We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Premier Inn standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Roads Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cross Roads Hotel Northampton to your Saves list
Cross Roads Hotel Northampton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Weedon Bec, Daventry NN7 4PX, England (Formerly Premier Inn Daventry)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weedon Bec
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not up to Premier Inn standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It's called Crossroads, and you can imagine that you are entering a bad soap opera. "Don't unload your bags" reads the notice by Reception. Too right! You're in for a drive to hunt for your room.

This is a noisy location right on two main roads. The secondary glazing helps as much as it can, but the creaking floorboards and bathroom extractor fans like jets taking off still make a terrible racket whenever anyone in the block moves.

We booked a room for two adults and a child. If this was Travelodge, I'd expect to have to make up the sofa bed myself. But this is Premier Inn, and I'd hope they'd at least set up the truckle bed, or have bedding ready in the room. Three guests arriving = set up room for three. It isn't rocket science! We were sorted within half an hour, but it's a shock after four hours of traffic jams to arrive and find your room is not ready.

The restaurant on site dropped the ball too - apparently we arrived at shift change, and being sat at the table behind the pillar, we were forgotten about. It happens, and you deal with it. But it didn't help.

Didn't sleep very well, and I normally do at a Premier Inn. It got jolly cold first thing in the morning and there was no heat in the radiators. Watch out! There are two entrances to the restaurant, and if you go in the wrong one at breakfast then it completely ruins their system. Guess which entrance to try? Well I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise for you!

We stay in a lot of Premier Inns. We choose to 'cos we know we can expect to get looked after. We were looked after, but we had to ask and normally at a Premier Inn the standard is higher. This one needs serious improving. Possibly by demolition. Kitty Jarvis and Meg Richardson turn to camera with shocked look on faces. Credits slide in sideways.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor so the creaking floorboards are not over your head. You'll have to lug your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Cross Roads Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    25
    23
    15
See reviews for
38
41
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you are a family DO NOT stay here. The rooms are small, the beds for the children a joke......mattress pulled out from under the double bed!!! Only two plug sockets in the entire room!!! Bathroom was tiny. Reception is next to Restaurant, but your room might be at the opposite end of complex which is across two sections of car park. You are given a key ( only one per room ) and this key also opens an exterior door in a separate building which means you all have to go in and out together as you can't just knock on the door to be let in......not ideal when unloading or packing up the car.

Room Tip: Room 36 was long, thin and lacked space.....despite supposedly being for a family of 4 .....dread to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Cross Roads Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weedon Bec hotels

Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Have stayed in many different hotels but the staff we encountered at theis hotel made myself and my family very welcome. The family room was perfect for our needs and for the price we could not fault the value for money and the service provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were just staying overnight on our way south. Our room was large, quiet and had a king size bed which was VERY comfortable. Nice sheets, pillows and duvet too. The television had poor reception which we thought was probably due to a very windy evening. We weren't bothered by this and TV was fine this morning. Bathroom was fine, not special but clean and all you need. Can't comment on breakfast as we were meeting friends for lunch and so gave it a miss

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The breakfast and the staff in the restaurant were both excellent. But at 4PM there was nobody on duty at reception to give us our key which didn't create a good first impression..

BUT the worst thing was the traffic noise. Easily the worst I have ever experienced in a UK hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a very disappointing and worrying time with booking our rooms with PI Daventry - especially as the family were travelling for the wedding of our son. However, I cannot complain about any other factors, the room was clean and comfortable. Sally on Receptiion was very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only member of staff who I found unhelpful was a little middle aged man, who I believe was the manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Used this hotel as a last minute stopover before business meetings in Northampton. It is ok, but below standard compared to many of the newer Premierinns. Building & rooms are getting a wee bit dated, looks like a 1970's building. My main gripe would be the creaky floors all over the room. The room and bathroom were both clean. Slight traffic noise - I think it was step-glazing. Pub next door was very friendly and good food.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Roads Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Roads Hotel Northampton

Address: High Street, Weedon Bec, Daventry NN7 4PX, England (Formerly Premier Inn Daventry)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry > Weedon Bec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weedon Bec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Roads Hotel Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Roads Hotel is conveniently located on the outskirts of the historic town of Weedon set back in its own rustic surroundings. The hotel is ideally situated for guests traveling on to Northampton, Daventry, Milton Keynes and Rugby. The M1 motorway, A5 and A45 are all within easy access. Silverstone race track is 13 miles and the Althorpe Estate is approximately 7 miles away. The hotel is also a great base for visiting Leamington Spa, Stratford on Avon and Warwick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cross Roads Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Daventry Hotel Northampton
Premier Inn Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Roads Hotel Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.