We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Field View B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Field View B&B to your Saves list
Field View B&B
Green Lane, Yarm TS15 9EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“OK, but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The best things for us was the location, as we arrived by train and this B+B is just outside the railway station. The room was fine and the bathroom a good size. However, having said this, it is difficult to put my finger on why I would call this B+B average. I think the website and other comments on Tripadvisor raised our expectations and then ultimately we were disappointed. It just all seemed very functional (and clinical), rather than warm and friendly. Breakfast was OK, but again a little on the average side, rather than good. We were also woken in the middle of the night by some loud and drunk guests. They made quite a bit of damage for the poor owners. I know it can happen anywhere, but it just rounded off our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
36
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westbury, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend for a wedding we had to check in late due to travelling up. The guest house were more than accomodating giving our key to another couple in the wedding party for us get into the room. The rooms were clean (we had an unsuite room) and tidy, breakfast was a choice of full english or buffet of cereals bread etc.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were very helpful in helping us when we lost our camera over the weekend and supplied details for our insurance when they didnt have to.

I would stay again....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great stay, we stay here every year for the annual fair. Nothing is ever a problem. Very comfortable accommodation and run to a high standard.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Slept like a log and breakfast was farmhouse quality. Given the chance, I will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Although we didn't have a field view, we had a lovely clean well-decorated room with a 4-poster bed, a small TV and an ensuite bathroom (well actually a shower-room in a cupboard behind a couple of slatted doors, but still perfectly adequate). A chair in the room would, however, have been useful, as would an accessible power socket to plug in the provided hair dryer!

We were very pleased with the free wi-fi access and tea/coffee making facilities, and the fact that rooms are accessible all day (and all night!). Although we didn't take advantage of it, the lounge with its large-screen TV is an excellent facility. Breakfast, with its choice of cereals and fruit juices followed by a full English, toast and preserves, was very good value.

S7EVE and V1CKY made us very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful during our stay. They own and run an excellent establishment, which is great value for money and ideal for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in this B&B after a wedding last Friday night. The owners are absolutely lovely, and the accomodation is too. We were put in the new rooms separate from the main building. The decor and layout of the room was fantastic and the ensuite bathroom was lovely. A large shower ensured I woke up refreshed the next day.

We got up for breakfast and were greeted by the owner with a smile and he couldn't help enough. We had a choice of cereals, fruit juices etc and then as much tea/coffee as you could drink and a lovely full English fry-up. I would highly recommend this B&B to people - it's fantastic value for money and the owners are lovely and extremely helpful. It's a family-run business and I hope it continues to be as successful as it was when we stayed there. Top notch!!!

Room Tip: The new rooms built separately are lovely and there's also an apartment that looks lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend whilst visiting family & friends. Lovely clean room and great hosts. Will recommend to friends and colleague's. Many thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Field View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field View B&B

Address: Green Lane, Yarm TS15 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yarm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Field View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field View Hotel Yarm
Field View Bed And Breakfast
Field View B&B Yarm, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Field View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.