We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witley Court & Gardens

Witley Court & Gardens
Worcester Rd, Great Witley WR6 6JT, England
44-1299-896636
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

lovely place to visit and walk away the time. Great tea shop too. The grounds are beautiful and even more so if the sun is shining

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    78
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely day out in good weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a warm day wandering around the grounds, visiting the tea room and looking at the house remains. There we're some ramps but you needed to walk a bit further and there is only stair access to the building. We carried our pushchair up and had a look around and it was interesting to listen to the recorded info which was included in the price.
Great place to picnic, especially if you can time your visit to coincide with the fountain being switched on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really nice day out especially if the sun is shining, dont miss the fountain, the grounds are great for kids to run around and the little cafe by the church is great

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“The fountain alone is worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The weather was glorious and a blue sky made a tremendous backdrop to the wonderful fountain, which alone warrants a visit to this English Heritage site. Yes, the place is a ruin, but there are ruins and ruins, this one is in such marvellous condition that I could easily imagine exactly what it was like in its heyday. The site is plenty big enough for children to let off steam without spoiling a day out for adults and there are woodland walks too. I plan to go back in snow - great Christmas card shots for photographers and the vision of rhododendrons and camellias in spring put it on my visiting list for next year. Don't miss the church - the rather plain exterior hides a real gem, and I have to be honest, the volunteers at Witley Court are some of the friendliest I've ever met.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the Poseiden fountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been visiting this place since I was very young and apparently my grandmother and grandfather went to a ball here many years ago and before that a member of the family used to make boots for the family! There is a lovely place next door which does lovely meals and cakes etc and you are well-looked after. Lovely inside or outside and beautiful garden. Witley Court gardens are beautiful and they are finding the original gardens and bringing them back to life. At certain times of the day they turn on the Poseiden fountain on and it sounds like a train! Very interesting even though it is a ruin and in beautiful surroundings which they are improving all the time. A wonderful day out all round and apparently people get married there too!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witley Court & Gardens also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Harvington, Worcestershire
 
Great Witley, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Witley Court & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witley Court & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.