We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vantage point and lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood

Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood
Holywell Road, Malvern Wells, Great Malvern WR14 4LG, England
+44 1684588860
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing vantage point and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The outlook from the terrace and window tables in the restaurant have an amazing landscape view of this beautiful area.
Limited tables outside and in window so you would need to book these in advance. Service was good. Inside seating area is little old fashioned but cosy.
The restaurant itself is very contemporary and the food was very traditional English but was cooked very well. The only criticism is one guest asked for her beef to be well done and it was burned on the edges and not edible. Another guest in our party had the beer medium to rare as recommended and it was beautiful. Would visit again though. Worth noting that on a Sunday they only have a set menu, no light lunches, but the restaurant has v good air conditioning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I'm sorry that one of your party had poor beef and I hope you informed one of the team and that something was done about it. However, pleased all the other dishes were fine. Thank you for pointing it out to me. Silence equals "all is well" so I would have blundered on in ignorance.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    23
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glocs
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hideaway location, great food, good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked for summer Sunday lunch, with celebration in mind,and were not disappointed! Discreet and immaculately served, the menu was varied, with the option of two or three courses. Only one of our party managed a dessert course, so generous and delicious were the first two! Salmon terrine starter was delicate and light, the soups fresh and full of flavour. Beef and pork mains were of excellent quality and presented with excellent saucing and trimmings and varied crunchy vegetables. Our vegetarian was very pleased with her gnocchi dish; and special diet requests were confidently catered for, since every part of the menu is made in-house. We chose a South African Rose wine, not too expensive, and a good choice, as it complemented each of our meals and was beautifully served.
The desserts include tartes and ice-creams and hot alternatives. I liked the sound of the very special bread & butter pudding, but decided to save this treat for next time! The view across to Bredon Hill and beyond from the French windows and the outside terrace- is exceptional- on a fine day. Make this your next booking - we definitely shall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I'm so pleased your special Sunday lunch visit was much enjoyed. We obviously shot ourselves in the foot by filling you up with the first two courses - a far cry from those awful Nouvelle Cuisine days!
Thank you for your detailed review. We hope to welcome you back 'ere long.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very nice Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a surprise for my Birthday my husband made a reservation at the Cottage in the Wood Outlook Restaurant. As we're new to Malvern this was a very pleasant surprise as we live less than a mile away.
The surroundings and atmosphere were very good and the food was excellent, even manage three courses which is most unusual.
One slight fault was that the first two courses came in quick succession, a breather in between would have been appreciated. We suggested this before deciding on a pudding and the staff were very happy to oblige.
A very definite yes for special occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I guess it's too late to wish you happy birthday but I'm delighted you enjoyed your first visit to "Outlook". Timing is always a bit tricky. I like to be leisurely at dinner but some think we are forgetting them if we are slow. Please do say you'd like a break before the main course on your next visit. What actually happens is that the chef on main courses will begin the cooking when the starters are called away as some need 10/15 minutes or more and then to rest before serving. This can go wrong if the guests are slow eaters or are delayed by a phone call or somesuch.
Still, that's our problem, not yours!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“exciting fathers day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

it was a very nice ambiente, friendly staff and a delicious meal. we're looking forward to visiting you once again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I'm very pleased to read you enjoyed your Fathers Day meal. We and the team are keen for people to enjoy the whole experience - not just the food or the wine list or the view but the entire occasion.
Thank you for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“choices galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

a super place to eat, lots of care taken i.e. how pink do you like your duck?care taken with feasting the eyes before a bite is taken and all dinning room and kitchen staff seemed to care about your experience in their care.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, General Manager at Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We all do care about the guest experience as a whole not just say the food part of it. Dining should be an experience and a good one at that!!!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood also viewed

Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 

Been to Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlook at The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.