We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salubrious, quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gisborough Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gisborough Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Gisborough Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Salubrious, quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Beautiful hotel, friendly and courteous staff, stunning grounds - perfect for a wedding, quality food, spacious room with huge bed (king +)

We were looking for a treat and this certainly hit the spot. Reassuringly expensive - ie fairly pricey but at least you feel that it's worth it due to the surroundings.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — The wait for coffee and toast at breakfast - it was very busy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    221
    63
    21
    9
See reviews for
83
489
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Ont.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed in the Lady Gisborough Suite in the old part of the hotel and it was gorgeous!! The view of the rolling countryside from the windows was breathtaking.

The common areas were lovely, the service was friendly and efficient and the entire hotel was charming.

I loved the "middle of nowhere" feel to it. I vacation to get away from the nightmare that is Toronto, so to find such a quality hotel in the country was a huge treat, especially considering it was a completely unexpected stop.

The only thing I found disappointing (and I'm certain that they would have brought more had I actually asked) is that there was almost no fresh fruit remaining on the buffet when we came down for breakfast. When I go to a buffet, I expect it to be stocked regardless of what time I arrive (and we did arrive toward the end). I don't feel I should have to ask for items. Honestly a very minor issue and I'm just being picky. :-)

The hot breakfast was very nice and my husband thoroughly enjoyed all his and half of mine. Lol. Between the buffet and the hot breakfast there was a lot of food.

We were completely pleased with everything!! Will definitely return next time we travel "across the pond".

Tip: Oh, you MUST take a day trip to nearby Whitby!! It is the most adorable town and what was going to be a little stop through ended up being a 4 hour stay! We didn't want to leave.

  • Liked — Beauty of setting and service
  • Disliked — Pricey - but worth it.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

We enjoyed a lovely weekend at Gisborough Hall. The hotel is located in the lovely area of Gisborough and North Yorkshire Moors. Very striking house, but with all the luxuries of a top class hotel. What impressed us most was the attentive staff. Never have we stayed in such a hotel where all staff, young and old were so accomodating. All the waiters and waitresses were fantastic, we couldn't fault them. The rooms were lovely, we stayed in the newer part of the building, and these were equally nice. One little gripe we had was the library bar was wonderfully stocked with malt whiskeys, vodkas, cocktails, but there was only 3 draught beers and all bottle beers were extremely over priced. It would be great if they had some locally brewed ales on draught. The drinks though are very pricey!! Breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't bring you enough coffee and toast. Dinner was also good in Tocketts Restaurant, again the staff shined through. We will definately visit this hotel again.
If your looking for a local brewed beer, visit The White Swan in Stokesley, about 15mins away from Gisborough. They are a mircobrewery and the beer is great, and at only £2.40 a pint, well worth a visit!!!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Poor drinks choice at bar and too expensive
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

We have just got back from a walking weekend break at the North End of the Cleveland Way and chose to stay in this Hotel for location.

The Hotel was every bit as good as recent reviews have highlighted. Lovely setting, warm welcoming staff and large clean rooms. We stayed in the new wing of the hotel at the back and although you dont get the experience of the old house rooms they are very spacious, the shower and bathroom large and the location is serene and quiet.

The Hot breakfast is cooked to order - the rest is self serve. The service is as good as I have experienced in any hotel stay but with it was always with a genuine smile. The Restaurant manager (Geovanni) was especially friendly going out of his way to deliver a newspaper to the table and regaling us with local advice..

The hotel is at the gateway to the moors but ideal for walkers and only 20 mins drive to Middlesbrough. I recommend the walk from Great Ayton to Captain James Cooke's monument at the top of Easby Moor and then carry on to Yorkshire's "Matterhorn" Roseberry Topping.

  • Liked — The Friendly Staff Who Make the Stay enjoyable
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

What an amazing hotel. Absolutely beautiful. My husband and I also had a completely different experience at the hotel than the previous review. Check in and out was very efficient and the staff were more than helpful and welcoming.

The impression we had regarding the staff that worked there was that they couldn't do enough for us. They were always polite and spoke whenever they saw us. One young lady was even kind enough to help us with a few of the local attractions to visit during our stay - we had a lovely visit to Whitby and Saltburn thanks to her.

We also stayed in the Woodlands Wing - this part of the hotel is more modern and contemporary compaired to the main part of the hotel. I agree that we may try to stay in the older part of the hotel next time as I can imagine the rooms would mirror the decor of the actual hotel. This isn't to say that the rooms in the Woodlands Wing are not nice, far from it. There was everything there that you needed - and if it wasn't there, the staff are more than willing to bring you what you needed.

I must say that I do disagree with the previous review by way of the cat ! I am a cat lover and she is most gorgeous, soppy (and big) cat you could meet. She certainly brings a homely approach to the hotel which is really nice. I get the impression that she certainly rules the roost !

