We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and relaxing tranquility in Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Pietreta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Podere Pietreta to your Saves list
Podere Pietreta
Santa Maria delle Vigne | Val d'Orcia, 53040 Radicofani, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and relaxing tranquility in Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Staying in Podere Pietreta for a recent long weekend in Tuscany made our visit even more special. We stayed in the Lavanda room and it was clean, cozy and full of natural charm from the region. The nights were still a bit cool, and it was nice to see that the heat was fully functioning. The groundskeeper was very friendly and helpful, and a delicious picnic basket of cakes and coffee were delivered every morning to our doorstep. A beautiful place to just walk out the door and explore nature, and well situated to take day trips to surrounding areas like Montalcino and Montepulciano. The owner was also very accommodating to our last minute requests. Definitely stay here if you get the chance!

We give it a 4.5 and not a 5 because it was lacking a few basic amenities, such as proper drinking glasses / wine glasses (we are in Tuscany afterall)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salerno, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed for a week and we really enjoyed the place. Well situated, we were able to travel and visit several places.
The place is surrounded from the nature and is very peaceful.
Concerning the room, it was perfect: clean and functional.
The breakfast was enjoyable with cakes and jam.
Antonio and Lucia are very kind hosts, and do everything to make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We’ve stayed at Podere Pietrata ever since we ‘found’ it on the website several years ago. We love the great pool for swimming (in warm weather, of course); the absolutely stunning views; the caretakers, Mauro and Anna who make sure we had everything we needed which included supplying us with ample wood for our fires in the warm, cozy apartment, which was well stocked and immaculate. The owners, Antonio and Lucia are precious people who make you feel like one of the family. Our favorite thing is to get our coffee and walk outside to be stunned, once again by the spectacular views, the fresh country air where everything is quiet except for the chirping of the birds.
This is the place to really experience Tuscany, olive trees, rosemary and lavender bushes scenting the air, deer roaming just yards away! You get the feeling that you just want to stay there forever. It’s our favorite place on earth! (and you can’t beat the price!)
We’ve stayed many places in Italy over the past 8 or 9 years and Podere Pietrata is the reason we come back again and again. And you can’t beat the price!

,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

A small piece of paradise with a lovely countryside nearby. The stunning panorama astonished me (watch out! The moonlight will be inside your bed :-) ) and all the atmosphere was permeated with relax: I've finally found a place where I can actually unplug, chilling out and re-energise myself. Neverthless, if you can't resist, ask the landlords for the wi-fi connection! It's available, and pretty cheap.
In addition, the landlords are kind, the swimming pool can cool your summer days, and in less than a hour by car you can reach the wonderful places in the surroundings (My suggestions: San Casciano spa, Pienza, Montepulciano, Monte Amiata).
Pietreta, I am getting back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harelbeke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Radicofani is a very small town in the southern part of Tuscany, near the Umbrian Border.
Close to Pienza, Montepulciano, Lago Bolsena,Lago Trasimeno.
You reach the house on a dirt road. It is very quiet and the landscape is great. There is also a swimming pool 12m x 6 m
Not a lot of tourist in the small village. Here you find the italian butcher, baker,...........................

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Pietreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Pietreta

Address: Santa Maria delle Vigne | Val d'Orcia, 53040 Radicofani, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radicofani
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Radicofani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Pietreta is a large, old house from the eighteenth-century, entirely in stone, that was recently the subject of a careful and passionate restoration, maintaining the particular architectural qualities of the structure and using only original materials.The estate is positioned on a hill, in a position of exceptional beauty within the natural and artistic park of Val d'Orcia, declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. The farmhouse, 500m above sea level, dominates the hills that slope towards the plane: from here you can admire a vast natural setting, from Monte Cetona to the cliffs of San Casciano, from the rock of Celle sul Rigo to the slopes of Monte Amiata.A park of three hectares surrounds Podere Pietreta. Under the shade of large oaks, there is a panoramic swimming pool with a Roman staircase (6x12m).There are 3 inviting apartments and two double bedrooms that are available for guests - of varying sizes - and a beautiful independent house - also in stone - newly restored; there is a warm and refined atmosphere, the residences are elegantly furnished with furniture from the era.The apartments are all on the ground level and have a private entrance; for each of these, there is a private space with a large umbrella, table, chairs and barbecue. Each apartment is located on one of the three sides of the farmhouse, ensuring that guests have complete privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Podere Pietreta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Pietreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.