We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gisborough Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gisborough Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Gisborough Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were looking for a pleasant hotel within striking distance of Whitby (25 mins away through fantastic countryside). We booked this over the phone and were offered a discounted rate for a family room of £108 per room per night for B&B (2 adults 2 children) which was very reasonalbe. Our family room (213) was on the second floor of the newer block and was spacious and clean with a velux window. If we had one gripe it was that the velux would only open a few inches but I guess this is to stop people leaving it open when it rains. This meant the room was a little warm when first entering but it soon cooled off. The room was quiet, the beds were very comfortable and there were complimentary drinks, water, biscuits etc as well as scotch (!!) which we don't drink but which was a nice touch. Breakfast was absolutely first class. Quite simply the best hotel breakfast I have had in 20 years of staying in hotels - the sausages were amazing and the ambience of the dining room was lovely. We used the terrace at the front of the hotel to take our teas onto and sat in the sun. I could have sat there all day. Wonderful. The staff throughout our stay were without exception very pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The bar was a little sparse beer-wise and I would have been happier to see a couple of real ales on cask but this is just nit-picking. All in all this was a lovely four days and we will definitely go back when visiting the North Yorkshire moors. I have read the negative reviews on here and these seem somewhat petty to me - I would certainly recommend this hotel and if you are a family and can get the family rooms then it is great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    247
    73
    22
    11
See reviews for
92
530
16
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a room in the new block. Initial impressions on entering the reception area were good with regard to the building and the decor. Rather disappointed with the room which was both cold (in July) and dark. The voile curtains could not be opened which made the room even darker and despite the fact that it was mid summer we needed the lights on all the time. The view was of a car park. Some of the walls were scuffed. The en suite bathroom, however, was of a high standard and the beds were comfortable. The real disappointment came at meal times; we had to wait a very long time for drinks orders to be taken in the bar, for menu ordering, for being seated at the table, for cutlery to arrive (after the meal had been served!), for wine orders to be taken and for wine to be delivered to the table etc etc. On the first night we thought this was probably an unusual exception but by the 2nd night we realised it was normal for this hotel. I have never stayed anywhere before where cutlery was brought after the meal has been served. Similarly at breakfast both days, we had to wait in the lounge before we could be allocated a breakfast table. This was supposed to be with coffee/tea and newspapers. There were never any newspapers as the people eating their breakfast already had them and my husband had to go hunting around behind the bar to find sugar for his coffee. The staff were friendly but there did not appear to be any overall management of the services. When it came to filling in the hotel questionnaire, I had to take a pen from the cleaner's trolley because there wasn't one in our room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor

As a hotel team, we are not complacent about our standards and value all comments, we are sincerely sorry that you had a unsatisfactory stay with us and had cause to comment on the less than perfect standards.

Over the past few weeks our team have received refresher training in delivering our core standards particularly those in breakfast, dinner and lounge service, we hope to regain the high ratings and positive comments that we normally receive. We have also contracted additional painting support over the summer refreshing bedrooms which have been prioritised as requiring immediate attention.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope that should we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future that you will find improvement.

Kim Yardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel is sublime a fantastic building in a great setting.I would highly reccomend a stay here the grounds and the interior are to an excepionally high standard and not as expensive as it appears.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Have just come back from a weekend at this hotel please do not be put off going by any poor reports of this hotel as if you are you are missing a treat .The food, location,rooms, cleanliness are all very good but what makes it wonderful are the staff .We have never been to a hotel where the staff are as friendly and efficient as these.They appear to be happy in their work and it shows and makes for a good atmosphere in the hotel.
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I have complained to the hotel about our disapointment but didn't want anyone else to throw money down the drain. The hotel setting is magical but thats where the magic ends. Staff are generally friendly but over worked and clearly under trained. General cleanliness of the hotel is lacking and windows were dirty and sweared. During our stay beer was 'off the menu' as the cooler had broken down and they ran out of bottled beers!! (Four star hotel!) None were bought in for the two nights, three days we were there and some wines were out of stock also. Service was like a 1 star hotel and can only be described as organised chaos. Food was good though and the views were fanatstic (even if we couldn't enjoy a cold beer on the terrace to enjoy them).

On the whole a very disapointing short break, please take heed I wish we had!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor

As a hotel team, we are passionate about hotel cleanliness and value greatly all guest comments. This morning I walked the hotel with my housekeeper checking the window cleanliness, our window cleaner has recently cleaned them and they are now pristine, however we will monitor weekly to ensure they continue to shine.

We apologised to all guests for the failure of the beer cooler which was replaced by the brewery, although we had a quantity and variety of bottled lagers, we only stock one brand of bottled beer as the demand for this is minimal, however the demands for both beer and wine whilst the coolers were inoperative caused some shortages. Fortunately this is not a reoccurring problem in the hotel.

I have read with interest your comments regarding our staff and service. Team members employed at this hotel are inducted and undergo a structured training programme addressing core standards and customer service skills which are continually reviewed. We investigate all guest comments received and will review your comments and take appropriate action.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope that should we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future that you have both a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Kim Yardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Second visit to this hotel and must say we had good deals both times with travel zoo. The room may have been in the new wing (could get lost!) but it was spacious with a huge comfy bed.
The breakfast was nicely presented with a huge array of everything buffet style plus cooked traditional English. Evening meal was beautifully presented and the choice was good. We had afternoon tea on the terrace facing wonderul gardens and farmland and how the sun shone, it was so nice and I guess we were lucky with the weather but even so the place is just comfy with pleasant young staff who are really helpful. Take a trip to Whitby and Runswick bay or go boating on the river Esk. The countryside is just so pleasant the English countryside was at its high summer best. Go and try this place, I feel sure you won't be disappointed, especially if you get a good deal like we did!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed in the Admiral Suite for my partners birthday. The room was very comfortable all amenities were to a very high standard. She had treatments at the spar which proved to be worth there while as they are intricate with the services. The food was fantastic and the hotel bar was very modern offering a good selection of drinks. The general clientelle seem to be of the older generation so we did feel a little young (this was on a sunday night). the restaraunt was ok in terms of decoration however i dont think it should be modernised, there seemed to be a lot of clutter. The waiter was brilliant (i think his name was manuel, yes, seriously). Overall beautiful and clean hotel with great service, though maybe better for younger clients to visit on friday / saturdays.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gisborough Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.