our room was in the Pinnacles. Everywhere was spotless with no doggy smells although they were catered for with bed provided, poo bags and biscuits. There were french doors out to a patio and you were in the wood with wonderful walks in seconds. The room was of a high standard and quite large with everything you could wish for. The biscuits were delicious. They even provided fresh milk in a communal fridge for people(us) who hate the UHT milk. We hope to be back soon for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the pinnacles have a better view although you have a short walk outdoors for your breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We have always owned dogs and so few hotels genuinely welcome them. We have had virtually no issues over the 25 years we have been here. In fact we've has more issues with humans!!!
We often find ourselves with our dog ostracised and put in some small, poky room. We do have specific dog designated rooms but that is really because some people are allergic. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for posting a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We first visited Malvern to look round the Morgan factory a few years ago. We are keen walkers and were struck by how similar Malvern is to North Devon. If you love Lynton & Lynmouth you will love the Malvern Hills. The only thing lacking is the rushing rivers which are such a feature in North Devon. For walkers, Cottage in the Wood is ideally placed, not quite midway North to South, but quite a way up the hillside and facing East. This means that the sun rises through your bedroom window, and you can see for miles both from the bedrooms and from the dining room. The food is really excellent. A good selection and very well cooked and presented. The chocolate ganache is arguably the best we've had anywhere. The wine list is extraordinary, and clearly compiled by a wine buff. If you like your wine, and we do, you should ask to see the list well in advance of your meal to do it justice. The dining room is modern and airy with large windows so that all diners can enjoy the magnificent views. Nice touches in the rooms are home made biscuits, and fresh milk is available for tea making. There are two rear access points onto the hills from the hotel grounds, and it's possible to walk to the Northern extremity of the hills, or the Southern extremity in one day. The hotel will provide you with packed lunches if booked the day before, which are also highly recommended. This Hotel is a walkers paradise, but if you prefer to relax, the stunning views and the terraces will provide a welcome break from the hustle & bustle of daily life.

Room Tip: The rooms in "The PInnacles" have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
No rushing rivers I'm afraid - or sea - but the Severn is just across the valley and can be seen when in flood. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the walks. Some guests arrive here and don't get back in their car until it's time to leave. As for the wines, that's my domain as it were, Dominic my son is Head Chef and runs that section and I do the wines. Great fun! Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

wonderful views,and walks in the Malvern hills straight from the hotel.We have just returned from 2 nights in this comfortable hotel.Dinner was an event in itself,, beautifully presented. An amazing wine list . I wish I could afford to try some of them though the house wines were more than adequate Housekeeping is of the highest quality. All in all a most relaxing break at a very reasonable price.Having stayed there several times we will certainly do so again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. House wines should always be more than adequate. I spend a disproportionate amount of time searching for good, affordable house wines. It's amazing to see what out of a £5 bottle is for the actual contents. You then realise there's no such thing as quality wine at under a fiver (unless on offer of course). Delighted you returned to us and that we haven't succeeded in putting you off another visit!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells, Great Malvern WR14 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly set high above the Severn Plain with 30 mile views to the Cotswold Hills that form the horizon. Unpretentious, comfortable, friendly hotel with a reputation for consistently good food (two AA rosettes) and a 500 bin wine list. Direct access to the Malvern Hills. Close to Three Counties Showground. Family owned and run for two generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.