We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Square & Compass Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Square & Compass Inn to your Saves list
Square & Compass Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Windmill Hill | Ashill, Ilminster TA19 9NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Shame on you Amandajane of Dorset, The Square and Compass has not had a cat for at least five years!
This pub is a favourite of ours - it has everything going for it. The staff are always friendly, the beer is always excellent and the food devine. What more could you wish for , maybe somewhere to stay ? Yes, they even cater for that with lovely fresh rooms which are very spacious and delightful and a fantastic breakfast served in the morning. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
41
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset.UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I read the one bad review before I booked and was naturally wary but all my fears vanished on arrival. I'm inclined to agree with Chris the owners comment that this is a deliberate act by a rival as my experience here could not have been bettered and there wasn't a Cat to be seen! Friendly reception, superb meal (more than I could eat) comfortable and roomy with great walk in open bathroom/shower area. I couldn't fault it and will definately stay again.

Room Tip: My room (no2) had a huge bed and although there was Rock music in the outlying venue I heard absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Myself my wife and two friends recently visited the Square and Compass for a meal. We all had something different of the menu and each meal was superb.
All the staff were very polite and helpful, and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

We would all deffinately visit again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently came here for a meal for a relatives birthday, and must say it was a very enjoyable experience! The food was of an excellent quality, and I would say very good value for money! All of the staff were friendly and polite, it was busy and clearly popular in the local area. I will definitely be returning and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed overnight with my partner and our small boy , we ate in the restaurant and all had a really enjoyable meal with excellent service. Our room was very spacious and clean with a massive bed and didn't really need an extra bed for the small boy which Janet kindly insisted on. The table and chairs were very useful also for him as was the television. I managed to really relax during my short stay making great use of the evenings entertainment and great food with kind and polite staff. By far the nicest stay away for a long time with a lovely long lie in. I look forward to returning, thank you .

Room Tip: The end room is usefull if you have children as there is a lovely grassed area just outside the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Arrived to a friendly welcome and there were no problems with check in.
The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom contained all one would expect. Efforts have clearly been made to offer guests comfort and, in the main, they succeed.
We had dinner which was ok, not quite what we asked for but well cooked.The problem came when we walked into the bar for breakfast. The smell of cat pee was horrendous. Noticed an odd smell when we went to dinner but where the doors were open and the pub busy it was not 100% clear what the smell was. It was certainly confirmed at breakfast.
We moved to a table further away from the direct smell but it was pervading the room to a point where I could not eat. My husband did and said the food was perfectly adequate.
We could not wait to leave and did so immediately he finished eating.
I don't know if this is a regular thing or if their cat was poorly but no explanation was offered. Perhaps this is situation normal for the bar of The Square & Compass. Such a shame if that is the case.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetslow, Owner at Square & Compass Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We do not like trip advisor. We do not give our permission to be on it. Someone who has stayed at our hotel and used our free broadband access has put us on it!

It is very easy to write a malicious review, for example, a competitor or someone who has asked for a discount on a room or a meal and not been given it.

We have asked to be removed from the site.

We are a family owned business and have no resources to fight this bullying behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I ate an evening meal here while staying at Somerset B&B just down the road.
I never enjoy eating on my own but I had a corner table here which as the tables have panelling behind, made it the perfect little corner to sit and hide away while I enjoyed my meal.
I ordered a mushroom stroganoff which was very rich and simply enormous and far too much for me. The fillet steak also looked delicious.
Excellent value at just over £10 for my meal and drink, very friendly staff and clearly very popular with locals which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square & Compass Inn

Address: Windmill Hill | Ashill, Ilminster TA19 9NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Square & Compass Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Square & Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square & Compass Inn Ilminster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square & Compass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.