We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for pre-wedding stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel to your Saves list
Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel
Middlesbrough Road | Upsall - Guisborough, Guisborough TS14 6RW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £63
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good choice for pre-wedding stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A small group of us stayed at the Premier Inn the night before my son's wedding. We were very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The rooms are clean, and the bed was large and comfortable. I have not written a hotel review before but wanted to recommend this hotel In particular, the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, and they ensured our stay was comfortable and relaxing. You may only pay a budget price but you get everything you need for a nice stay. The 12 o'clock checkout time suited us well as it gave us time to get ready for the wedding. Our stay was a good experience and we will certainly use Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
32
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location for Middlesbrough and Guisborough. Very clean and tidy, super friendly staff and the food was brilliant. One of the best premier inn I've stayed! Staff telephone a week before to confirm and ask if we has any requests, which they fulfilled without question.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for two weeks whilst working away. From the minute I checked into reception to the time I checked out, I was always well looked after by the staff. The hotel room I had was always clean and tidy, the reception staff were on hand if needed and the bar/restaurant facilities were first rate. The food was very good and all the waiting staff were exceptional. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a hotel where the staff actually have a personality and actually enjoy talking to their customers. Other hotels I have stayed at have staff who always seem miserable. Not the case here.

Room Tip: A room at the back would be suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night (midweek) for business reasons.

The hotel is situated on a busy dual carriage way in the countryside. The rooms are satisfactory but compared to other Premier Inns, are now in need of a refurbishment. The rooms were clean and tidy and with the usual premier inn facilities etc.

The hotel is connected the pub next door and which was my choice for evening meal. Large menu with average pub grub – again with no complaints.

The only downside (which I should have looked at when booking) was the location, but if you are looking to relax for the evening, it’s perfect.

I would stay again if needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

That's the welcome you can expect. A good, no nonsense, motel. Spotlessly clean, good spacious rooms, and bathrooms. No internal / external noise owing to triple glazing. Good food, excellent value premier breakfast. Middlesbrough Central South Premier Inn serves proper coffee with breakfast, not filter coffee. However if you order a coffee at the bar you will receive a 'proper' coffee. First class staff. Lovely Inn which I first visited 43 years ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed throughout christmas and the new year, a lot of noise from housekeeping, bed never got changed until the 4th day (out of 5-by our request) food was nice. Staff.....well I've never seen such miserable looking people, not interested in customer interaction or small talk. Overall, rather than keeping customers happy, the staff seemed rather dis-interested and rude. Management wasn't very presentable at all, with no real understanding when giving him negative feedback....tells you something ?? Hope you like to wait around at reception as it took us 3 attempts (individually ringing the bell 3 times) to get an answer. 24 hour reception I think not. Good night guarantee I think not. Wouldn't stay again.....only as a very last resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I think the thing about Premier Inns is that you can never get the low prices they advertise, and they seem to bounce around like a yoyo making it difficult to budget. There aren't a tremendous number of average-priced B&B establishments in this part of Cleveland (southern edge of Teesside overlooking the North York Moors), and it only takes a conference to fill every room. The other side of the Eston Hills (at the rear) are the chemical industries that ensure the sky never grows dark, unfortunately. The rooms here, fitted to the high "economy" standards of all Premier Inns, are large and absolutely fit for purpose. Guisborough is especially clean, although the hot water was on the blink, fixed after I left. Situated right on the dual carraigeway between Nunthorpe and Guisborough, they used to have a bad noise problem, but the double (if not triple) glazing does the trick. I suspect rooms at the rear are quieter, and the traffic dies down after rush hour. The restaurant is efficient enough for a plastic menu cheap and cheerful. There's nothing wrong with the food or cooking except it all seems to be the usual mass-produced stuff - shame there's no local produce, even for a few pounds more. It's well appointed with some old original features. The outside seating area is also sheltered from the road and overlooks the wooded hills, with hooting ouls after sundown.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, but were often difficult to find and a bit hassled I felt. They did admit the pricing (accomodation) was erratic, not the cheapest, and they'd never been able to offer the advertised "Prices from" no matter how far in advance you try to book.

All this said, for a night or two on a business trip, this place ticks most of the boxes if you want plain and simple "cookie cutter". I wouldn't stay here for longer or for a holiday. There is competition around the £65 mark (and places with better food), and I'd recommend readers shop around the area. When you turn your back on the just-out-of-sight heavy industry of Teesside, this is a delightful, indeed beautiful corner of England: coast, hills, dales, friendly people and the mini matterhorn that is Roseberry Topping.

PS, if you're interested in local history and archaeology, don't miss the free and excellent Saxon Princess exhibition at Kirkleatham Old Hall Museum (a true princess buried in her bed with incredible jewels), and Guisborough Prioriy just up the road.

Room Tip: Always request a room at the rear if you can figure out how to do that. The staircase can also be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel

Address: Middlesbrough Road | Upsall - Guisborough, Guisborough TS14 6RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Middlesborough South (Guisborough) Hotel Guisborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Night Inns Cross Keys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.