We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headingley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Headingley Lodge to your Saves list
Headingley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Headingley Carnegie Stadium | St Michaels Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3BR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great views, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Came here for my stag do on and thoroughly recommend. Great views from the windows (only drawback is you can't get out on to the balcony so have to watch the cricket behind glass). The price at £55 a night is a bargain and the beds are large and comfy. Really clean and our room was well stocked with the basics of tea, coffee and water. Would highly recommend and the staff are really helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view so go for the £55 ones - they were the same as the £75 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    58
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
24
64
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely big clean rooms with fantastic views over the cricket ground. Only draw back is you have to watch the game from behind glass as you are not allowed onto the balcony seating outside your window , However great place to stay if you are a cricket fan. Had an allergic reaction to the shower gel provided in the bathroom so if you have sensitive skin I suggest you take your own. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definately stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel whilst visiting our daughter who is a student at Leeds University. The rooms are huge the beds are large and comfortable the shower is excellent and the staff are friendly and accomodating. The views are amazing and you can spend hours watching the groundsmen tending to the green of Headingley cricket stadium. The whole experience is restful and relaxing in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Headingley. Headingley is a diverse mix of old and quirky, student and middle age. It has a wide choice of restaurants and cafes and even has a cinema in addition to the numerous bars and nightlife. From Headingley you can easily visit Leeds by bus or visit the Yorkshire Dales, Harrogate,Skipton, Ilkley and The Salts Mills near Bradford.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights whilst at a conference. Massive bed in a very comfortable room. Great shower and the views of the cricket stadium were immense. Friendly front desk staff and a couple of minutes walk to some nice bars. All in all, fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This has to be the most under-sold hotel I've stayed in and the value is amazing as it comes with wi-fi and parking, making it cheaper than most Travelodges or budget hotels. If more people knew it existed I am sure it would be significantly more expensive.

Basically, it's corporate hospitality boxes at Headingley cricket ground that are converted into hotel rooms when there isn't a major match on such as a test match or one day international. You are quite literally overlooking the cricket pitch so this is a dream hotel for any sports fan.

Bearing in mind the cost, the service is excellent. Parking and wi-fi are included in the price and the hotel is very close to Headingley town centre where there are amples of food and drink options. The rooms have fridges and huge beds.

The staff are extremely friendly, answer any questions and go out of their way to help - I asked for an iron expecting to have to collect it from reception, and the receptionist knocked on the door 2 minutes later with an iron.

If I absolutely had to knit-pick, the bathroom was a little squashed, the shower will spray outside the shower door unless you close it at lightening speed and the bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning.

I cannot recommend this place enough, get in there before they jack the prices up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Yes, the views over Headingley are superb and everyone should stay here once. But the rooms were effectively designed as hospitality suites and the soundproofing between rooms is not as good as you would expect in a "normal" budget hotel. Even at a "normal" volume, TV noise permeates through the walls, and luckily our neighbours did not engage in any other noisy activity.
Because the rooms are so cheap - and of otherwise good quality for the price - and because of the location, I suspect that many guests do indeed spent much of the evening in their rooms watching TV and eating a takeaway. If that is what you want, fine, otherwise, be warned!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is my second time staying at Headingley Lodge and it never disappoints. Budget hotel price, but the quality of the accommodation is much better than any Travel Lodge or equivalent I've stayed in. The rooms are very clean, bathrooms are a great size and you get the fantastic view of the cricket ground. I would highly recommend Headingley if you're staying in Leeds even though it's a little bit out of the centre.

Room Tip: 3rd floor seems to be the best as you'll get a better view of the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Headingley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headingley Lodge

Address: Headingley Carnegie Stadium | St Michaels Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Headingley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Headingley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headingley Hotel Headingley
Headingley Lodge Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headingley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.