We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Quay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Quay Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed one night before a meeting & the location of this hotel made me feel like I was on a sneaky holiday. Very good welcome at reception, with information about what to see and do along the coast. Room was very comfy. We ate in the restaurant and although the prices were more than I would usually pay, it was worth it. The lamb was very tasty. Will definitely book again as would like explore this part of Wales more.m

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback, following your overnight stay. Great to know that, although your stay was a business requirement, our welcome and ambience made you feel like you were on holiday.

I am pleased to read that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed your dining experience in our Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, for a real holiday break, so can truly relax and enjoy all that North Wales has to offer.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    373
    141
    54
    30
See reviews for
181
838
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bangor, wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My mum and me went for lunch and the food was amazing, the service was fantastic and we really enjoyed the lovely views. We loved it that much that we are going again this week and are also going to try the spa as an added bonus. I would say if you can go then do so wonderful afternoon for my mum and me. Thank you so much

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room this time, but we will do in the future as we loved the whole look of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words following your recent lunch with your mother. It is great to know how much you enjoyed your time at the Quay and appreciated the fantastic service and wonderful views.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon - I know you will have a lovely Spa experience on your next visit!

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at The Quay as part of a hen party and had booked the luxury hen package which included 2 spa treatments, glass of fizz, 4 course meal, bed and breakfast.
The hotel was easy to find, stunning views and the hotel was great.
Bedrooms either had a private balcony or area outside. We would have taken advantage of the great views but the weather wasnt great. Rooms were clean and a good size.
The spa was a wonderful experience, staff were very friendly and i would highly recommend the hot stone massage.
Food was excellent and I would certainly have the sticky toffee pudding again - heaven!!
The bed was very comfy and breakfast excellent.
I am certainly looking forward to staying at the Quay in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments following your "hen party" stay with us at the Quay Hotel earlier in the month. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed our stunning views, clean, good sized rooms, wonderful spa experience and the sticky toffee pudding!

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at The Quay in February when heavy snow was forecast, and really were half hoping that we would be snowed in! Our room looked onto the inner harbour, which was a bit grey due to the weather. In the summer I'm sure it would be fantastic. Our table in the restaurant looked out to the estuary and towards Conwy Castle. It was beautiful.The food was amazing, and even though the wine was rather expensive, we have found a new favourite . Staff were lovely - naturally friendly, and helpful. Not overpowering. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Diolch - thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay, delighted to know that you enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant, overlooking teh Castle and estuary, with amazing food and lovely, naturally friendly staff.

Glad to note you will be returning and let's hope we can provide some sunshine on your next visit.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way to catch the ferry to Ireland. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar served a good cocktail, and dinner in the restaurant was delicious. The room was spacious with a big comfy bed. After a good night's sleep we were ready for the excellent breakfast. We didn't have time to visit the area or use the spa, but would definitely stay again if we come back to explore further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments folloiwng your night "en route" to the Irish Ferry. Delighted to hear that my staff were friendly and helpful and your enjoyed excellent meals in our Restaurant.

Glad to hear you will definitely be returning and I look forward to welcoming you back - the Snowdonia area of North Wales is well worth a proper visit and the Quay Spa offers the most indulgent of delights.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Bad start as we have to wait to be checked in for almost 3 hours as the hotel is full, but the manager on duty made up for it by complementing us with a glass of champaign each.
The suite is massive but we think it could benefit with a makeover as it seemed dated and tacky but the view is stunning! Makes one forgive all the imperfections of the hotel and everything else...
The food in the restaurant- The Grill Room, is simply divine from the starters to dessert! Clean plates every time. Overall, a wonderful stay in and will definitely return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your valued feedback folloiwng your recent visit to the Quay Hotel. I was sorry to learn that you had a bit of a wait to check in, but would assure you that 99.9% of the time we have all accommodation available from 3pm on the day of arrival. If guests arrive earlier than this time, and the room is not ready, then guests are most welcome to use all the hotel faciltiies and amenities.

Good to know you enjoyed the stunning views from your room and would confirm that we are currently undertaking a refurbishment programme of all our bedrooms to ensure standards continue to be maintained and improved.

Delighted that you found our Restaurant offerings "divine" and will be definitely returing for another visit. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went for a short mid week break in January. Hotel much more modern than I had expected but rooms were clean, comfy and well appointed. We had a view over the estuary and a very inquisitive gull on our balcony. Reception staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Our main issue with this hotel was the food. We had a bar snack at lunchtime and this was very good, if a little pricey. However, evening meals in the restaurant were a bit hit and miss. Although they tried hard, we felt that some of the flavours didn't work together and this was a bit disappointing as we do like good food. The only dish that worked completely was dessert. I have a wheat intolerance but can manage some, so I hadn't asked for anything special, so when I ordered a gluten free item from the menu I was pretty horrified to see it presented with wheat products. When I pointed this out to the waiter he looked slightly blank but did visit the kitchen to check the situation. He came back saying the chef had decided to change the dis and clearly had not advised his restaurant staff. Breakfast was very good. The pool was pleasant and quiet when we went in the morning. We isn't get the chance to use the spa. Lovely day out in nearby Conwy, just across the estuary as there isn't much to do in Deganwy. Llandudnu is a 15 - 20 minute drive and worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valued feedback following your mid-week break in January. Great to know you enjoyed a clean, comfy and well-appointed room, our leisure facilties, our stunning views and location and a good breakfast. I do apologise for the disappointments encountered during lunch and dinner and would confirm I have spoken with the relevant managers to address your concerns and ensure improvements in our quality and service.

I trust you will consider a return visit and when you have a date in mind, do contact me directly, so I can personally take care of your reservation, I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Best wishes
Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.