We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed holiday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed holiday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location and room excellent very quiet location if you want peace and quiet. You really need a car as bus service very poor you can leave but not get back. The bar prices were very expensive also coffees but the food was awful. Not very much on the plate and not much choice for vegetarians. The waiter service was very slow but friendly. The swimming pool was very clean but a bit chilly the showers were lovely and warm. Bring a good book if you don't like walking as after dark there is no entertainment or decent T.V

Room Tip: Rooms at the top overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    257
    117
    43
    17
See reviews for
106
412
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in an outstandingly beautiful setting.
I would say it took more than 30 mins to travel to the hotel along very winding if scenic roads. Travel pills a must for bad travellers.
The food was lovely although the set menu was the same both nights we stayed.
The waiting staff were in no way unpleasant but lacked any animation.
At breakfast both mornings there were a lack of plates on the buffet.
The pool only opens from 8am and as breakfast is only until 10am this meant we were having to pull the kids out and chivy them on to get them for breakfast on time. It was quiet while we were there and the kids pretty much had the pool to themselves.
The website was unclear that there was a surcharge for kids over 5 for meals. Hopefully this will be made more clear as the very helpful lady on reception on the last day was going to pass that on and she did organise for us to get a refund.
There is very little phone reception in the area and wifi it available at a charge.
I probably would not go back to this hotel with kids. If you want a nice hotel to go to go hill walking it is definitely worth the journey but if you are using it as a base to visit Pitlochry etc be prepared for a lot of driving.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a walking holiday so were probably given one of the cheaper rooms, but that was no excuse for the shabbiness and lack of space. The room looked a bit like something out of an old people's home and had cheap, dark furniture from another era. The worst aspect was the bathroom - absolutely no room to swing a cat, with a shower inside the bath. There were no shelves to put anything on and the basin was behind the door, making it extremely difficult to manage. I had to put my make up bag and toothpaste bag on the floor! There was no proper space to hang towels either. Because there was nowhere else to eat within several miles, we ate in the bar. We were so disappointed with our meal, thinking we would treat ourselves to a good steak after a hard day's walking. The sirloin steak was ok (at £22.00) but the peppercorn sauce (an extra £2.95!) was putrid, and inedible, completely ruining the steak. It ran out of the jug like water. We were just too exhausted to complain, but I wish we had. The bar itself is not very pleasant, with a flashing one armed bandit and dark, old fashioned decor. Breakfast was much better but it was the only place we came across which charged a supplement for a kipper or smoked salmon with the scrambled eggs! I am sure a kipper costs no more than the full Scottish breakfast! Finally, but not least, we were shocked and amazed that we would have had to pay £10 for wi-fi! Unbelievable! Overall, this is somewhere definitely not to be recommended, even though the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

On the whole our stay at McDonald's Loch Rannoch hotel was good. Although the location was a little further out from other facilities i.e. the centre of Pitlochry than we had imagined this didn't deter from the hotel.
The leisure facilities were good and enjoyed by us both. The meals were a bit pricey we felt and thought breakfast could have ben included in the package and price instead of extras. Because of the location you had no choice but to take the breakfast. The room itself was a little tired but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked up for one night for my father's 70th birthday. The hotel is in an ideal location with beautiful views over the Loch. The staff were very friendly and helpful with our queries. Unfortunately our room was cold and took some time to heat up. Decor in the rooms and all areas of hotel is outdated and requires updating. There were a few broken locks in the toilets near reception. The swimming pool and sauna were very nice. At breakfast, we were given mouldy toast. Service was very slow for our evening meal with long waits between each course. We has asked for a birthday cake to be brought out as a surprise for our father. Unfortunately, the waitress brought the plates out before the cake and knife for cutting the cake informing our father that "this was for the cake" spoiling the surprise. A little disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Kudos to Annette and Sylvia. This hotel is very big and caters to large groups, however, the hospitality and staff functioned more like a small family run inn. Annette, who worked the front desk was so helpful to my husband and me. We needed a taxi [local driver who was so helpful too - terrific] and had been assured by our travel agent that this would be no problem. Well it is a problem and Annette went out of her way to secure one for us at and at a rate we could afford.

We ate two nights in the pub because the dinning room was just a little to posh for our walking holiday. While the food was average, Sylvia, who was over taxed and under helped, was so good about trying to make sure everyone got served. This hotel is located on a beautiful Loch and there is mush to do in the area. Well worth visiting.

Our room was great and had a beautiful view of the loch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked 6 rooms (3 Executive and 3 Classic) for a 2 night family celebration at the end of August for 12 adults and 3 infants. All the rooms were on the 2nd floor with excellent loch views but I thought the Classic rooms could have benefitted from a refurb. We were on a dinner, B&B basis and I have to say the food and restaurant staff were superb. We fed the children in the bar both evenings (good kids' meals) while we all enjoyed drinks, leaving the adults to have a celebratory meal later in the main restaurant where they set up a table just for our 12 in the second room. Our waiter Leo (I believe he is a supervisor) was very good indeed, a superb professional who clearly understands the concept of customer service. Food quality, presentation and service was a credit to the chef, Leo and his team, nothing but praise for all of them. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with the hot dishes cooked to order and again service pleasant and prompt.

We enjoyed the "feel" of a traditional highland hotel, the public areas were comfortable, the swimming pool, steam room etc were very good and the price we paid to include dinner although not cheap I think was very fair for the quality and location. OK the drinks and wines at dinner are expensive, probably about 20% - 25% above reasonable but they do have a captive market! and the service is good (Leo asked "do you want glass flutes or wine glasses for the Prosecco").

Now the negatives, such a pity. I have a thing about the provision of free wifi even if it is restricted to public areas only. You get this in MacDonalds burger bars, coffee shops and even Travelodges!! In 2013 it should be expected as is hot water from the shower! It is now always my policy to complain (nicely) if this service is chargeable by asking the receptionist to pass on my complaint about the charge to higher management. The response I received was unexpectedly rude from the young lady on the desk. Although I made it clear my complaint was directed to the company and not her personally she argued that it was "company policy to charge" (not at Crutherland House 4 days earlier!), that "many guests complain about it" and that she "does not have wifi for her reception desktop computer"! Perhaps Leo could mentor her in the art of dealing with guests. All the other reception staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. The only other criticism and easily fixed was the irritation of returning to our rooms for a late afternoon cuppa to find tea and coffee replaced but no shortcake biscuit. Two of my party had none on arrival but one on the second day! Is "company policy" only to provide a snack on alternate days? Unfortunately it is always the irritations, minor though they may be, which linger in the memory.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with a loch view enable you to appreciate the ever changing beautiful landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in Kinloch Rannoch, overlooking the Loch, The Macdonalds Loch Rannoch Hotel is the ideal place to enjoy some quality time with your family or loved one. The property lends itself to country weddings, special events, birthdays and functions, with specific rooms to cater for any events. Conferences and team building events are catered for. The Loch Rannoch Hotel staff are friendly and on hand to make sure you have an enjoyable experience with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.