We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Villa Hotel

Oak Villa Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Oak Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   55 - 57 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Headingley B&B and Inns
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here the weekend of 20th January 2013 with my Mum and Sister. It was a girlie weekend for my our Mum's Birthday. The hotel was just a short bus ride from Leeds City Centre. The location was ideal. Yes, the hotel looks a little dated but it was very clean with a small and friendly atmosphere. The breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and as much or as little as you wanted. I would definately stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    9
    16
    23
See reviews for
9
15
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staff were very friendly and dealt with our requests when needed.
Our accommodation was not ensuite but had 3 shower and toilets on our floor (between maybe 8 rooms) and had a sink in the bedroom.
Was very basic and very dated. Bedding was clean but room had definitely not been cleaned with a broken cabinet, dirty walls, marked mirrors and the floor needed cleaning.
Also, there were many bugs in the bedroom, especially ladybugs (we stayed in winter)
We did pay very little for the room so did not expect things to be perfect, only wish it had been cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

wanted to be in the Headingley area, property was reasonably priced. Was in a single ensuite room. The room was freezing and extremely worn and dated. Room required a good clean as it was tired and dusty 70s style furniture, bathroom was very dark and smelled foisty. Staff just interested in getting your money. Had a really poor night as the heating was off when I got back at 10.30 and stayed off untill 7.50 Sunday morning I was so cold I found it difficult to sleep. Breakfast mostly cold and poor quality, I had much better at Morrison's Asda.I had checked out by 9am, wish I had not bothered staying there and driven home on sat night.

Room Tip: leave well alone!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wanted to be near the stadium on this occasion. So oak villa was available. Granted it was cheap but not clean. We had our own bathroom. But the one for everyone else's use was right next to us. Squeaky floorboards we heard everyone going in there. There was dust behind the door, don't know when it was last hoovered! The shower hadnt been cleaned. There was hair on the glass. Hair on the bed and stains on the towels.

We certainly would pay for a taxi from the centre to the stadium if we go back. I couldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Grubby, tired and dusty. This is not a hotel. Room one of the more expensive en-suites. Mouldy walls inside room, furniture both very worn and cheap and dated (lace doilies to protect melamine?). Plastic ferns and flowers in room. Room wouldn't lock on inside, but the smell would have driven intruders off. Security is a minimum surely? Had to sleep with chair wedged under door handle. Room very cold. No Wi-Fi. Sheets laundered and carpet vacuumed. Nice if frazzled woman running it- seemed to be doing everything. Low quality food at breakfast and if you wanted more toast etc, a surcharge of £4 per person! No real choice (pastries?) and had to ask for marmalade. Breakfast coffee was instant but served in a pot! Had the feeling of a local authority B+B. Laughably bad if it wasn't so unpleasant. Bore no relation to its description, poor and no value for money at all. I'd have been better burning £60, sleeping in the car and getting breakfast at cafe down the road.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were visiting relatives who live nearby, and were looking for a place with a family room that could sleep 4 but had one double and two singles. This one did. Location is pretty easy to find with a map, has parking, beautiful gardens, great hot breakfast. Room was not en-suite, but bathrooms were plenty in the hallway. It wasn't particularly busy, so we didn't have to worry about bathroom queues. They do NOT supply soap and shampoo, so bring your own. (Or, if they did, it was one of those mini-packets. I mean, two mini-packets for 4 people? Are they mad?) But, for one night, no prob. Decor is, as others have noted, very "twee". Or "quaint" in American terms. Or "old-fashioned" if you're cynical. I found it hilarious. Loved it! Beautiful building. Would I go again? Yep. Next time we visit above mentioned relatives, this one will be high on our list.

Room Tip: Bring your own soap and shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here as it's close to Headingley for graduation. I could hear the traffic and celebrating students during the night (but it was graduation week!). It could do with re decoration as it is very dated, but it was ok for what we needed. It was clean however, breakfast was good and the owner was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Villa Hotel

Address: 55 - 57 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Oak Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Leeds
Oak Villa Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.