We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Farmhouse B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shave Farm

Save Saved
You added Shave Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shave Farm
Donyatt, Ilminster TA19 0SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stunning Farmhouse B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Shave Farm is wonderful - from the warm welcome from Kate (with tea and biscuits!) to the lovely decor and warm atmosphere. We loved the residents lounge with its stylish decor and roaring wood burning stove. Our room was superb - very comfortable with a huge bed, lovely bed linens and smart en-suite. Breakfast is delicious and Kate is attentive and friendly but gave us our own space too. Overall, Perfick!!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be lovely. We had the large double bed and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one Friday in the summer en route to Lyme Regis.
The farm is very well located, close to Ilminster and a short walk down to the village of Donyatt.
James and Kate were the perfect hosts - helpful and attentive without being intrusive. The room we stayed in was modern and well fitted with an excellent en suite.
Breakfast was excellent. My only niggle was that I couldn't get the WiFi to work but as the farm's private rooms were being decorated this may have been the problem.
The George Inn in Donyatt did an excellent evening meal too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely working farm with superb accommodation. Great cooked breakfasts and really friendly people. Couldn't ask for more and will certainly recommend to friends! The local pub (George inn) in Donyatt was also superb and only a short walk away...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful farm in a lovely area. We were given a lovely welcome. Bedroom and en-suite decorated beautifully. Very comfortable queen size bed. Spotlessly clean. Proper farmhouse breakfast. The hosts could not have done more to make our stay any more pleasant. Will be recommending this lovely bed & breakfast to friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Travelling down and stopped for a stay over on the way to Cornwall. The bedroom and breakfast was really great, felt the host was a bit scared to talk us until we paid to leave other than that it was FAB!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staying on Shave farm for second time but this time we have a 11 of us once again James & Kate have done us proud the grankids loved the farm and all the days out we would recommend this lovely, friendly and the best farm in the area to anyone P S great HOT TUB as well

Thank you James, Kate & family for a great week

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

To echo so many other reviews, Shave Farm is a wonderful place to stay for so many reasons - Kate and James very welcoming, lovely decor, comfy bed, great shower, easy to find, beautiful area, delicious breakfast, gorgeous cat! We stayed in the 'superior room/annex/suite' which has set the standard for what I want in a night away! Really hope to be back soon, great value for money. The George pub 10mins walk away served up a great dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shave Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shave Farm

Address: Donyatt, Ilminster TA19 0SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shave Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shave Farm Ilminster, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shave Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.