We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic week that ended in disappointment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic week that ended in disappointment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel was easy to find and we were made to feel very welcome by Ben despite him being very busy with Sunday lunches. Our room which was situated at the front of the hotel was clean and big enough for our needs. One downside was that it was by a busy road and as we like to keep our windows open we had to put up with a lot of noise from traffic. Another small problem was that people who like to smoke congregated under our window and their smoke made it's way into the bedroom.....not nice when you are a non smoker. We stayed for 5 nights and cannot fault the staff especially Ben and Krasi (apologies for the spelling) who had to run the bar, wait at table and man reception. They were so attentive to our needs and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We ate in each evening and ordered from the bar menu which had a wide choice of food to choose from. Every meal was delicious, The restaurant menu is very limited if you are staying for a number of nights. Breakfast was also of a very high standard and we were able to pick and choose what we wanted. The servings were very generous and were were always asked if we wanted anything else.
Having had a lovely week we settled down for our final meal. Our food was ordered and brought out in super quick time, served as usual by a very cheerful Krasi who made time to chat to us. At this point things went down rapidly when it became evident that the owners of the hotel were entertaining friends on the table next to us. The numbers increased and the group spread out getting nearer and nearer to our table. The owners seemed oblivious to the fact that they had paying guests in the room and repeatedly pushed past our table to fetch wine and sort food for their guests. They made no attempt to acknowledge us and didn't seem to realise that they were disturbing our last meal in the hotel. A comment was made about lack of space on their table for food and we noticed glances towards us. We felt quite uncomfortable and decided to go quicker than we would normally.......needless to say our table was moved very quickly to join theirs to create more room. Thankfully it was our last night and this experience didn't spoil our holiday completely. We are very grateful to all the staff for their friendliness over the week....it's a shame that the owners attitude to guests is not of the same high standard as their staff.

Room Tip: Have a room at the back of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stushep, Owner at BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am really sorry you were disturbed by myself and four other customers. There is no escuse for us to ingnore you.. I can only apologise for not being correct in looking after you and causing young nuisance. It was a prearranged supper for an old colleague who had come from Australia. Please don't judge the hotel on our bad behaviour. I will make sure that Ben and Krasi are congratulated and perhaps after 50 years we shoulld have been more considerate.
Sorry
Stuart Shepherd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
59
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have had the pleasure of returning to our roots and stayed at The Shrubbery for two nights. I'm pleased to say that it still retains it's comfortable, welcoming atmosphere and the decor has not been messed with. I must admit to first enjoying the hotel in the 1960s when The Shrub held the best dances and discos in the County! We found our rooms spacious, clean and comfortable with nice big, soft towels....no power showers here but then, hey what's the rush! We were actually here for a wedding and they looked after us well. Food was lovely and beautifully prepared, yummy deserts! Breakfast was very good. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Do hope that The Best Western manages to retain the family friendly atmosphere. Incidentally, accessibility is excellent - wheelchair friendly and nice big bathrooms and wheel-in showers. Easy and spacious car parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just spent a short break at this hotel. The hotel has been in the family for over 50 yrs, so there is continuity,and it shows. Everywhere is clean, the staff are great, the room we had was perfect. One point to make was that we thought there should be more choice of food especially if you were staying a few days, anyway the food was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have seen some reviews that have said "dated" and "tired" and I think people need to consider that this is an old building, as can be seen from the architecture, high ceilings, and Victorian façade. However we have travelled all over the UK and all over the world and can say with all honesty the decoration is in keeping with the building, and it is fresh and perfectly clean. I think a lot of modern hotels could learn a lot from "The Shrubbery" as they give excellent customer service, really deliver on customer care, and have a great restaurant and food. The grounds are very nice, and there is even a large outdoor swimming pool for when the weather gets hot. There is plenty of hotel parking and there is something going on there most days of the week that involves organisations like The Round Table, The Rotary Club, The Fire Service etc. This tells me that it is well supported by local people and that really does say it all. We shall try to return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: We have always stayed at the back of the hotel which seem very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The experience was very good, the staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly, the food was excellent (breakfast and dinner). Evening meal was very reasonably priced. Location to ilminster was very good, a short walk to the centre. Very quiet room. Parking was not an issue even when there were functions on which was almost every day of our stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and it really hasn't changed. Last time we were upgraded to a lovely large room on the back of the hotel overlooking beautiful countryside. However our sleep was disturbed by the fact that there was a function on in the ballroom, (which we were directly above) so we could hear the music until 1am. This time we were offered a similar room but again there was a function on, so we opted for a smaller room on the front instead. However, as it was a hot July night we had to have the window open and could hear some traffic noise, but it was not too bad. Whereas last time I remember the bed being comfortable, it appears the beds in the cheaper rooms at the front are not so comfortable. Also, I was suprised last time to find no duvet, but sheets and blankets on the bed and this is still the case. Although it is a lovely old hotel, the decor and furnishings are looking tired and dated. The cooked breakfast was good, but the choice of fruit not so good. Please note that this hotel is in Ilminster, not Taunton, which is about 10 miles away. There is not much to do in Ilminster, but it is a good location for touring Somerset.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back for no road noise and a beautiful view, but check to see if there is a fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel we left disappointed. On checking in we were taken to our room which entailed a trip through a bar, down a corridor, through a meeting room into a type of annex. First impression of the room was clean until I dropped an earring on the floor only to notice the cleaning was not that good, lots of dust and cobwebs!! We were quite surprised to turn the bed clothes to find sheets and blankets!!! On wanting to leave the hotel to go out for the evening and taking the route back the way we were taken, we found there was a meeting in progress in the room we had to go through to get back to reception! Not ideal for guests in a hotel. Fortunately having looked around we found a door which took us in to the car park, no thanks to the hotel staff. Breakfast was average. Service from reception on checkout poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stushep, Owner at BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good Evening, My name is Stuart Shepherd, I am the manager of the Shrubbery Hotel.
I have read your comments, and can only make apologies for any of the problems you had,
The hotel is a converted Victorian house and has difficult areas to get to.

I am sorry about cobwebs or dust , I have a good housekeeping staff, and , and I shall obviously make sure your comments are made to the head housekeeper,

You should have been told about the meeting.
We have a long debate about blankets and duvets,, some like one the other like the other,
Please accept my apologies and I hop you can visit us again when we can show you our full potential,
Regards
Stuart Shepherd
0146052108
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South Somerset, near Ilminster, is an elegant Edwardian hotel owned and run by the Shepherd family for over 70 years. We are well know as the leading Somerset Conference & Business Centre in Ilminster Somerset, as well as a great party venue Taunton. The building with many fascinating features stands in over 2 acres of lawns and shrubberies. The Best Western Shrubbery Hotel in Ilminster, Somerset is ideally situated only half a mile from the A303 London to Exeter trunk road, and ten minutes from the M5 motorway at Taunton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.