And last, but certainly not least, the food is out of this world! If you are a pudding lover I would definitely recommend the Baileys and Coffee Fondant desert, with chocolate brownie icecream ! The creme brulee is something else as well !

  • Liked — Food !
  • Disliked — It ended!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Reading the previous review my experience was totally different, I found the staff to be extremely friendly from making the reservation to checking in and out. I was sent information in the post detailing directions, attractions in the area and information on the hotel even though this was not asked for.

The booking call was handled very well, I called lateish on in the evening and the call handler was very efficient and friendly, I was offered different rates for different room types but the explanation of the difference was clearly explained.

I knew from this point that our stay at Gisborough hall was going to be special and we were not disappointed, on arrival we were met at the car by a young man who immediately welcomed us to the hotel and introduced himself, he carried our bags and walked us to the reception area and introduced me and my wife to the receptionist. The check in was very personal and friendly, we made our dinner booking for both nights as it was very busy and the times we wanted were not available, we had to eat later than we would of liked on the first night which was the only negative, however to be fare I was asked when I booked the hotel if I wanted to make the dinner booking, I would certainly recommend that dinner is booked in advance of arriving as it was very busy.

Our room was very practical, clean and bright with modern furnishings, we were in the new wing which I think is called the woodland as opposed to the main old building which is amazing with grand old rooms and traditional furniture, our next visit will certainly be in this part of the hotel.

Overall every aspect of our stay was fantastic, the staff are just so friendly and genuine to offer help at every possible stage. The food is great and the local town is beautiful and full of character just like the hotel. If I had to think of any negatives it would be the cat which is resident at the hotel, it sleeps on the furniture and I just don’t like cats much.

Certainly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, we have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and this one is certainly in the top 5, the staff here are one of its main assets along with its location and natural beauty. 10 out of 10 from me!

  • Liked — The Staff are amazing and the building is also
  • Disliked — The Cat
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

We stayed here recently for a friend’s wedding. The wedding itself was excellent. The staff were very friendly, the food was fantastic, the room and setting was lovely and the whole event was really special. We were really impressed.

However, staying at the hotel was a different matter. The problems first started when I rang to book a room earlier in the year. I rang to enquire about prices and was quoted a price of £100 B&B. I therefore said I would call them back after I had checked with my husband. We agreed to go for it and I rang back to book.

The person I spoke to quoted me a slightly higher rate but told me not too book this. They explained that as we were staying as part of a wedding, the bridal couple should block book some rooms and we would get a much cheaper rate. Therefore, we let our friends know and waited.

They contacted the hotel to be told the “special” wedding rate was £130 B&B. Obviously this was higher than the other rates we had been given and this was supposed to be discounted!

I therefore called the hotel to try and sort this out as we were now very confused. I recounted the conversations I had previously had and asked them to confirm the rate. The confirmed it as £130 B&B. I asked whether there was a special wedding rate and they said this was it. I explained that I had been advised earlier that a much cheaper rate would be available. I also explained that I had checked their website and they were offering the £103 B&B rate on that and therefore surely the wedding rate was discounted from this, as anyone could book this rate? I further asked what their normal tarrif was I wanted to know whether there was actually any discount. The person said they needed to check and put me on hold.

I was on hold for around 15/20 minutes. During this time, I checked the website and found that the £103 B&B rate was still available on there. I was starting to get really fed up so started booking online during the wait.

When the person eventually came back on, she said the higher rate was the only rate she could offer me. She didn’t confirm what the normal rate was. She asked if I wanted to book at this rate and I declined saying that when the £103 rate was still on offer on the website, why should I pay more.

I therefore put the phone down and clicked to undertake the final bit of the internet booking. However, it said there was a technical problem and I should refresh the page. On doing so….the £103 rate had gone and was now £133! I was furious as it seemed very strange to me that this rate had suddenly gone up when I had told them I was intending to book the £103 rate on the website.

I therefore called them back immediately and put my concerns to them. Their reply was that they were sure they could honour the £103 rate! This didn't really allay my concerns about this rate suddenly going up, as why would they now suddenly let me have the cheaper rate which they had already said they couldn’t offer it to me?

On arrival at the hotel, we checked in. The woman was extremely cold and unwelcoming. She gave us the key to the room and explained roughly how to get to it. However, she didn’t tell us the number of the room. I politely asked the room number and was told “It’s on the paper” (the little card you get with your key). We thought this was rude and unhelpful.

Check out was almost a similar story. The information in the room said check out was 12 noon. However, we heard from someone else just before 11am that it was 11am. Not very useful having inaccurate room info.

The person who checked us out was the first friendly member of hotel staff we had encountered and dealt with us in a friendly and efficient manner.

This hotel clearly has service issues and it is a great shame as the hotel itself is really nice and clearly provides good conference facilities. We were also concerned over the booking scenario, especially when we heard from another guest that they had a not dissimilar experience. Therefore, if you do choose to stay here, check the rates carefully.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gisborough Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.