We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treats Cafe - CLOSED

Treats Cafe
Silver Street | Durham, Kinloch Rannoch dh1 , Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the Highland village of Kinloch Rannoch, Treats is a cafe, gift shop and art gallery. We serve warming hot drinks, refreshing cold drinks, delicious cakes and scones and a variety of food from our kitchen from soup, paninis, large filled rolls to farmers or rannoch smoked meat platters. Open 10-5pm daily with kitchen food served until 4.30pm.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a wonderful place to find after our walk at Kinloch Rannoch. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We only had a coffee and a scone on this visit but will definitely return again and have lunch. Coffee was hot and strong which is how I like it, scones were lovely. The cafe also sells lots of lovely gifts and has a room with paintings and photographs for sale. Would recommend a visit if you are i this lovely area of Perthshire.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    17
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cupar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“2 more satisfied customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been visiting Treats since it opened as we own timeshare in the area and have never been disappointed.We had lunch there today-there was a choice of 2 home made soups-I had the italian tomato -a substantial serving and very tasty.I followed this with a lovely seeded roll filled with smoked chicken served with a side salad whilst my wife had a goat cheese and cranberry panini with a similar-and gorgeous-side salad.My wife also ordered a ginger beer-and all this enjoyed in comfortable sofa seating. £18.50 all in.Given the only alternative lunch venue is the over priced and joyless MacDonalds Hotel,the very existence of Treats is a life saver for those holidaying in the Kinloch Rannoch area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Multifunctional establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful find on our round Loch Rannoch. As people have said before this is primarily a cafe, but with good quality produce for sale, in addition to tasteful gifts, cards and paintings etc. I had the large platter with 3 different Scottish cheeses and 'real' not 'plastic' ham, freshly baked bread, poachers pickle and a large salad - that set me up for the afternoon. Magazines and papers are available for customers to read whilst they eat or just enjoy a cup of freshly brewed coffee. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and we would certainly make a point of returning when next in the area. I wish we had a place like this back home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Every village needs one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A lovely small tea room. Beautiful view over the hills if you are able to sit in a window. Efficient staff. A quality selection of gifts and a small room devoted to paintings and photographs for sale. Easy parking. Pity that it is 500 miles from my home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tearoom, gallery and shop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great asset to the village now that the local hotel has closed. Friendly, efficient staff with a good selection to choose from. Local papers to read and a nice relaxed atmosphere make this the place to take a journey break.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treats Cafe also viewed

Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treats Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.