We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paysanne

Paysanne
147 Station Road, Deganwy LL31 9EJ, Wales
01492 582079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Deganwy
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have never had a bad meal here. As we visited during the heat wave we both had fish dishes for starters and mains. The starters were excellent but the fish was exceptional. I had a whole sea bream with lovely sharp lemony spinach and cream sauce. The fish was moist and seasoned perfectly. Hubby had seat trout and samphire and lemon and butter sauce. For desert I had their amazing summer pudding, which drips with fruit juice. Seriously good pudding. What makes this place special though is its staff. The service is quirky but very efficient and the views across to Conwy castle are stunning. They also do a fantastic selection of wine that would cost double what they charge of it were located in the South of England. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An old favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited many times over the last ten years the food service and wine are as good as ever. Moved to the area no stopping us now

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, relaxed surroundings....Superb.!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the second time we have visited Paysanne after some years. I wanted to take my wife somewhere special for our anniversary and remembered it was just fantastic food and a relaxed intimate environment too.

This time round we were just as pleased. A truly warm welcome and all the quirkiness we remembered. A real passion for food and service that was second to none, and food that was simply the best I've ever had eating out.

Thank you so much for a fantastic evening and wholeheartedly recommend Paysanne to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, wine and service, and able to eat outside with the dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved the meal, boulibasse best ever tasted, sea bass wonderfully fresh, dressing served on side as I had said just a little, veg brilliant, and potatoes so light they kind of dissolved on the tongue, disordered eton mess, was in fact quite ordered and again, lovely and light, my partner had melon, pea shoots, elderflower and mint dressing, sea trout, and eton mess. loved it all. Best wine we have had for as long as we remember, super friendly service. Would definitely go back if we were ever in the area, but won't be staying at the Quay if that were to happen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deganwy delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

we decided, on our wedding anniversary, not to eat in the hotel so phoned Paysanne. we were immediately told, no problem we have a table.
Now when a restaurant takes a last minute 7.30 booking on a Wednesday one wonders if it will be empty. How wrong we were; by 8.30 the place was nearly full, lots of atmosphere in the a French style.
The proprietor was welcoming, very informative & helpful in our choices of food. The food was absolutely Divine, Bouillabaisse then whole sea bream, the wine choice (sancerre) was perfect & the service was just right for a leisurely 2 hour meal ending with cheese & coffee.
drinks before plus the wine & meals totalled £100. considering the drinks were £35, a very reasonable price for a memorable meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paysanne also viewed

 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Paysanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paysanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.