We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Real Retreat Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Real Retreat Company
Save
You added The Real Retreat Company to your Saves list
The Avenue, Flore, Northampton NN7 4LZ, England (Formerly Charterhouse Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Flore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A real retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

20 of us have just come back from staying here over the weekend for a hen do! The maid of honour couldn't have picked a better place. Absolutely perfect! We had the whole place to ourselves and enjoyed having treatments, swimming, chilling out, use of the fitness studio and had a big party on the Saturday night. We provided our own food and drink which was great, we could eat and drink when we wanted too. The rooms were lovely and quaint, the whole place was fab! I especially loved the stairs with the huge chandelier. I would definitely come back and stay here again! We all had such a great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We got married in May but it's taken me this long to review The Real Retreat. The one word I would use is magical! My sister organised the whole thing and Dennis ensured everything was perfect for our first night as husband and wife. The room was beautiful, the facilities were brilliant and the breakfast was out of this world. A night we will never forget! Highly recommend to anyone. Thank you Dennis!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My partner and I came for a day retreat deal - while the staff all seemed very nice, I have to agree with the last review....all a bit disappointing really. The whole place could do with a thorough clean and a spruce up.....arrived home in need of a shower!
Sorry....won't be returning as there are other places in the area far nicer and cleaner!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangMustain, Manager at The Real Retreat Company, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
The house is professionally cleaned on a daily basis so your observations are rubbish, please stay to true to your word and never come back as your stay with us was also a bit of a let down and there a lot nicer people in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Booked this spa day as an Amazon deal. The price was comparable with other offer days we'd had at Champneys & that's where the similarities ended. I echo the comments of an earlier visitor. There was another couple of friends at the same time as us making 4 in total but only 2 places to stretch out round the pool. So, we fetched beds from outside. Pool wasn't clean & whole area could have done with smartening up. Sauna was hot but tiny & you couldn't sit back as the wall was too hot. After a swim we were stuck with wet towels & no sign of fresh ones despite asking for them. treatment was ok but surprised not to be asked medical details especially after I'd asked if I had to remove medicalert band. Lunch was a major disappointment. A small pannini with cheese, tomato & pesto & some rocket leaves on the side. I was still very hungry - no fruit, pudding, hot drink to finish. The room had no bedding, no en suite bathroom & overlooked the schoolyard next door. On that subject, if this place is meant as a retreat then not many people could relax to the sound of children's playtimes. The day was a birthday treat for my friend - sadly we won't return & like a previous reviewer we escaped as soon as possible & certainly before the swimming class was due to arrive at 3.45 !!! Off to Waitrose for tea & cake!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangMustain, Manager at The Real Retreat Company, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
This review very is far from the truth, These people were here on an Amazon Local £89 inclusive deal that does not include access to any of the rooms thus the comment on the rooms having no bed linen should have been none of their concern as they were only at the retreat as day guest...we kindly offered them the room to change in not to stay in and certainly not to moan about... Fresh towels were stacked up by the entrance to the pool and there are plenty of chairs all around the pool. Professional moaners... I can only hope that these people stay true to their word and never come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Overall an exceptionally good experience! We organized a somewhat unusual event for this location, but it worked out extremely well. The actual place looks very good, and is in my opinion even more atmospheric than the description implies! Facilities were very good as well, with plentiful showers (many on suite), toilets and a downright impressive swimming pool.

The hosts were very friendly, and were on-site throughout the day.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Got a deal from Amazon Local for myself and a friend and we were both very impressed. It is a small place, very quiet and relaxing. Unlike a full spa, this is a retreat and doesn't have the same range of facilities, but what was there was excellent! The pool was lovely, treatment rooms were very good and the therapist was exceptional. It all felt very relaxed and intimate, there was only us and another two ladies there the whole day Light lunch was provided, and was very tasty, but maybe could have been a fraction bigger!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed there last
We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner on the first evening. The dinner was fantastic and it had a very intimate feel. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. It was so special that my boyfriend proposed to me there. Lovely stay! Thanks

Room Tip: Some rooms have en-suite others share a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Real Retreat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Real Retreat Company

Address: The Avenue, Flore, Northampton NN7 4LZ, England (Formerly Charterhouse Retreat)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Flore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flore
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Northamptonshire countryside, The Real Retreat Company offers a luxury escape from everyday life. The spa section of the house with the treatment room and the swimming pool oozes peace and tranquillity. Enjoy the peaceful surroundings, beautiful décor and warm welcome. All of the rooms are bright, airy with very comfortable beds in this stunning house with contemporary feel throughout. The house comfortable sleeps 17, with a dormitory sleeping 4 in single beds. Guests will have unlimited access to the swimming pool, sauna, studio (with table tennis table) and laundry room if required! The only room off limits is the manager's living space, above the television lounge. Guests will be welcomed on arrival, and met on departure to check that the property has been left in an adequate condition with no damage. Flore village is a small, country village with some beautiful properties. There is plenty of off-road walking to be done from the house, making use of the Nene Way and Jurassic Way. Country roads are small and windy, and the area is undulating, making it great for cycle rides. We are close to several places of interest including Althorpe House, ...read moreHouse rulesRelax and make yourself at home. We ask that the house be treated with respect. We do not allow smoking inside, but you are welcome to smoke outside within the premises. Please discard of cigarette butts carefully and sensibly. Please leave the house as you found it, and be careful not to damage the building or it's contents. The open fire in the lounge is there to use as and when you wish. No pets are allowed, unless cleared with the manager first. You will be asked to sign a damage waiver letter stating that you are responsible for any damage, accidental or otherwise, that occurs during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flore Retreat Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Real Retreat Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.