We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose And Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rose And Crown Inn to your Saves list
Rose And Crown Inn
High Street, Elham CT4 6TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Elham B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a wonderful traditional British pub with great food. We stayed here as a way to get to the Eurostar to take us to Paris. Sue and John made us feel completely at home and that our holiday started there! The food was superb and such good value we couldn't believe it. The rooms were huge and so clean and welcoming. I couldn't recommend this inn highly enough. What we thought was just a stopover has made us book for a holiday to come here again and explore the area. Thank you for your wonderful food and hospitality, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leucate, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We came off the tunnel and only drove a short way to the Rose and Crown. The bedroom in the converted stable was huge, our evening meal was lovely, the breakfast was good and we had a long chat to the owner/chef who was trying out a new dish. the next day we visited Canterbury which was easy to get to and not far away.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs in the stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We don't like having to rush to get to the ports so we found this pub for a stopover before a morning crossing. This was our second stay and this time we found that the ownership had changed. The rooms are fairly big with everything you could need but are in need of some TLC but the new owners are aware of this and will be attending to the problem.

The evening was good as was the real ales. The new owner has a hankering for West Indian food which we didn't try on this occasion but it looked and smelled great. The full English breakfast was fine but the quality of the ingredients could be raised somewhat. The bacon was wafer thin and the sausages were of the economy kind.

We were travelling by motorbike and the parking is off street but not secure. However, the village is small and quiet and it was parked right outside our room.

There is free wifi but it didn't reach our room but was fine in the bar and dining room.

We will be back on future trips.

Room Tip: There is only one twin room but it's downstairs right by the parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadstairs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Rose ans Crown on quite a few occasions this year as it is a lovelly village for a break.The rooms at the Rose and Crown are very well appointed.
The proprietor / chef is David who is a realy warm, friendly and accomodating host and
nothing is too much trouble for him.
There is a full menu available along with regular specials and theme nights featuring West Indian cuisine.All the staff are very friendly and in the winter months there are lovelly open fires in the bars and restaurant.
The Rose and Crown is ideally situated for the Channel Tunnel and Dover Ferry port also it is just down the road from the WW2 RAF museum at Hawkinge.Plus there is much more to do in and around Elham as we have found using The Rose and Crown as our base.
Have a look on the official Elham Valley web site it is very interesting
to do in and around Elham as we have found using The Rose and Crown as our base

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed over for one night on the return leg of a gruelling roadtrip.. but after an excellent pub lunch , walk on the downs and a selection of fine ales soon felt much the better.
Breakfast .. the best of English !
The rooms , converted stables , were spacious and quiet although it was a Friday night and no lack of patrons.
The staff were very friendly and only regret was not being able to extend our stay to the caribbean seafood night..
Elham itself .. a ramblers paradise.


Will hopefully be able to re-visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Try the stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rose & Crown Inn for two nights as we were attending a wedding at a nearby wedding venue! Our room was massive with exposed beams and set apart from the Inn itself by a courtyard. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night followed by many drinks in the bar. The bar staff and the locals were all lovely and welcoming! Dinner was gorgeous - steaks cooked to perfection!

Full english breakfast was well received and just what the doctor ordered for a muzzy head!

From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of and staff went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome! Elham is a charming, english town! A great stay! Thank you David & staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Inn is set in the heart of this charming village.

My room (106) was upstairs with a vaulted ceiling and exposed beams. Clean, comfortable ad warm (necessary as it was freezing outside!). The room was also very large!

most of the rrom apear to be in a separate block from the inn and set around a small courtyrad. Noise from the Inn was not a problem.

We were fortunate enough to be there when the courtyard was used on the Sunday for a local Farmers Market (ith a Christmas theme) which was an added bonus.

Breakfast was plentiful and very nice.

Room Tip: Room 106 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose And Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose And Crown Inn

Address: High Street, Elham CT4 6TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Elham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management, John & Sue welcome you to the Rose & Crown, Elham. Our rooms were once stables from the days when the inn served as a coaching stop on the way to Dover and the coast. The accommodation is located ideally for visiting many tourist attractions and local sites. Elham is a delightful Kentish village nestled in the heart of the Elham Valley, a popular destination for walkers. We are close to Canterbury, Dover and the Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and Sandwich.The pub itself was built in the 16th Century and features oak beams and open fires. It is said the Scarlet Pimpernel used to dine here while he waited for a fresh horse. The north end of the building used to be the local courthouse, and the first game of Bar Billiards in England was played here in 1935. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rose And Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Inn Elham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose And Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.