We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Vere Venues Horsley Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added De Vere Venues Horsley Park to your Saves list
De Vere Venues Horsley Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Epinay-sur-Orge, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Horsley Park is different. It is slightly run down (chipped toilet, spotted carpets) and the walls are badly isolated. It is fussy about check-out times and hard to find (look for a badly restored Norman church) However, it has a nice atmosphere, a green environment, good staff, ample parking place, the feel of a much more expensive conference venue and free wifi. If you think hotels are for sleeping, not for wallowing in luxury, you'll find the price quite attractive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Vijgeblad
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park and overall positive comments. I'm sure our local vicar would dispute your 'badly restored Norman church' comment but let's chalk that one down to entente cordiale!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    202
    146
    68
    45
See reviews for
68
302
11
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work in June just for one night. The room was a reasonable size and very homely. The pillows were perfectly firm, shame I had to get out of bed so early could of slept in peacefully for the afternoon. The food that was being served was really nice, with pleasant serving staff. The only problem was the was to the rooms was very complicated and I have to admit I did get lost a couple of times but it was lovely to walk around the grounds. Hopefully we will stay there again with work and if so I hope I can make time to use the pool and gym. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear MissKjBrown
Thank you for a great review of Horsley Park - I'm afraid the place is fairly expansive but makes getting lost a bit more interesting - I hope you soon found your way. Now that you are an expert you must visit again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I arrived last Sunday for a one night stay. It soon became obvious that the new part of the Hotel we had booked into was extremely busy, furthermore this must have been the case as the room adjoining ours appeared to have numerous people arguing with each other at the top of their voices. I reported this issue to the reception manager, who was exceedingly helpful and offered us a room in the towers, the original victorian part of the estate. This was a bizarre experience, as we were given an amazing sized room with a spectacular dual aspect. The down side was the decor, which was shabby at best, with a tatty bathroom, but very clean with a comfortable bed and very quiet. As we paid a last minute low and very reasonable price I was happy to compromise and felt the views and history outweighed any problems. The breakfast is served in the new building and we thought the quality very good with the opportunity to return to the counter to replenish your plate.
To conclude we felt we were treated fairly and the staff deserve a mention as they 'went the extra mile', if we return to the area we will stay at the hotel again, but only in the Towers.

Room Tip: For views and history ask for the Towers but be ready to compromise on up to date decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear keith m
Thank you for your recent review.
I would have to agree that whilst there are lots of positive reasons to book the Towers, the bedrooms are dated when compared to the contemporary style of the management centre or court areas. Delighted to hear that the team went the 'extra mile' for you - that is a big part of our service culture within De Vere Venues.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I did get to stay in the old building, the room was very large, and had great views. One of the views however was through cracked glass...
The bathroom was very large, but dated and suffering from limescale in the bath and some chipped enamel. The bed was comfortable for me, and I slept all night.
The restaurant was good food for an OK price, staff were great. The breakfast was a buffet, so there was plenty to eat - I was up early so there were no queues, and it was a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear El-Zilcho - thank you for your review and overall positive comments.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a bit confusing. Horsley Towers is a Bavarian folly - we arrived to see the red carpet laid out for the wedding on Saturday - but our room was in the more modern Management Centre. Still, both are set in nice grounds far from the madding crowds. The instructions at the gate were a bit off, so we were directed back from one reception to the other. The room was comfortable, though the bed was creaky. The swimming pool was a good size, though the changing rooms were cramped. The gym was adequate for a weekend away. We stayed on Saturday and Sunday nights, leaving on the Bank Holiday Monday morning - later check out at 11am was appreciated. Guildford, Leatherhead and Dorking (Box Hill) are all easily visited but the best was Brooklands.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room that looks away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Shaun H
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park - I was pleased to read your overall positive comments.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here Sunday night. Set in large grounds, the attractive old park building is set apart from the main hotel rooms. Our room was rather cramped but adequate enough with a very comfy bed and was very clean. All staff were welcoming. After a day touring Wisley we opted for a meal at the hotel. Some prices had increased from those advertised on their website and also the 2 course option was no longer available and neither was the traditional sunday roast on offer. Selection from restaurant was 3 course with starters and desserts being self service, the main meal served by the chef. Selection from starter and dessert were good, but main course - don't bother. Choice of main course on buffet menu was very limited, just bacon steak, or red mullet. My husband chose bacon steak, I opted for red mullet, which was one very small fillet, luke warm and no sauce but came with bean sprouts and a few other stir fry selected veg, other veg were cauliflower, french beans (virtually raw) and roasted potatoes, nothing had any flavour. General choice from restaurant was very poor and vegetarian option was a tart which consisted of egg, small piece of potato, small piece of onion. I am not a chef, but I do not serve food like this! We did mention to waitresses and receptionist about menu being different and quality of food and they were apologetic. However, breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ours was standard room on ground floor but rather on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear SuffolkPoppy
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park. Thank you for your overall comments but I apologise if dinner was poor - i shall certainly review your feedback with our Chef and see where we can improve upon this.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel. Set in beautiful Parkland with lovely gardens we could not believe our luck. Although we were in the Conference part of the hotel we really could not complain. Our room, though rather on the small side, had everything we needed although the bed was rather hard and uncomforable. We were allocated Room 1 unfortunately, which was next to the Reception and the room everyone had to pass on their way back to their own so this was rather noisy late at night. One other small problem was that the French door did not have a net curtain so if we wanted privacy during the day we had to close the heavy curtain cutting out all natural light.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room well away from Reception and possibly with a window rather than a French d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Venues Horsley Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Vonnie49
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park - I will take a look at nets on those front rooms with French doors, this seems a good point - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Vere Venues Horsley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Venues Horsley Park

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Venues Horsley Park 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Horsley Park, you’re spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It’s a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you’re feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Venues Horsley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Venues Horsley Park East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vere Venues Horsley Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.