We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and very lovely relaxing hotel and spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Quay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer by the Sea - 2nts
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Deganwy
1 review
“Friendly staff and very lovely relaxing hotel and spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel and spa for my husbands 50th birthday and what a brilliant choice, staff fantastic even had a birthday cake and card in our room on arrival from the hotel. Lovely food and the spa was just what we needed, we booked the executive room which had stunning views the only down side is that we only booked one night

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent "birthday" celebration stay at the Quay.

So good to know you enjoyed our lovely food, great spa and stunning views from one of our Executive Suites.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future - maybe a longer stay next time !

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    726
    287
    112
    39
    29
See reviews for
140
678
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
anglesey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I can only mention all these names,who made us feel so special. Reception: Sophie, Sandra. restaurant: Chio-Manager, Shauna-host, Mugute & Katia, Sue-chef, Chris Bar.

The meal was divine and the spices, close to my heart

Every on of the staff were extremely helpful, an asset to your company.

We were treated like royalty and enjoyed our stay so much we will remember always.

I big thankyou.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind compliments and I am delighted that such a list of my team, made your stay with us "So special".

Good to know you enjoyed your divine meal and found all my staff extremely helpful - your great feedback is very much appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future -

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Four of us recently visited at the end of October after booking through (secretescapes.com) for two luxury estuary rooms for two pairs of mother and daughter. When we arrived we were stood at reception for at least 20 minutes before we were told there had been a problem with our booking. We were then told that we needed to follow the manager to view two rooms and one pair choose which one they would prefer. The other room had been 'complementary' upgraded, leaving one couple with a choice view of a wall, a view of the train tracks (neither near the other pairs room, or estuary facing) we were also given the option to sleep on a sofa bed in the 'upgraded' room. This left both couples to decide which pair would forfeit the 'upgraded' room. By the time we had chosen our rooms and waited around for a new key to be delivered for the second room, we had lost time that we had planned to use the spa facilities and had received a not so relaxing start to our relaxing girly night away. For all the trouble we received one bottle of wine between the four of us. However - the treatments were good, the sauna and steam room were fabulous and the food was tasty. We found the hydro therapy swimming pool to be too cold and our rooms too hot.

I wouldn't normally like to leave a poor review. But after emailing to explain our disappointment over two weeks ago, we are yet to receive a reply, though ironically one pair has been given an upgrade for their next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your valued feedback, following your stay with us in October. I am sorry to read of the disappointments encountered with your room allocation and would confirm that there was an error on our booking system.

It is a shame that we have not received your email of two weeks ago, confirming the issues of concern, as I would have responded immediately.

I have spoken to my Reception Manager, who attended to you on your day of arrival, offering you the alternative accommodation, including your request for a Suite to sleep all four, which was declined. I do appreciate that the available rooms were not near each other and not the estuary facing views you had expected. Although you will acknowledge, despite the privacy wall, there are views from Room 274, looking across the estuary and out to sea. The second room offers views directly onto the Marina, and I do agree there is a railway track beyond the Marina and residential properties, on the edge of Deganwy Quay.

I am sorry to read that time was lost in re-location of your rooms and understand this was not an ideal start to your weekend. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the spa treatments, sauna and steam facilities and found the food tasty.

With regard to the hydro therapy pool I would explain that it is fed directly from the main pool, which is maintained at a constant temperature of 29 – 31 degrees, however the water flowing from the jets may, at times, become cooler, before coming back to temperature in the main pool.

I do apologise for our shortfalls and would confirm that the complimentary accommodation upgrade applies to both pairs. When you have a date in mind to return, do contact me directly, so I can personally take care of your reservation.

I look forward to hearing from you in the future and welcoming you back for a much improved experience.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September, one night and dinner as a Red Letter Day deal and the remainder as a normal stay. We upgraded to a sea view room which was spacious and well appointed but a bit too much for Red Letter Day admin to get their heads round who did their best to confound us all. Well done The Quay for not being blindsided by them !

Staff were attentive, service was good and the food and wine superb. With breakfast though they started to wind down service towards the end of the sitting (30 minutes to go) and had to be reminded to replenish both hot and cold buffet. On the whole though breakfast was varied and tasty.

The view from our balcony across the estuary was beautiful. Parking was ample and all in all we had a lovely stay made even better by their excellent staff. It's a great base to explore Anglesey and Snowdon area, we were even lucky with the weather which only deteriorated on the last afternoon.

Value for money - yes; would we recommend it - certainly !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback, following your stay with us in September. So good to know you enjoyed the upgraded sea view room, my attentive staff offering good service with superb food and wine.

Delighted to read that you were impressed by our beautiful location and found Deganwy an excellent base to explore the wonders of North Wales.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are about to embark on our third visit to this hotel and we can’t wait. This is a fabulous hotel that has given us everything we need to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The hotel is well situated on the Marina with ample guest parking. Upon check in we have always been greeted at reception by a friendly team with a smile who confirm we have everything to make our stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and certainly serviced to a high standard. We requested extra pillows and they were delivered within minutes. The food is prepared with quality ingredients and presented as art on a plate. We have enjoyed the spa facility with a good size pool and we particularly enjoy the steam room. The real jewel in the crown at this hotel is the team who work so well together to deliver such an excellent customer experience. We recommend this hotel to all our family and friends. Well done to all the team, and can’t wait to see you all later this week.
Jane & Tony

Room Tip: We have on both visits had a superior room over looking the marina . Spacious room with lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your lovely posting in anticipation of your third visit to the Quay. Delighted to know we always provide a friendly welcome, you've enjoyed our comfortable and spacious accommodation, quality food and great pool facilities.

Good to know of your kind appreciation of my team of their excellent customer service. Thank you for your valued recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My daughter and I have just had a fabulous break at this hotel. The room with huge comfortable bed and a view to die for with the sun shining on the boats bobbing in the estuary. The meal was exceptional and we both enjoyed tasting new and unusual dishes! The spa, swimming pool and sauna were an added luxury. However, what pulled this all together were the staff, whoever oversees recruitment picks the best of the crop ! I think customer care can be taught but all staff we met just seemed happy and cared about their customers on a genuine natural level, from the young girl who was so friendly when booking in and showing us to our room - to ALL staff who served us in the restaurant, the lovely spa team and even the young girl cleaning a room who stopped and found me a bag for a wet swimsuit. Well done - we will be back and recommend you to everyone !

Room Tip: We looked directly on to the water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed a "fabulous" break at the Quay Hotel. Good to know you found the accommodation comfortable with fantastic views. Glad to hear you experienced great food and took best advantage of our pool, sauna and steam amenities!

Your kind words regarding my team are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all. Thank you for your recommendations and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for 1 night to attend a function. The Room was very pleasant with modern furnishings, with Hot Chocolate in the room! The Staff were very helpful.

The Location is excellent, with view overlooking the North Wales coast line, with the Marina is right next door.

Food was a tad disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind posting, following you recent one night stay with us at the Quay. Good to know you found the room very pleasant and enjoyed the Hot Chocolate !

Sorry to note you found the food slightly disappointing, I will forward your comments on to my Head Chef to ensure improvement in the consistency of the quality offered.

Do hope you will visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel And Spa
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.