We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to do really well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arden Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coventry Road, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0EH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bickenhill
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Deserves to do really well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Top marks to this hotel which many years ago was a roadside motel – the owners have clearly spent a fortune bringing it up to a very high standard. Smart and clean, great front-desk welcome, very fresh and comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant and bar (dinner here was outstandingly good and excellent value), and all the rest. Very close to the motorways, NEC, and Birmingham Airport, and amazingly quiet in the rooms – no noise problems. This is way ahead of some of the very much more pricey and over-hyped alternatives in the NEC area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    216
    174
    69
    32
See reviews for
81
156
26
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Room was confortable and clean. Television had very few channels that were any good. Could do with a lot more Freeview channels. No free Wi-Fi which would have been helpful wanted to charge a fortune. Had a meal in the restraunt on Thurday night. The quality of the food was excellent but the quanity was appalling. Steak, salard and chips turned out to be a 3oz steak with 7 chips and a very small portion of water cress pretending to be a green salard. Health club did not open until 7am far too late to use ot and then have breakfast in time for the NEC.

Recomendations:

More TV Channels
Free Wi-fi
Health club opening hours brought forward to 06.00hrs the latest.

Overal a very confortable stay but expensive

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Very very good hotel. Felt welcome from the moment i arrived to the moment i left. check in was very easy and quick, all our questions were answered. The room itself was very cosy and nice the bathroom was for me very good, maybe a few more freeview channels. I liked the fact that as a guest you could use the pool and gym for free not many places do this so this was a nice touch. we had a drink and meal in the bar and was not dissapointed. Ordered breakfast to our room for 5am and it arrived and was of good quality. My only complaint is that the internet was not free and i would like to see Thermostatic radiator vavles in the room to allow the guest more controll over thier room temp. Apart from that a very pleasent stay, after reading reviews i was worried but i can now only assume those people were staying at a different hotel. I for one would recomend this hotel to anyone and will be staying there again if in the area

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed here while visiting the clothes show with friends. The hotel is in a great location as you can walk to the NEC but we did take a taxi back as we had shopped till we dropped. Hotel very clean and the staff were very helpful. We had an evening meal which was excellent and the service could not be faulted our only comment was the piano playing was too loud!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We went to the NEC motor show you wouldn't get closer also close to railway station and airport. Lovely room, clean, comfortable, we had a shower in our bathroom,
breakfast was help your self and to say that most of the staff were young there was no
attitude problem and they couldn't be any more helpful, all in all a nice hotel and would
visit again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdenManager, Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Food in resteraunt, awful, fatty steak, rib eye cost £30! icecream looked old, covered in ice. staff on reception couldnt be less interested if they tried. bathroom old and desperately needs updating, shower door broken, mold and hair on the bottom of it. whole place is like a throw back to the seventies. bed lumpy, every time someone went into a room, the door slammed. difficult to drive to from NEC also.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdenManager, Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Firstly may I appolgise for your experience. It would appear that you were over charged for your rib eye - the actual cost should have been £19.95. If you could contact us directly and provide us with a copy of the bill, we will refund you. Regarding the quality of the meat, we only use the finest suppliers and so are surprised that you found it unsatisfactory. Rib eye often has a higher fat content than sirloins and fillets which we also offer, but once again I apologise for your meal not being satisfactory. Our staff usually score very highly, but on this occasion we appear to have failed. I shall be reminding all staff of the importance of offering the highest level of customer service. We are constantly renovating and upgrading areas of the hotel, and certainly no area has been untouched since the seventies. In fact I would say that 90% of the hotel has had attention with in the last 5 years. However we are a large hotel making it impossible to renovate in its entirety in one go, and so we have to undertake refurbishments on a rolling basis - much like painting the Forth Bridge. Unfortunatly this can mean that there is a contast between areas just renovated, and those areas scheduled to be renovated next. All bedroom doors are self closing to comply with health and safety (specifically fire prevention). It would appear that some are over tense and close too loudly. Maintenance have been alerted to this. I am slightly bemused by your comments regarding accessibility to the NEC. We are literally 1/3m drive from the main site entrance, located on Junction 6 of the M42. I can only assume you encountered traffic problems? Once again I can only apolgise for your findings and assure you that we have taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights. Had read some really bad reviews, so was a bit worried.Found front desk staff unhelpful but polite.Our room was at the end of a maze of corridoors and had a stained carpet and was a bit dusty.Beds were quite hard.
We preferred for our room not to be serviced, but the cleaning staff were helpful, and left clean towels and replenishments for the hospitality tray.
Ate in the bar on the first evening, and found the staff unhelpful,but on the second night chose the dining room.This was fantastic from the second we walked through the door.
Wonderful service, food and value. This is definately the hotels best point.
Apart from that, all but one lift was out of order, there were leaking ceilings with buckets under them, dangling electric wires in the leisure centre, and most frustrating of all was that the room card keys de-activate if put near a mobile phone or credit card. If we had been warned about this it would have saved a long trek back to reception.
The hotel isn't that bad really, just lots of little niggles that could so easily be put right.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdenManager, Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
May I start by apologising for your negative experiences, and thank you for your constructive observations - we do take them seriously. We are a large hotel, with the vast majority of our rooms spread over 2 floors and so some rooms are located some distance from reception. Beds are replaced on a regular basis and are all of a commercial standard - I am sorry you found yours quite hard. Bar staff have been reminded of the importance of offering exceptional customer service. I thank you for your kind comments in relation to the restaurant. We have two commissioned customer lifts, one of which is currently out of service, but which is in the process of being repaired. I can only assume that maintenance was taking place in the leisure club, as there are certainly no exposed cables in there now. We have 2 leaks on flat roofs which link distant parts of the hotel. I am afraid to say they are an ongoing bone of contention as we have thought we have repaired them on a number of occasions (to the point that they withstood a terrential down pour) only to find the leaks reappearing after a relativley modest rain fall some weeks later. We presume that wind direction may affect the ingress, but to date have failed to identify the weakness. All I can do is assure you that we are trying to remedy the problem and also make it clear that the leaks are in relatively unobtrusive locations and beyond the look of them do not in anway affect the comfort of customers during their stay. Again I apologise and hope the "little niggles" you refer to will have been addressed in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arden Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Coventry Road, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bickenhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arden Hotel & Leisure Club is ideally located adjacent to Birmingham Airport and NEC, just a 15 minute walk to the Genting Arena and Resorts World Birmingham. Our 3* AA rated hotel boasts 216 Bedrooms, 12 Meeting & Event Rooms, and a full health club with indoor pool onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, LateRooms, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Arden Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel And Leisure
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club Bickenhill, UK - Solihull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.