We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Haley's Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
6 - 10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Beaulieu
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Really good rooms, clean, spacious. Did not eat at restaurant, ate in Leeds city centre as more lively. Recommend to anyone , good value too. Good breakfast in restaurant. Friendly staff , good location central but quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Maybe we can tempt you to eat in the restaurant next time. We have a good A La Carte menu also a weekly T.D.H menu.

Best wishes

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
57
70
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This review is a bit delayed! We got married at Haley's last September and returned this weekend to celebrate our first anniversary.
It's a great venue for a wedding of up to 40 day guests, more than this and the reception would be cramped. The staff were friendly and helpful both on the day and also prior to (even with my numerous questions!). Most importantly they were flexible. We went a bit 'off menu' with some of the meal options - we requested Yorkshire puddings for starter which were amazing on the day! Also we opted for bacon/sausage butties and chips for the evening meal rather than the buffet options given. Haley's were happy to oblige and we were more than happy with the food on the day.
My only quibble was that we had after ceremony drinks (pimms) which were just left on a table rather than handed out so our guests didn't realise they were there.
We returned yesterday and enjoyed the Sunday carvery. The food again was great.
There's no bar or food served on a Sunday evening so you will need to venture out but there are numerous bars in headingley within easy walking distance.
We had the same room as we had last year (one of the turret rooms) which was nice and spacious.
Overall the hotel is nicely decorated and clean and we have enjoyed both of our visits here

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi, Sorry about the Pimms at your wedding, your comments have been noted.

Thank you for your review.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are plenty of "Chain" corporate hotels in Leeds as you would expect.
I personally cannot abide them and always try to find something more personal.
Haley's fits the bill---individual clean and comfortable rooms(great Shower).
The staff are very friendly and a pleasant bar/lounge area to relax at reasonable prices.
The building is super and located in the leafy suburbs and very quiet--but within reach of other Pubs/restaurants(which I dined in) and a small taxi trip into the City centre if you so desire.

Breakfast/check-in+out was hassle free---stairs with cases can be hard to navigate---but it's a small price to pay to be away from the "plastic" soulless chains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Nice to read your comments.

Thank you Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPont, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just spent one night as we were traveling through Leeds. The room was clean, comfortable and good size. We had a tower room on the second floor. Climbing the stairs with suitcases can be a pain, so keep that in mind when booking. We arrived around 8:30 and found the parking lot almost full. The receptionist kept us waiting while she was talking with a staff person. Overall, I'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Sorry about the delay you experienced at reception I hope it wasn't too long. Thank you for your review.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very well located - quiet at night but close to all attractions. We had a superior room which was large and comfortable. We stayed at the weekend and the rate was very good value. In places the building could use a little TLC, for example replace the dead light bulbs in the bar! Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you. Watch out for a change of specification and description of bedroom types in the new year.

Gordon Jowett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very pleasant place, nice garden in front, good bar, filling breakfast, nice staff, free parking on site, great location (beautiful, quiet street, near transport, shops, everything). Excellent bed and shower, spotless sheets and towels! Felt at home, but better.
If, anything, the room could have been a little bit larger, but nothing to bother really!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Nice to hear you found the staff nice and helpful. We look forward to a revisit in the future.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed just one night in September 2013. Easy to find, parking available on site, reception in main building. Receptionist pleasant but not effusive. Our room in Bedford House next door. Nice large room, clean, comfortable bed. Towels rather thin. No hot water on arrival but dealt with immediately. Tea/coffee and kettle in room. Room a bit chilly but the radiator responded quickly.
Buffet breakfast adequate, lots of choice of cereal but no fresh fruit. Had to fetch own cups and saucers and make own tea. Would have been nice if served to table. Boiled eggs cooked when requested. Fine for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
You are right we do have a tea and coffee station so you can have as much to drink as you wish.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the main.

Many thanks

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6 - 10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.