We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An experience"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dalhousie Castle to your Saves list
Dalhousie Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"An experience"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the second visit to Dalhousie Castle. Our first visit was just perfect, apart from our breakfast being rather cool. We did complain & it was rectified the second morning.
Our second visit we took our friends, as a birthday treat. Everything was good, food exceptional, our room was a little bit sad but quite comfortable, our friends enjoyed their room, "The Cromwell Suite", our only complaint was a certain person who did the "Ghost Tour". We were so interested in the history of the Castle, & he explained all this, but it was his additives. His remarks were rather derogatory against the hotel & also to us as guests, he may have thought he had a sense of humour but some of it was rather personal. Apart from that our stay was just wonderful, the atmosphere in the Dungeon restaurant, takes you back in time. Our Thanks go out mostly to the Chef for producing such mouthwatering dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    205
    102
    54
    38
See reviews for
103
408
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent two nights in Room 1, which was a bit plain and chilly. The Castle itself was wonderful, we used the Spa facilities which were pleasant and quiet. The meals were good but be prepared for small and expensive portions in the Dungeon restaurant. The service was very good, especially in the Dungeon restaurant. This was our second visit and we would return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a short two night stay in March 2013. Stayed in Room 2 which wasn't particularly inspiring considering the others that were on offer on the web site. Little storage space in room for clothes etc and bath panel in bathroom looked like five old had applied the sealant around it. Room also stayed distinctly chilly for period of stay. The castle otherwise is a lovely old building (as you would expect) with a lot of character and wood panelling, snaking corridors and original exposed castle walls in places. Staff always very pleasant and looking to help. Had meal in dungeon on first night - using the cheaper Orangery menu - and food was tasty and well presented. Only drawback was waitress producing bill for me to sign that was so faint that I refused to sign it and on production of one I could read I saw that I was being charged for an afternoon tea that we had not had...profuse apologies given but it did cloud the experience!
Castle well situated for visiting Edinburgh and we in fact went to Glasgow which was an easy trip on the motorway. Made good use of the spa (TIP - if you want to have a massage book well in advance as they were fully booked when we arrived so could not have one). Falconry and archery were available in the grounds but we did not use the facility. Great fun for a short break but would have liked a better room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My partner booked a nights stay here for my birthday. He booked the De Ramaseia suite.

We were shown to the room which at first had the 'wow' factor. On closer inspection though, I found the room very shabby- wall paper hanging off, marks on the walls, grout missing in the bathroom and holes in the chairs.

The food was the single saving grace for this stay. It was faultless.

The spa facilities are...adequate, not the luxury i expected.

Dinner again was wonderful, so we took a bottle of champagne back to the room (that I had to carry myself?), which had a jacuzzi bath, I had plans to float in bubbles drinking my champagne... the water would run nothing but cold. Not impressed. The staff werent rude but i found them either abrupt or foreign (with little understanding of english.)

My partner had a word with the manager as we checked out and ended up only paying his deposit which was £178... and considering we had 3 meals and drinks with them all, I imagine we only paid for what we ate. He was offered the whole amount back to the credit of the manager, but he was happy to pay that.

Not the stay I was hoping for. Once renovated and more attention to detail (ie the reason for the stay) i imagine this hotel would warrent the price tag it currently has, but right now I dont know how they get away with charging what they do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've just come back from a short break at Dalhousie Castle with my husband, the castle is truly beautiful and the decor is very formal and grand, from sumptuous sofas in the library and roaring fires to enormous sparkling chadaliers everywhere, everything you would expect. We dined in the dungeon restaurant and can honestly say is probably the best food we've ever eaten and we've visited some pretty top class restaurants from the Ritz to the Witchery, but Dalhousie even pipped them ! The only slight let down was our bedroom after extensively looking on the website I was expecting a castle styled bedroom however we got a small apparently themed double, really not as I expected so my only word of warning is to be sure which bedroom your given is what you want. Also they annoyingly have plastic mattress protectors, which obviously some protection is required but these are horrible and dont provide a comfortable sleep, hence my mark down on the sleeping grade. We will certainly go back but will definitely get an upgraded bedroom next time.

Room Tip: definitely upgrade to a four poster suite, the themed doubles are a bit of a let down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

was on a romantic holiday with gf for her bday, after 2 hectic days in glasgow it was nice to relax at the castle,booking directly with the hotel seems to be the best way to go
room- upgraded to room 5- themed room, loved it, all amenities and clean
staff - courteous, attentive, really pleasant
food- superb food at dungeon and nice breakfast at orangery,
drink - library bar is cosy, nice selection of whiskies and wine, derrick is a good bartender
perfect for adult breaks - did not use the spa but next time..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in the castle for 3 nights on a deal through via Expedia.
Upgraded on arrival to a four poster bed room which was great.Clean room with large bathroom. Spa is very good and can be used free of charge if you are a resident but you will have to pay for any treatments.Had a meal in the dungeon restaurant first night. Expensive at £115 for 2 with drinks but as a special treat it was a good experience and we had got a good deal on the room which equated to a free night so we didn't mind the expense too much.We had 5 courses but the portions are small however the food was good. The ghost tour with Peter the Porter is worth doing so I would ask on arrival for peter as this is not a planned tour from the hotel. We started with 6 people and ended up with 4 ???? Spanish couple got scared ?
If you are planing a trip to Edinburgh it can be quite expensive with taxi`s at £20/£25 each way.
Trains are not an option from this location either. However we travel to Straiton Park and Ride which is approx 5 miles away but less than 10 minutes in the car.We parked our car at the Park and Ride which is Free and jumped on the bus which cost only £1.40 each in to Edinburgh You can get information of all return buses to this location as well. It worked really well for us and is only a 6 mile bus ride to Edinburgh.
We also visited the Royal Yaut Britannia which is at leith which is only about 20 minutes car drive from the castle and on the coast off the A1 which is very easy to get to. Parking is Free at the Ocean Terminal which is a huge modern shopping center.You access the Royal Yaut from the shopping Center which is well sign posted.Well worth a visit at £12.00 each and you can have a coffee and cake on the ship which is reasonably priced and good.
Staying at the castle you are limited to eating out but we did find a great little Italian at Dalkeith which I have also reviewed. There is also an Italian at Bonnyrigg only a mile away but we did not eat there. Overall Great stay and would do it again. Watch out for Beer and spirits in the hotel as they are expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalhousie Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalhousie Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.