We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cameley Lodge to your Saves list
Cameley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cameley Road | Bath, Temple Cloud BS39 5AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save £5 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 2 Temple Cloud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel in a quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and would recommend it in an instant. Excellent location for exploring the mendips, wells, wookey hole, cheddar gorge, Bristol, Bath etc. Very central! thank you for making our stay so cosy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
27
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had my wedding at Cameley Lodge in May this year and it was a perfect day. We absolutely loved the venue which is situated in beautiful countryside with views of the lake. On the day itself the staff were marvellous. They ensured the day went seamlessly. They allowed us to decorate how we wanted and use the suppliers we wanted which was very good as other venues we looked at had restrictions on those type of things. The venue was perfect for kids, I had 13 at mine but you wouldn't has noticed. They played at the bottom of the garden most of the day which was completely secure so the adults could enjoy a drink on the above patio.
The wedding breakfast tables were laid out and decorated by the staff and they a beautiful job! I. Left instructions on how each table should look and they matched it perfectly. I was so impressed with this.
We checked into our rooms after the wedding breakfast and the suite was huge with a very large bathroom to match. It was clean, fresh looking and had amazing views of the lake.
Our evening reception started at 7pm and everything was in place. The dj was included in the price of the room hire but we also had a band they both fit into the reception area fine and had bags of room left.
The morning after we all sat down for breakfast which was a hot and cold Buffett. The English breakfast was delicious and we could have as much as you want. When we checked out the venue had already boxed our decorations and gifts etc ready to put in the boot.

Overall this is a beautiful venue and recommend to anyone looking for a charming countryside wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wife and I visited this establishment twice, once to have a drink and once to have a meal. Some staff work at a place just because they are paid, and other staff work because they love it and are proud of it. This place was in the second category.

The first time we went for a drink on a lovely day overlooking a lake and as another reviewer said there is a very lovely old church nearby. There is very little traffic and good walks are to be had without too much effort. Somerset, by the way, is notable for the number of paths that are still open and have not been destroyed by commercialism. Anyway, although the place was officially closed they were happy enough to serve us a drink. The wine was served at the right temperature and we chatted a bit about the place.

The second time was with the Rotary club where 32 of us were entertained to a meal. We were very well looked after, the staff were watchful without being obtrusive. The food was good and served without delay. The staff stood attentively in the background during the speakers time and were watchful for our requests for more refreshment.

In general, the tables were well prepared, a decent distance apart so people were not on top of one another and the pleasant fun atmosphere generated itself.

I did not stay there overnight but have no doubt that if I did the service would be equally good and personal. This is by no stretch of the imagination a pretentious place it is what it is but you can't go far wrong with reasonable weather and getting a good night's sleep. It is off the beaten track so to speak, which in a way I think is an advantage.

Room Tip: this is in a quiet area so it doesn't really matter which room you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stopped for one night, the lodge is set in lovely surroundings, seems like it is miles from anywhere, but its only ten miles from Bristol and Bath.
We had a twin room, with ensuite shower. Tea and coffee facilities available, also iron, ironing board and hairdryer.
The breakfast was very good with a choice of continental or full English, cereals, toast and fresh fruit, all of a high quality, perfect start to the day.

Room Tip: Twin room but not room one as it has no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an extended weekend break based at the Cameley Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted a small, quiet, relaxing, friendly, comfortable hotel with a half-decent restaurant located somewhere between Bath and Wells so that we could easily explore this lovely area. We were certainly NOT disappointed! We ate in the restaurant for all 3 nights - great choice and quality - and some impressive portions (their chocolate brownie sundae could win prizes!). The staff are all personable, friendly and attentive - reflecting the understated family nature of the hotel. We thoroughly recommend the Cameley Lodge and we would not hesitate to return should we need a similar break in the future. Our grateful thanks to Paula and John - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 with a beautiful view across the gardens to the adjacent church. It was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here after some sightseeing in Bath and onto Bristol the next day - ideally located for both. Although it doesnt have many bedrooms the hotel is not a small place. The views are lovely, situated by a lake and a lovely old church next door. We had a snack in the evening sitting outside and were pleasantly surprised to see hot air balloons flying over. Lots of nice places to go for a walk after our meal and we even saw some swans and cygnets by the lake. Breakfast was really nice the next morning and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone - I stayed there with my son and his girlfriend who had come over from Australia and they loved it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay to do some sightseeing in Bristol but wanted somewhere quiet and rural - bullseye! Cameley Lodge was perfect. Peaceful, rural, beautiful surrounding countryside and friendly, welcoming service. Multi-choice breakfast and bar snacks, clean, well furnished rooms and even a lift to take the suitcases upstairs (for those of us of a certain age with dodgy knees!). Good value for money and well worth a visit. Mick and Caroline

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cameley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameley Lodge

Address: Cameley Road | Bath, Temple Cloud BS39 5AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Temple Cloud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameley Lodge is set a beautiful valley, 10 miles from Bristol, Bath & Wells. Just 11 miles from Bristol Airport. A small family run country hotel offering quality accommodation and food. Relax and enjoy the countryside - watch the deer roaming in the fields -the trout rising for the "fly" in the lakes in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cameley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameley Hotel Temple Cloud
Cameley Lodge Temple Cloud, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.