We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a 6 out of 5 option, it would have got it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpeness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dolphin Inn
Save
You added The Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Old Homes road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If there was a 6 out of 5 option, it would have got it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having travelled to this part of Suffolk for many years now, I have no idea how this place escaped our family, just found out my cousin even worked here!
The service is so, so good, you really can't put a price on staff like this, many, many hotels who charge twice the price to stay here, should visit and learn. We were so impressed, we became mystified that we had paid so much more in previous visits for much lesser accommodation.
The rooms were spotlessly clean (and my husband and I are very picky)! Very well decorated and very good sizes. The food was sooo tasty and again excellent value. It was just perfect to enjoy a glass of wine next to roaring fire.
The staff we so helpful, they really couldn't do enough.
We will not hesitate to stay here again. The pictures on the website really don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
51
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

visited here 3 times in 3 weeks, its that good. Great service, good food and good portions, nice range of beers on tap and atmosphere was good due to size of the place and it being full.

Avoid aldeburgh and eat here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here recently with our two spaniels and enjoyed a fabulous, relaxing three days. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and the food and service were excellent. The Dolphin is ideally located for dog walkers like us, being only just a short walk to the beach and coastal paths and it is an easy short jaunt into nearby Aldeburgh. The three beautifully appointed rooms have their own entrance door which means you don't have to traipse through the bar to access your room, which is particularly beneficial if your dog’s needs to “do their business” late at night! We have stayed in the three main hotels in Aldeburgh over the years and the Dolphin certainly compares favourably with them but beats them hands down on value for money. I would strongly recommend this Inn to anyone wishing to visit this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent roast beef followed by apple crumble with custard, three people ate and had a small drink for £40. Good beer, friendly and efficient service. Recommended. Also, a small point but the loos were spotless, by the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in Thorpeness for the half term break and this was a lovely place to pop in for a drink, lunch or dinner. We were caught by the busyness at weekends so book ahead. Staff were very friendly and the the fire was always inviting. Great selection of drinks, especially a glass of decent prosecco at a good price. Best dish was mussels in Aspalls cider with bacon and garlic, just the right flavours and not overpowering, delicious. Recipe needed urgently at home please!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The atmosphere is friendly and relaxing and the staff are all very helpful. Guests have their own door into the building and this is just half a minute from the car park so carrying luggage is not a problem. We were made to feel welcome right from the start. I should have liked a bit more choice at breakfast time, for instance, fruit salad and yogurts. Also we were given the impression that the cooked option was just the traditional British fried breakast rather than offering scrambled or poached eggs. We don't eat meat but we do eat fish so we were able to enjoy the meals. However, the option for 100% vegetarians was limited but the choice may be wider in the summer season. The lady cooking the breakfasts ordered vegetarian sausages in for us specially which was considerate of her and typical of the service we received at The Dolphin.

Room Tip: Room 1 which is a double/twin is rather dark and needs better lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Amazing service from a fantastic hotel! We stayed here on our wedding night back in February, having got married at Butley Priory. We very nearly got cut off by the snow and arrived at about 1 in the morning to find the landlord still up and waiting to welcome us and a bottle of champagne chilled for us in our room. The breakfast was amazing and we will definitely be back, even though we only live 20 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Address: Old Homes road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.