We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious historic venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dalhousie Castle to your Saves list
Dalhousie Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Glorious historic venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Delivers everything you'd expect from a historic Scottish castle. Whilst the standard room tariffs might be a little daunting, if you shop around on the 'late availability' sites you should be able to get a decent discount, and pick an off peak day(s) to maximise the value even more.

The grounds, the setting, and the building are superb. The corridors were being painted whilst we were there and our 4 poster bedroom (a circular room within the tower itself) was in need of a lick of paint, so certain areas should (by now) have been refreshed.

Staff were excellent, knowledgable and very friendly.

I'd highly recommend dinner in the dungeon restaurant. The food was excellent, and the setting unbeatable. Plus, pre-dinner drinks in the library whilst ordering is a must.

The spa is 'bijou' but worth doing if you can time it right, otherwise it'll be too busy to be enjoyable.

Fabulous stay, wish we could have stayed longer! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a four poster room...(very historic, just watch out for the long corridor trip to the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    222
    110
    58
    41
See reviews for
111
444
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the castle on the top floor and were very impressed with the room. Coming from Australia this was our first impression of a castle and Dalhousie certainly did not disappoint. We walked around the grounds and followed the trail up to the ruined church, very romantic - straight out of a fairytale. The staff were very helpful when needed. The breakfast, which was included, was fantastic. About 20 mins out of Edinburgh but certainly worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I finally fulfilled a desire to stay in a castle hotel and Dalhousie Castle did not disappoint. The grounds were immaculate, the room was beautiful and the customer service was more than acceptable. Dinner and breakfast were incuded in the reasonable price of 195 Pounds. The dinner was absoutely delicious and the ambience of dining in "The Dungeon" unique.
Unfortunately we arrived just as the falcons were being housed for the evening but we still enjoyed a walk around the property. Only issue was the bed was too soft. Otherwise, truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staying at Dalhousie Castle was definitely an experience! There are many castles that one can stay in while visiting Scotland, but this one was the one we found most accessible from Edinburgh.

The castle itself is located about 20 minutes away via taxi (or car if you have one) from the Royal Mile in Edinburgh. I know there is a bus route (with some necessary walking afterwards) to get to Bonnyrigg as well, but your trip is likely more convenient via taxi/car, especially if you have considerable luggage. The castle itself is well maintained, modernized, but still has that old castle-y charm. The decor is grand and tasteful and you can definitely have a fun time taking it all in and trying to explore all the little nooks and crannies and rooms available. Look out for the genealogy tree!

The room we stayed in was comfortable and well heated (there is a separate radiator you can control as well if you want more heat). The bathroom was very well maintained and very clean. The room overall was a bit tight, but such is true, I'd imagine, with most castles/estates. We did not see the spa but there is one on premise.

We had dinner the first night upon arrival (in the dungeon dining room) and that added to the fun of the whole experience! We were directed to wait in the library when someone came out of a hidden part of the bookcase (not so sneaky when you look at the bookcase, but definitely unexpected and charming!) to take our orders, bring drinks, and then take us downstairs. The food was excellent and the ambience was....well, dungeon-y, but not scary or gritty. I really do not know if the space was once actually used as a dungeon (my hunch is no), but it definitely was romantic with dim lighting, fresh flowers, and cozy tables. There are many people on the wait staff and I suspect some of them are still in training, but the service was very good overall. I did not feel stifled. I'm not going to comment on the food as everyone's tastes are different; let's just say we left very full and very happy. We ate breakfast there the next morning as well, which was also a lovely experience.

The grounds of the castle are also exciting! if you walk on back, you can see a nice creek as well as a fancy guesthouse. The castle offers archery and falconry but we did not participate in any activities.

High points:
1. You get to stay in a castle!
2. Comfortable rooms that are well-heated.
3. The restaurant is well worth it for any meal.
4. Probably pretty awesome place to have a wedding/party.

Low points:
1. A bit out of the way to get to, but closest castle to Edinburgh that we could find.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The look of the castle is great. The staff however are generally terrible, although redeemed by some of the restaurant staff. The meal was absolutely fantastic. A real complement to the chef. The staff need a pick up or need to be changed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent 1night in Dalhousie castle to see if we wanted to have our wedding there. The +: the building is impressive - true castle! the dungeon restaurant is great and was properly heated. The food was excellent (at international standards so reliable). The common areas are neat and the staff is welcoming and efficient. We got upgraded to a executive 4 poster room - the William Wallace room. The -: the room was falling apart (see pics), the door to the terrace didn't close to the extent you could feel the draft throughout the room so the heating was on full blast - making you either too warm or cold. The linen was synthetic and the mattress terrible. Night was £210.- (price of an ordinary four poster) : totally overpriced considering the state of the room. To give you an idea: we stayed at Lake Menteith hotel the next night - unexpected: it was 1/2 the price, the room was smaller but better furnished, the linen was cotton, really quiet, the staff was adorable and the food was amazing (had trout fished on the same day!). The Spa is average (the mini pool was too cold and again, the place shows too much tear and wear). Overall it's a shame because the place has amazing potential and a couple of millions could make it the most unique and authentic castle hotel of Scotland and all of that just down the road from an International airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our first "castle stay" and one of the highlights of our 10 week holiday. Our room was lovely, dinner in the dungeon restaurant was very special, walking around the grounds was pleasant - what more can I say, except I would love to have stayed longer to enjoy the activities they provide (trout fishing, archery, clay pigeon shooting), but we were running out of time. I loved the falconry if only the "rogue" falcon would have come home so we could have seen the demonstration. I guess we'll just have to visit another time. Thank you Dalhousie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalhousie Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalhousie Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.