We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Haley's Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
6 - 10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in a 'de luxe double' (room 2) which was spacious, clean, and featured a wide-screen TV. The bathroom was small but big enough. Overall, our stay was good value at £79 per night for two with B&B (and the bonus of free parking). Didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but there was a well-stocked breakfast bar and the option of a 'full English'. We were told that the restaurant wouldn't be open on Sunday, but not that the bar would be closed as well - which came a a bit of shock after a hard day visiting relatives!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, Sunday night being one of our quietest nights you are right we do not open the restaurant, however i am sorry to hear that the receptionist on durty didn't offer to get you drinks from the bar. The night porter who takes over at 11 is authorised to serve from the bar.

Hope you come to see us again in the near future.

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
57
70
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Currently lying on bed in room 5, distinctly underwhelmed by Haley's which is a real disappointment after reading some of the reviews.

In summary:-
Positives...
Great location close to Headingley's shops and restaurants etc. good links into city centre.
Very polite and helpful young barman.
Free parking.
Plenty of hot water, good water pressure.
Opening windows.

Negative...
Very abrupt and scruffy receptionist, didn't even greet us, just waited for us to speak.
Bar area very dated and very limited selection of draught, bottled beers and no cocktails etc.
Room 5 was a decent size but very dated with mismatched soft furnishings/curtains etc.
Uncomfortable bed.
Ridiculously dusty curtains, carpets and upholstery on chairs - we were sneezing within 10 minutes of arrival.
Small towels.

We would not stay here again that's for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
This booking was rather odd, it was booked through an agency and made by a third party.
\the details on the booking were to pay for a standard double bedroom,but requested a de-luxe room.I can only yhink the Smiths have stayed before

The receptionist made a comment on the n stem that the Smiths were rude when booking on arrival, (no love lost there). They were offered a cot for the young child but declined the offer.

As for the bar which is newly decorated (4 months ago) and all the public areas have been re-carpeted at the same time. We have three draught beersi.e. Fosters, Kronenbourg and John Smiths also a selection of bottles at draught prices, Old Speckled Hen, Bombardier, Theakstons Old Peculier, Newcastle Brown Ale and a special draught style Guinness.

In addition a choice of bottle lagers and that is not to mention 4 Whisky blends and 6 single malts, not bad for a small hotel. As for cocktails we are possibly not the best, although our barman did offer to do his best but this was turned and a bottle of cider was requested instead.

I did check the bedroom in question and found it to be clean and tidy and not dusty.

The building dates back to the 1800's and the furniture is a mix of victorian and more modern.
If you are booking for a Travellodge it could be that Haley's Hotel is not for you.

We feel that this review is misleading and unfair.

Regards
Gordon (proprieter)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We returned here with an elderly relative in May 2012 having stayed the previous November. We booked a double room and a single room for our relative which as per our request were adjacent to each other. Our relative's single room was spacious and very comfortable. Unfortunately the double room we were given was room 7 which has received less favourable reviews on here. We have to concur with other reviewers - it is not their best room and is a shame as we really like this hotel. The bed is slotted between an abundance of fitted wardrobes, and is rather small. There were still holes in the ceiling where we assume spot lights should be and the bedside lights didn't work. This room would be better served as a large single room in our opinion. However we were only there for two nights and were very busy so it didn't detract from our stay, but would have should we have been staying longer.

The breakfast was delicious and again we had the sunday carvery which we cannot fault. We would definitely stay again but would ask not to be put in room 7.

Room Tip: Room 7 isn't their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Room 7 is a small double and maybe we need to look at how we could make it bigger. Nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and sunday carvery. Thanks. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are coming to the end of a three night stay in the hotel. Our room is spacious and very comfortable, with a modern but homely feel to it. The en suite bathroom is very clean and the shower very good (although we're used to a little more pressure, but not a problem) with all towels etc provided fresh each day. Whilst we have not chosen to eat in the restaurant, we arrived during the Sunday carvers and everything looked delicious!!

When booking this hotel, we had also considered some off those in Leeds city centre and the bigger chains, but we decided to go for Haleys due to it having free parking (some of the ones we looked at in the city centre were charging up to £16 per day to park!) and it's relative proximity to the centre. We are so pleased we opted for Haleys instead - there is a very frequent bus service into the centre (at least one every 10 minutes) and it only takes 15 minutes to get there.

Headingly, where the hotel is situated, has a pleasant 'high street' with an abundance of shops, coffee houses, bars and restaurants - if you like Thai food, a visit to Jino's Thai cafe is definitley recommended.

In essence, we have stayed at a lot of hotels over the years and this is the first one I've felt compelled to write a review for and would have no hesitation recommending to a friend!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 26 which was to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for this review. Headingly is a busy suburb of Leeds, although Haley's is positioned on a leafy lane off the main road so is nice and quiet. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We're just back from a short break in Haley's Hotel. We'd read the Trip Advisor reviews of it and the good ones were very good. The bad ones varied somewhat. But the one that caught our eye was that concerning the Maryland Room. The reason was that this was the room we had been given. One comment was "Make sure you dont get the Maryland room! WHAT A DUMP! not even a full size bed, and you couldn't both walk round the room at one time, as it was so small."

Now we are a normal sized couple and found no difficulty moving around this room. I can only conclude that the Previous Reviewer and its partner were more used to roaming with the elephant herd across the limitless vastness of the South African Veldt. OK, it's not an enormous room but it's perfectly adequate and the double bed accommodated the two of us - I couldn't say it would have taken any more! But it wasn't that sort of a stay!

The only two "picky" things were that the Wifi Router in the Annexe (where the Maryland Room is) was on the blink and despite a couple of complaints from us and another guest, it hadn't been sorted out by the time we left. The above Previous Reviewer commented on the shower. There certainly is a curtain now, but I would agree that it should be a bit wider along the bath to avoid a wettish floor (but that's really more of a Management and Staff issue - time's being wasted if the Cleaning Staff have to dry out the floor every day).

Otherwise, there were no problems with this comfortable hotel. The Reception Staff were welcoming and pleasant. The Breakfast was perfectly adequate. In short, although Subjectivity Rules OK when it comes to writing a Review, we should all remember that Objectivity is an element that must feature in the finished product.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I had a smile on my face when i read this review - Africa and all that. We have started to re-boot the WiFi daily at 12 noon, this should make a difference to the signal strength I am informed. Thank you for this review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I highly recommend Haley's to any single women travellers out there. The staff are particularly friendly, helpful and welcoming and the rooms comfortable and secure. Breakfast is fine but I have not had a particularly positive dinner experience there, unfortunately. It has a small family-run hotel feel to it, which adds to the warmth and informality. It's just as good for couples, and some of the second floor bedrooms are wonderfuly spacious. It's in Headingley, so out of the centre of Leeds - lots of buses and taxis available though - and there are some good restaurants in Headingley (Salvo's is one of them).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Nice to hear you felt secure, it is important for ladies travelling alone. As you say Haley's is very central to all the amenities Headingly has to offer. Thank you. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

A very cosy old style building turned into a charming hotel. This hotel is tucked away up a tree lined side street. Also handily located for the bars and restaurants of headingly . This hotel was ideal for my daughters graduation at Leeds University.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
The hotel was two gentlemans residence dating back to 1880 (ish) then converted to Haley's hotel during the 1980's. It has the feeling of a country house hotel. Thank you for your review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6 - 10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.